3/11 Ozzy AMPS 206 +4 95 +7 50 +8 51

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ozzy Pawzbourne

Member Since 2016
Last Post

Work has gotten the best of me this last week (and not in a good way). Thankfully my kitty has been doing great, although we'd like to see more blues and definitely more greens. Bumped Ozzy up to a full 1U dose last night and he just hit green this morning at +4. Hope he surfs ok and doesn't drop because I really don't want to take his dose down again and then have him stall out and not see greens.

I don't know what happened to his AM cycle yesterday. I don't think I gave a fur shot but he just stayed pretty flat in yellow the whole day.

We'll see how he does on the dosecrease and we are able to monitor him closely if needed for the next 4 cycles. Maybe it wasn't the best idea to do a dosecrease along with day light savings time. Didn't even think of that until just now. And we just barely started trying to adjust his dose time this morning. We were late the last few times due to work schedules, so hoping we can get on track these next 2 days.

Hope everyone is having a nice weekend. The sun is out in full force and it's a gorgeous day here in Southern California. We will have temperatures in the 80s this week. Welcome back sun!!
 
Just looking back at Ozzy's SS. I'm kind of wondering if maybe he dropped lower on the night of March 9th after we stopped monitoring and these last 2 cycles he was bouncing...If that's the case, this dosecrease might not last long. He did get to 57 on the .75u dose on 3/4 and almost earned a reduction if he had gone down a few more points (he did not).

I don't really have a lot of data with Ozzy being on 1U. He was only on this dose twice and both times it was only for 3 days. It's weird how these kitties' insulin needs keep fluctuating. I don't quite understand it. I feel like it's 1 step forward, 2 steps backwards sometimes.

Hubby has really taken to helping out more and is getting up with me every single morning at 5:45ish to help test, feed, shoot Ozzy. I will usually do the ear test while Hubby gets the breakfast going and then we both take turns shooting. It's mostly the same at night and sometimes when I'm not able to make it home in time, he will do the evening routine. He's gotten the dosing down now too. He just needed to do it more often so he could get used to it. I am so very happy and grateful for the help!
 
Last Post

Work has gotten the best of me this last week (and not in a good way). Thankfully my kitty has been doing great, although we'd like to see more blues and definitely more greens. Bumped Ozzy up to a full 1U dose last night and he just hit green this morning at +4. Hope he surfs ok and doesn't drop because I really don't want to take his dose down again and then have him stall out and not see greens.

I don't know what happened to his AM cycle yesterday. I don't think I gave a fur shot but he just stayed pretty flat in yellow the whole day.

We'll see how he does on the dosecrease and we are able to monitor him closely if needed for the next 4 cycles. Maybe it wasn't the best idea to do a dosecrease along with day light savings time. Didn't even think of that until just now. And we just barely started trying to adjust his dose time this morning. We were late the last few times due to work schedules, so hoping we can get on track these next 2 days.

Hope everyone is having a nice weekend. The sun is out in full force and it's a gorgeous day here in Southern California. We will have temperatures in the 80s this week. Welcome back sun!!
Glad Ozzy's been doing great AND saw green this morning after the dosecrease :D, Uncle got one too! I keep forgetting about daylight savings even with all the reminders:eek:
Enjoy the beautiful weather, I sure miss it on days like this.
 
Hey Jo and Boys !!! God bless ur precious Hubby ...so much easier to do it together, both duties and emotionally :bighug::bighug::bighug:. Hope u can find rest this weekend, both in mind and heart :):cat::bighug:
 
I keep forgetting about daylight savings even with all the reminders:eek:
I know, me too!!! I think I'm in denial about it because it's my least favorite day of the year, while the converse is true and the fall day light savings time is my absolute favorite day of the year (even more than Christmas!) Who doesn't love an extra hour of sleep!!!! :woot::woot:

Since Ozzy was dx with FD, I have totally changed my schedule around and am now getting up a lot earlier than I used to. I did this for him, but also decided all this change was perhaps good for me too so I am now also getting to work much earlier than I ever have. The hardest thing for me is waking up when it's dark outside. I hated it in the beginning. Now I'm used to it (what...who...mee????). So even though I am sad to be missing an hour, I will absolutely love having daylight breaking through my windows when I get up instead of it still feeling like nighttime. I'm going to go with the positive on this one!:D:p
 
Hey Jo and Boys !!! God bless ur precious Hubby ...so much easier to do it together, both duties and emotionally :bighug::bighug::bighug:. Hope u can find rest this weekend, both in mind and heart :):cat::bighug:
@Beth 73 Thanks Beth! How are you doing? How's our big brother kitteh Elmo??

