3/11 Stu AMPS 236, +4 34, +8 81, +11 140

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Member Since 2010
yesterday: viewtopic.php?p=86120#p86120

Good Morning Everyone,
Stu had a good day relaxing yesterday. Last night he slept on the futon with us until 4:30 A.M., when he got up and had a rollicking time playing with his toys and his paper bags. This morning he ate a good breakfast, took care of his litterbox, and spent some time watching birds (robins and house sparrows). We are pleased that he has had relatively good--and safe-- numbers while we are here in NYC. We head back to the Adirondacks tomorrow morning. The opera is tonight. The beautiful spring weather seems to have come to an end, although it is still very mild. Stu will be ready to help with the party as soon as we get home. He needs to start that stew cooking! Everyone have a good day.
Ella & Stu
 
Re: 3/11 Stu AMPS 236

Morning Ella....hope you enjoy the opera tonight! Raja & Shadow were wondering if they should pick up the ingredients for Stu's stew...they fell into a heap of laughter when they said that....Stu's stew...and they are running around repeating the new nickname. What does Stu Stew need for the meal? It might save time if they pick it up cause you guys will be busy...they love writing out needed supply lists for me! Just let us know...we are all here just as your left us. They can't wait to hear of Stu's adventures! Hope you have a great day and a good trip back home!! :razz:
 
Re: 3/11 Stu AMPS 236

I'll ask him. I don't think Stu has made Irish stew before! But I think he'll reply: meat (mutton?) , bones, and broth, a few carrots, no potatoes and no grains. He's looking forward to the party and to seeing his friends.
 
Re: 3/11 Stu AMPS 236

Good morning Ella and Stu!! Sounds like a nice vacation is being had by all....Gotta chuckle about the paper bag thing....the simplest of things that make that Stu happy :lol:
Stu Stew...hummmmm....I hope that is a healty version being cooked up for the party. Spot is watching his food intake lately....he is trying to look his best so that he can fit into his new pair of zippy shorts he had me buy....just in case he decides to go to the falls. You know he is sweet on Ms. Maui and wants to impress her.
Enjoy the opera, Ella...and Stu, Spot says to enjoy the birdies.
 
Re: 3/11 Stu AMPS 236

NYC is a wonderous joy! Enjoy the opera--Kitty stew, hmmm, I wonder what they would put in--chicken, lamb, fish, beef, halos!, fish flakes, temptations, dry foods of all kinds, and last but not least--TUNA!!! :lol:
That would be a good party stew, they'd all come home with red numbers(G-d forbid) :lol:
Have a wonderful time tonite, & Stu, I hope you find your way out of the paper bag! HUGS~! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/11 Stu AMPS 236, +4 34, +4.5 60 EYES PLEASE!

Stu has decided that the city is not exciting enough! We hadn't gone out yet and decided to get a +4 reading: 34!!! I gave him 2 teaspoons of MC and tested him at +4.5 and he is up to 60. He had eaten all his food this morning (usually he saves some for later), so I should have suspected something! I'll test him again in about 1/2 hour. In the meantime, is there anyone who can give advice on whether I should decrease his dose by .25 tonight (to 2.75). The last time he dropped into the 30s I was advised that this was cause for an automatic dose decrease. We have been on 3.0 units for a week (today is the 14th cycle). Advice and opinion much appreciated!
Ella
 
Re: 3/11 Stu AMPS 236, +4 34, +4.5 60 EYES PLEASE!

Oh yeah, a 34 is definitely a decrease number :mrgreen: I would think .25, but wait for others to let you know for sure.

Nice catch :smile:
 
Re: 3/11 Stu AMPS 236, +4 34, +4.5 60 EYES PLEASE!

I'm no expert on dosing, but following the protocol, a number lower than 50 (in a newly diagnosed cat, 40 in a long term diabetic) calls for a reduction of .25. Way to go Stu! Keep it up! Way to keep your momma bean on her toes. :mrgreen:

ETA: Definitely keep an eye on Stu today, in case he goes low again.
 
