3/12 Alfred AMPS 170 +3-99 +9-91 - Trying to get back to BID

Status
Not open for further replies.

KJ & Alfred

Member Since 2013
Alfred Yesterday

We've been decreasing Alfred's dose lately and trying to get back to shooting twice a day. We were skipping when his pre-shot numbers were in the higher greens mainly because I've been out of town and Dave has had a super busy schedule. He's around a bit more now both in the day and evening, so we are wondering what our "shoot/don't shoot" threshold should be. How does one really figure that out? Do we need more testing info on Alfred?

Also is it more important to be aiming to get him back to twice a day shots, or holding the dose steady to give his body more time to react to it?
Thanks in advance for your advice.
- KJ
 
Re: 3/12 Alfred AMPS 170 - Trying to get back to BID

Lantus works best when it's given every twelve hours.
Yesterday's am numbers were very nice and if you are around enough to monitor , you might even earn a reduction if you were dosing each cycle.

You have to be ready to deal with the low numbers with plenty of strips, and some medium carb/hi carb gravy foods in case you do. ( and of course honey or karo)


It would be good for you to get a few more random tests in the pm cycle.

I will go tap someone on the shoulder to advise.
 
Re: 3/12 Alfred AMPS 170 - Trying to get back to BID

Are you home at night? If so, and if you can monitor, it might be worth shooting a lower number and see how Alfred does. Many of us shoot much lower than the level at which you're currently comfortable. (I'll shoot anything above 50.) If shooting a lower number isn't in your comfort zone, I'd reduce the dose to 0.5u and see if you can shoot twice a day.

BTW, we don't suggest shooting low and leave you by yourself. We'll stick around to make sure you have support if you feel like you need it.
 
Re: 3/12 Alfred AMPS 170 - Trying to get back to BID

I agree with Sienne. Alfred is looking great...I might try shooting that green number at night, when you feed, he should come up before he onsets. It might not take too many cycles before he earns a reduction.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top