Beth, have you heard or seen anything from Mogs/Critter Mom lately? I haven't seen her on the board in forever and tried to email her a few times to check in and never heard back. I know she was having some difficulties health wise. I am truly concerned about her. Do you know anything or at least if she is ok? I miss seeing her here.
 
Last edited:
Big Bro Elmo is chugging along ...occasional constipation and thyroid are part of his dance as well but he is staying in normal range mostly . Started using supplement Natural Moves that Jayla recommended and it is helpful .
And no, I have not seen Mogs on for over 2 months. I miss her too but mostly pray she is alright health wise . Wish we knew for sure :(
 
And no, I have not seen Mogs on for over 2 months. I miss her too but mostly pray she is alright health wise . Wish we knew for sure :(
Same here. I hope she will reach out to us soon and tell us she was off vacationing in Jamaica and feeding all the kitties on the island! Ha! No, seriously, I honestly hope she is well and I miss our dear friend. @Critter Mom We are dearly missing you and sending you prayers and vines that you are well.
 
It just dawned on me today that Ozzy Pawzie's tummy tuft has finally grown back out in full force. He had his tum tum shaved at the end of November when he was hospitalized for DKA and they needed to do an ultrasound. He had a bare belly for months and I just realized all his soft fur has finally grown back in. Yay! It took a really long time to grow back.

I was just on the Main Health Board and replied to a condo of another new member who had her kitty in DKA and had just brought the cat home. I gave some words of encouragement and shared our experience. As I was doing so, a rush of emotion hit me and I realized how far we have come with Ozzy all thanks to the wonderful, giving, generous, knowledgeable folks here on this board. I truly honestly believe my friends here helped me save my Ozzy's life and kept him safe as he was recovering from DKA. I also received so much encouragement, sanity, support, care, and guidance all along the way daily that no vet could ever have enough time to give to one furry patient. I cannot believe the amount of knowledge and experiences that are shared here and how much Ozzy and I have benefited from the guidance we receive here. I have never joined a support group or online board ever and was kind of hesitant to do so, but I am so glad I did and will never look back. I am forever grateful to my friends here and I thank you so much from the bottom of my heart. Ozzy is doing so well now. Even though he is not regulated on insulin yet, he is back to his sweet, loving, goofy, silly, adorable self. He's lost a good deal of weight (he was over 18lbs before) and he looks healthy and happy- everything a mamabean could want. :cat::cat::cat::kiss::kiss::kiss:
 
Same here. I hope she will reach out to us soon and tell us she was off vacationing in Jamaica and feeding all the kitties on the island! Ha! No, seriously, I honestly hope she is well and I miss our dear friend. @Critter Mom We are dearly missing you and sending you prayers and vines that you are well.
Amen and in full agreement :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:. Sending love and prayers to you, Mogs :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
It just dawned on me today that Ozzy Pawzie's tummy tuft has finally grown back out in full force. He had his tum tum shaved at the end of November when he was hospitalized for DKA and they needed to do an ultrasound. He had a bare belly for months and I just realized all his soft fur has finally grown back in. Yay! It took a really long time to grow back.

I was just on the Main Health Board and replied to a condo of another new member who had her kitty in DKA and had just brought the cat home. I gave some words of encouragement and shared our experience. As I was doing so, a rush of emotion hit me and I realized how far we have come with Ozzy all thanks to the wonderful, giving, generous, knowledgeable folks here on this board. I truly honestly believe my friends here helped me save my Ozzy's life and kept him safe as he was recovering from DKA. I also received so much encouragement, sanity, support, care, and guidance all along the way daily that no vet could ever have enough time to give to one furry patient. I cannot believe the amount of knowledge and experiences that are shared here and how much Ozzy and I have benefited from the guidance we receive here. I have never joined a support group or online board ever and was kind of hesitant to do so, but I am so glad I did and will never look back. I am forever grateful to my friends here and I thank you so much from the bottom of my heart. Ozzy is doing so well now. Even though he is not regulated on insulin yet, he is back to his sweet, loving, goofy, silly, adorable self. He's lost a good deal of weight (he was over 18lbs before) and he looks healthy and happy- everything a mamabean could want. :cat::cat::cat::kiss::kiss::kiss:
That really touched my heart, Jo.... I feel so much the same . Team Elmo(aka Kitty Cavalry...Elmo's Godmommas) over on Vetsulin board, Linda, Kris and Mogs , saved his life and my sanity. Forever grateful and no way to repay. Special time and special people:bighug::kiss::bighug::kiss::cat:
 
