3/11 Mousie AMBG 66 PMPS 268

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/11 Mousie AMBG 66.......HELP

ugh, if it were me I'd skip it, will she eat food left out on her own or do u have to worry about other kitties eating her food?

hoping others jump in on this
 
Re: 3/11 Mousie AMBG 66.......HELP

Well, Cindy...this is an awefully nice am number!! How do you feel about giving a BCS dose? Can you leave food out and will Mousie feed himself?
 
Re: 3/11 Mousie AMBG 66.......HELP

yeah, she will definitely eat if need be. or she has in the past with pzi. she'd come yelling at me or running to her dish and i'd test her and sure enough she'd be down in the 50's or so.

for the most part she's the only one who will get up on the table and eat from her dish. it's just her & Fuzzie in the main part of the house today since Mommie is still at the vet's and Fuzzie nibbles at the wet food mostly so if i left lots out i'm sure she'd get some

BCS? how much of one are you talking? regular dose or drop it some?
 
Re: 3/11 Mousie AMBG 66.......HELP

just a suggestion for next time, if ur up about an hour before AMPS, try to get into the habit of testing a +11 or +11.5, this will give u and us a head start to see where Mousie is going.

u will have to do what your comfortable doing, whichever it is, leave plenty of food for her and maybe Fuzzie will help to keep her in line :lol:


a BCS is a drop down, not regular dose.
 
Re: 3/11 Mousie AMBG 66.......HELP

any chance you can get to work late or come back home in an hour or so?
read the sticky on getting ready to shoot lower numbers.
first thing i'd do is stall even if it means getting late to work.
wait for a BG that makes you feel comfy, or you could put a token small dose in the shed and expect to come home to a higher PMPS. just leave some higher carb food around in case she thinks she's going low and will eat (best to segregate her so other cats won't steal that food).

[edited to add we had parallel discussion on facebook in case she didn't get answers quickly here so here's what i said there (don't want to give off-board advice): personally if you can't wait much longer and number isn't comfy for you yet i'd skip it and expect a high BG when you get home. can't guarantee she'll eat while you're gone so i wouldn't want to risk her dropping more from an already full shed. maybe if you test right before you leave she might surprise you and be shootable. you just didn't see this kinda action til yesterday so you don't have the data to shoot yet unless it's just a token dose.]
 
Re: 3/11 Mousie AMBG 66.......HELP

Cindy:

I don't know that you have Lantus data to shoot a 63. Please re-test before you leave. If you're going to shoot, I don't know that I'd be comfortable with your shooting more than 0.5. I'm more inclined to 0.25u to be on the safe side and not deplete Mousie's shed completely.

What are you comfortable with?
 
Re: 3/11 Mousie AMBG 66

i think we're gonna skip. it's nearly 7:30 now, we should have left already. i don't think i'm willing to try this the first time on a day i have to go to work. unfortunately, i can't stay home and wait it out. i'd love to but then again i'd like to pay the vet tomorrow when i pick up Mommie Kitty too :)

will just have to see what pm brings
 
Re: 3/11 Mousie AMBG 66

I think until you are comfortable with how Lantus and Mousie get along, this is the wisest course. Here's hoping the numbers stay reasonable tonight.
 
Re: 3/11 Mousie AMBG 66

So I'm going to assume that Mousie got a fur shot this morning, so all I gotta add is "SURF MOUSIE SURF""
 
Re: 3/11 Mousie AMBG 66

i posted and ran out the door and sure enough we're 15 minutes late to work and dang customers are standing here waiting for us :(

anyhow, i tested one more time after i turned off the computer and she was at 61 so that confirmed for us that we weren't shooting this morning. we'll see what tonight brings
 
not too bad for +24.5 i guess.

i actually expected worse. we made bets on the way home. fiance guessed 220 and i went 380 LOL!! guess who's making dinner tonight? obviously i lost the bet. :lol:
 
he decided he wanted breakfast. pancakes, eggs & toast. i told him he got one or the other but he argued he won the bet so he gets to set that kind of rule. LOL!!

and no Mommie Kitty is still at the vets. the vet called today and said they had removed the bandage and it didn't look bad at all and Mommie Kitty was very very scared and wasn't eating so would I be comfortable taking her home today. i had no problem with that but we then decided it wouldn't work out well today. the vet was leaving at 3 so i'd have to pick her up by then and then take her to the noisy shop where she'd have to spend 3 hours in a carrier. probably not a good idea the vet thought. the vet didn't think 1 tech could corral her into a carrier for me to pick up at 6. i thought i could pick her up at 3 and run her home but then she'd be unattended for at least 4 hours and the vet didn't think that was a good idea either so we decided to leave her there.

she said they'd try to syringe feed her but wasn't holding out high hopes for that so they'd slip her an appetite stimulant at the very least and i'd pick her up tomorrow
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top