3/12 DC AMPS=324 +4.5=295 +9.5=322 PMPS=319 +3=257

Status
Not open for further replies.

Noreen&DC&Frisky

Member Since 2010
DC is doing much better today.
He no longer has a fever.
I tested for ketones and it was negative.
He finally started eating LC food again around AM +8.
I'm debating whether to increase his dose back to 1 unit but I'm not sure how the antibiotic will after his BG?
I don't think it will lower the numbers, but I don't know. It's only been 26 hours since he started the antibiotic.
I'm going to do another test in about an hour. He just finished eating his LC so I don't want to test yet.

yesterdays condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/search.php?search_id=egosearch
 
Re: 3/12 DC AMPS=324 +4.5=295 +9.5=322

ABs don't change BG -- well, they will if the AB is a sugar syrup. (See what Rupert's vet prescribed!) Once the ABs kick in and the infection is backing off, numbers may then drop. It's not the AB, per se. Rather, it's the lack of stress on the cat's system as the infection/inflammation is subsiding that causes BG numbers to drop. Often, you do need to raise the dose to offset the effect of the infection. If you do, just monitor since you may need to drop the dose as the ABs start doing their job.

Did the vet say what the problem was?
 
Re: 3/12 DC AMPS=324 +4.5=295 +9.5=322

Sienne and Gabby said:
ABs don't change BG -- well, they will if the AB is a sugar syrup. (See what Rupert's vet prescribed!) Once the ABs kick in and the infection is backing off, numbers may then drop. It's not the AB, per se. Rather, it's the lack of stress on the cat's system as the infection/inflammation is subsiding that causes BG numbers to drop. Often, you do need to raise the dose to offset the effect of the infection. If you do, just monitor since you may need to drop the dose as the ABs start doing their job.

Did the vet say what the problem was?
Just that the white blood cells were high and he had a fever.
The rest of the blood work and exams were good.
No sugar in the AB's. It was injected. Same one DC had a couple years ago.
 
So I decided to increase the dose to 1u for the PM shot
I don't like the pinks.
I'll see how he does tomorrow.
Still no fever and no ketones.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top