3/11 Newbie Star AMPS=386 +4=468 PMPS=409 +3.5=289

Status
Not open for further replies.

quilterkitty

Member Since 2013
yesterday's condo
Star was hungry this morning and ate well. He is behaving normally. One person suggested last night raising his Lantus .5 units (to 1.75). The articles on this site seem to agree, given Star's high nadir after nine days of diet change and four days of 1.25 units BID. I'd like a second opinion, if you please. Should I raise the dose, and if so by .25 or .5 units? Thanks!

Update: increased Star's evening dose to 1.75. Also added L-lysine to his bedtime snack for watery eyes and sneezing. Not surprised that the stress of all this has caused a flare-up of his feline herpesvirus. Will add lysine to his regular meals tomorrow and continue until his symptoms clear up.
 
Re: 3/11 Newbie Star AMPS=386 time to raise dose?

From the Tight Regulation Protocol sticky:

Increasing the dose:

  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Re: 3/11 Newbie Star AMPS=386 time to raise dose?

Hi guys .. don't think I've been to your condo before so welcome from us! Good luck with the extra juice if you decide to raise the dose .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 3/11 Newbie Star AMPS=386 time to raise dose?

Thanks, Peter, Devon, and Mocha! I loved your Yahoo article. (And whenever I see the word "condo" on this site, I automatically think "kitty condo.") :lol: Looks like you've been at this feline diabetes thing for quite a while. I'm still a little bit in denial. Feel free to pass along any tips that you found helpful.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top