3/11 Thomas PMPS 18.9

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sara & Cats

Member Since 2018
Hi Everyone,

I'm wondering if someone can take a look at my spreadsheet and give me their thoughts. I just started doing more testing in the past 4 days.

Is it too early to change the dose of insulin?

Thank you
 
Hi Everyone,

I'm wondering if someone can take a look at my spreadsheet and give me their thoughts. I just started doing more testing in the past 4 days.

Is it too early to change the dose of insulin?

Thank you
It depends on which set of dosing guidelines you want to follow, Start Low Go Slow (SLGS) or Tight Regulation (TR). There are yellow info stickies at the top of the Lantus forum threads list that describe each in detail. Doses can be increased more often with TR. It does look like the current dose is too low. Generally, a dose would be increased by 0.25 u at a time.
 
You've just dropped the dose in half from 4 units to 2 units four cycles ago. Can I ask why? It's good to see that extra test data, it really does help. It's also really hard to say what this dose is doing, because the depot of the 4 unit dose will still be in play. It can last 4-6 cycles after a reduction.

Here is the link to your previous post here, so people can see some history. And your post from Health that also has some more details.

From the post in Feline Health, I see you were using some questionable repackaged insulin from a pharmacy - we recommend not using repackaged insulin. But you have bought a new 5 pack of pens or cartridges (cartridges are cheaper in Canada and have less waste). Have you started using that new insulin? If so, it would be good to put a comment in the Remarks section of the spreadsheet for that day. And knowing when and if you started the new insulin may make a difference to my dosing suggestion.

And please pick up the Ketostix for testing his urine ASAP. You can pick them up at any human pharmacy. If he has ketones and you've lowered the dose too much and he's not feeling like eating so not getting enough calories, and has a possible UTI, that will be a major factor in what to do with the insulin dose.
 
I was feeling really uncomfortable at 4 units because the vet upped the dose so quickly based on very little data. I have not started the new insulin yet.

I've picked up ketostix, negative as of March 12.
 
Great news on the ketones! I'm glad you noted it on the spreadsheet too. I see you saw a yellow yesterday. Looks much better. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top