It just dawned on me today that Ozzy Pawzie's tummy tuft has finally grown back out in full force. He had his tum tum shaved at the end of November when he was hospitalized for DKA and they needed to do an ultrasound. He had a bare belly for months and I just realized all his soft fur has finally grown back in. Yay! It took a really long time to grow back.

I was just on the Main Health Board and replied to a condo of another new member who had her kitty in DKA and had just brought the cat home. I gave some words of encouragement and shared our experience. As I was doing so, a rush of emotion hit me and I realized how far we have come with Ozzy all thanks to the wonderful, giving, generous, knowledgeable folks here on this board. I truly honestly believe my friends here helped me save my Ozzy's life and kept him safe as he was recovering from DKA. I also received so much encouragement, sanity, support, care, and guidance all along the way daily that no vet could ever have enough time to give to one furry patient. I cannot believe the amount of knowledge and experiences that are shared here and how much Ozzy and I have benefited from the guidance we receive here. I have never joined a support group or online board ever and was kind of hesitant to do so, but I am so glad I did and will never look back. I am forever grateful to my friends here and I thank you so much from the bottom of my heart. Ozzy is doing so well now. Even though he is not regulated on insulin yet, he is back to his sweet, loving, goofy, silly, adorable self. He's lost a good deal of weight (he was over 18lbs before) and he looks healthy and happy- everything a mamabean could want. :cat::cat::cat::kiss::kiss::kiss:
I know what you mean, Jo. I was a lurker on here a long time before joining because the idea of "going public" was strange to me. This is the best place ever for diabetic fur kid parents. I could have used the support when Teasel had his DKA. Water under the bridge ... I'm here now. :)
 
+7 = 50. Well, had a feeling that was going to happen. Ozzy is due for his 1pm snack in 15 mins but going to go ahead and give it to him now. He actually missed his 10am snack so maybe he might not have made it to 50 if he had eaten the other meal. Who knows...

Will test him again 30 mins after he finishes eating. He's totally fine, was sleeping on the tile in the bathroom by the back door. He has been nadiring around +8 lately so I think he is pretty much at the end of the low point in his cycle. So I guess, good cycle so far on 1u.
 
No teasing the sharks Ozzy! Hop on that surfboard. :D

I have no doubt my Neko wouldn't have lived as long as she did without the help here. As much as I like Neko's vet for everything else, FD was not her strong suit (we started on Caninsulin :rolleyes:), much less anything to do with high dose conditions. FDMB has saved probably hundreds of kitty lives, and the sanity of many a bean.
 
+8=51

He pretty much didn't budge 40 mins after eating. I just gave him his normal LC wet food mixed with RC raw. Should we feed him again? He's at +8 which is pretty much around when he gets his lowest reading. I don't want to food spike him too much and ruin the rest of this pretty excellent cycle. He is supposed to get his dinner meal in 4 hours. I gave him a pretty good size meal at +7 and he ate almost all of it minus a few shreds.

Maybe I'll wait another half hour and see where his numbers are then. Maybe the LC food hasn't kicked in all the way yet.
 
The food carbs should kick in within 30 minutes of him eating. You could dole out just a couple tsp of low carb or raw to help the surf.
 
The food carbs should kick in within 30 minutes of him eating. You could dole out just a couple tsp of low carb or raw to help the surf.
Ok, that sounds like a good plan. When I went to test him again, he was sleeping under the futon in the back bedroom. That's where he used to go when he was sick and didn't feel good. I'm not going to think too much into that though...it might also just be a nice cool place to sleep now that the weather is back into the 80s.
 
Ok, he had the rest of Figgie's left overs from the 1pm snack. It's 1:50pm here now and I will test him again at 2:30 (+9) and see where he's at. I really hope he surfs up a little and we don't have to keep feeding him. I want to have at least 2 hours with no food before PS so we don't shoot a food influenced number. I really also don't hope we end up stalling later. We are trying to get back on track for daylight savings time!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top