3/11: Pablo's AMPS 266, PMBG 44!!! EYES PLEASE

Status
Not open for further replies.

Holly and Pablo

Member Since 2009
So, nobody freak out. I already did.

When I checked Pablo's PMPS blood sugar as soon as I walked in the door, it was 44! Thinking that was wrong, I immediately rechecked the other ear (which stressed him), and got 52. So I gave him 2 teaspoons of HC, and 15 minutes later, his BG is 70. That's the most recent number.

I gave him a small teaspoon more of HC and will recheck again in 5 minutes.

Guess he gets a dosecrease. I, of course, didn't give insulin tonight. I've NEVER had to totally skip a dose. Do I just skip this one and give it at the normal time in the morning? Holy cow. I'm in shock.

There were no symptoms of a hypo except that he was really hungry. But that's normal at dinnertime. He was still acting like the same ol' cat, I guess. I can't believe my acro cat almost hypo'd...
 
Holly -

You can stall the shot and see if he comes up but I think it's likely this is a "fur shot" due to it being a low number. Congrats on the decrease.
 
wow. :shock:

you don't need to shoot green, so unless you feel like stalling until Pablo is well into blue, I think you're fine to skip. I've seen the other acromoms do it plenty. :smile:
 
+13.25 is 144, after 2.5ish ounces of 16% carb Friskies.

I guess I have to skip this shot because I wouldn't be home tomorrow to give the insulin 12 hours from now. And I really can't stall until a time tonight that would also be possible tomorrow (something like 1pm!).

And he has also developed those pesky chin lesions again today that he had so severely in January. The dental vet was able to get them cleared up on a week and a half of Cephalexin, but said that we might do allergy testing if it happened again. I'm going to have to sedate him next week anyway, to get the GH blood. Guess I'll do it all!

So 6.25 units tomorrow morning?
 
Before you decide on what to shoot tomorrow, see what Pablo's numbers look like tonight once the HC clears. It's possible that Pablo is producing endogenous insulin and you will need to do a major dose reduction.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
It's possible that Pablo is producing endogenous insulin and you will need to do a major dose reduction.

Forgive me if this is a dumb question, but does this apply even though he's an acrocat? I was under the impression that he is always producing endogenous insulin, but the tumor is blocking the insulin's action. Is that accurate? Can someone explain how to react when an acro has a blood sugar that low, as far as decreasing doses and an explanation as to why it was that low in the first place?
 
Sorry. My brain wasn't fully engaged and I wasn't clear.

I'm not claiming expertise here but it's my understanding that the tumor can go into inactive phases. When this happens, you will need to back off of your Lantus dose. You would need to give BCS doses so that Pablo's numbers do not go too low. Carolyn/Spot has mentioned that with Leo, she needs to be very careful, in part because he's on a whopping amount of insulin with a BIG shed, but when the tumor is inactive, she may drop Leo's dose dramatically or even skip doses. And, when she has to HC, it's aggressive.
 
Hi - sorry I can't provide much insight -- while Norton was an acrocat, his dose wasn't really huge and he never had a huge drop -- also, we were using PZI and shooting TID to a sliding scale -- so completely different from Lantus.
 

Attachments

  • sophius.jpg
    sophius.jpg
    92.4 KB · Views: 83
I know I should start a new thread for today, but I don't have time right this sec. Pablo's blood sugar is in the mid-300s right now (+22ish from last shot). If someone's awake out there who can give me advice, please do. I've got almost an hour before shot time. If not, I will give 6.25 units and have my sister test at +3 and +6 if possible. I can leave food in the timer for him.
 
Hi Holly!

From my experience with Fletcher, you may need to drop this morning's dose by a unit or more. When Fletch would need reductions, it was a race down the dosing scale, not a gradual thing. Pablo may not be ready for major reductions one after the other, but since his pancreas does work, you're right, it's the GH levels that can drop without notice, resulting in a lower bg. No matter what you decide, if your sister can test please have her do so-- it'll be good data to get. As you can also see, he isn't crazy high after more than 22 hours.. so I'd be more cautious than just a 0.25u decrease.

Hope this helps!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top