Re: 3/11 Stu AMPS 236, +4 34, +4.5 60 EYES PLEASE!

To me that's a clear signal that he's outgrown his dose. Well done! Looks like a dosecrease to me just like others said (0.25u).

Keep an eye on the rest of the cycle - you might have to serve gravy again (maybe) until nadir is past... and no typically no 2-dosecreases per day, so be mindful of the shed tonight too.

Nice green kitty for St.Patty's day! Yay!!! :lol:
 
Re: 3/11 Stu AMPS 236, +4 34, +4.5 60 EYES PLEASE!

Stu, Stu, Stu....what in the world are you doing!!! Ella, I'm going to say that yes, a dosecrease is in order here...34 whooo...good catch there!!
Hope Mr. Stu Stew can do some nice surfing for you now and you don't have to worry about him.
And, ummm...Roni, I certainly hope all those nasty high carb things aren't going into Stu's stew....The board will look more like Valentines Day then St. Patty's day, lol
 
Re: 3/11 Stu AMPS 236, +4 34, +4.5 60, +5.25 45 EYES PLEASE!

A dip to 45 at +5.25, but he's approaching his nadir time. I fed him another teaspoon of MC as well as his normal lunchtime LC venison. We'll do another test in a little while. He's acting totally normally but gobbling up the food. Thanks for the advice on the dosecrease. We'll go down to 2.75 tonight and see what happens. Unfortunately tomorrow will be another 6-hour ride in the car!
Thanks to everyone!
Ella
 

Attachments

Re: 3/11 Stu AMPS 236, +4 34, +4.5 60, +5.25 45 EYES PLEASE!

Ella -

You are handling this like a pro! The bobbling around is why Helene suggested keeping an eye on the numbers. With a 34, I might have tested after 15 min. but it's all good. I'd test in 30 min. to make sure Stu's numbers are on the rise.
 
Re: 3/11 Stu AMPS 236, +4 34, +4.5 60, +5.25 45 EYES PLEASE!

WHOOOOO HOOOOO!!! Feed that boy some gravy!! Gee I thought this would be Moonie but she's surfing the 60's-
But We are so HAPPY IT"S STU party_cat .
OK feed little more food with mc gravy, heavy on the gravy, as that's where the carbs are--Will be waiting for your next test!!
Congrats on doose crease!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/11 Stu AMPS 236, +4 34, +4.5 60, +5.25 45, +6.25 65

I hope we're really on the rise now. 65 at +6.25. I hope it's safe to go out for an hour(?) and will do another test then. Thanks everyone! (Fortunately the opera isn't until this evening!--and it's a short one). (the opera, not the evening!)
Ella
 
Re: 3/11 Stu AMPS 236, +4 34, +4.5 60, +5.25 45, +6.25 65, +8 81

Stu is up to 81 at +8. I think he'll be OK now. How high should he be at PMPS to safely give insulin? (the new, reduced dose: 2.75). Thank you all for watching our sweet Stu! He's thinking about what else should go into the St. Patrick's day stew. He sure did enjoy that FF Chicken Florentine!! (not to worry: I think he'll reconsider and decide to throw in some tuna instead).
Ella
 
Stu's numbers are increasing and I think that in an hour, at PMPS, I will be able to shoot the new, reduced, dose (2.75). I found and read the sticky about being data-ready to shoot and I think that we will be there. I won't be able to post again until we return home tomorrow afternoon, but I am confident that all will be OK. Many, many thanks for all your help today. We are off to the opera right after PMPS and Stu's evening meal and insulin shot. See you tomorrow.
Ella
P.S. Stu wants to add white-footed mouse to the stew. Any objections?
 
Hi Ella
So nice to see Stu doing so well and good luck with that doscrease!!
Great job.
Enjoy your vacation in NYC. How amazing is that?
Safe trip back.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top