3/11 MORON AMPS 190

Status
Not open for further replies.

jgriffith

Member Since 2012
Hello,
I posted this in the TR Lantus also. I can not do TR because of my schedule I only can get Pmps lows.
here is what i posted over on TR
Well, Here we go.
I gave Moron his .75 with the AMPS 190 reading. I had to go to work so I earliest I will be able to test him is +8 tonight. I tested him all through the night into this morning and saw good numbers. Wish him luck.
I got a new vial of lantus today. I am going to wait on starting a fresh vial until next Monday. I can stay with him then.
Mondays are my only days off of work so that is the only day I can do a full curve on him also only . Man he was really sick of me sticking him this morning! Thanks, Jill
 
Hi Jill!

Welcome! Those were some nice numbers last night - great string of blues! (Did you get any sleep?!?). I usually can't get anything before a +8 either due to work, but you do the best you can right?

I'm confused with your SS though. The PMPS of 307 and the subsequent string of blues were from last night right? Then the AMPS of 190 was this morning? I think you just inputted them on the wrong line. No worries, I do that all the time :) Just make sure you change it so you don't get mixed up this evening.

Moron had quite a drop from 307 to 137 last night. This morning's AMPS of 190 is a really good number, but it's the lowest AMPS that you shot a full dose on (except for the 1U back on 1/21) so I'm a bit worried that he may go a lot lower during the day. Please make sure that you check as soon as you get home.

I'll let others input what they think as well :)
 
jgriffith said:
Hello,
I posted this in the TR Lantus also. I can not do TR because of my schedule I only can get Pmps lows.
here is what i posted over on TR
Well, Here we go.
I gave Moron his .75 with the AMPS 190 reading. I had to go to work so I earliest I will be able to test him is +8 tonight. I tested him all through the night into this morning and saw good numbers. Wish him luck.
I got a new vial of lantus today. I am going to wait on starting a fresh vial until next Monday. I can stay with him then.
Mondays are my only days off of work so that is the only day I can do a full curve on him also only . Man he was really sick of me sticking him this morning! Thanks, Jill

Hi Jill,
What's your schedule like that the TR guys can't help? I am sure we can put something together for you so that it works as bast you can for Moron.
There are plenty of people who work 5 days a week and can't get any tests when they are working... they test in the morn, give shot, then feed and leave for work. Quite often, I did not get home till just before the pm shot, so on work days I may have had maybe 3 or 4 tests... amps, pmps, +2 and bedtime. When you have days off, do a curve.

Moron must love it when you are working ... no pokes!
That amps was a great number!
 
I am confused. Yesterday I read this

Re: 3/9 Moron AMPS HI +10 389 Dose help pls

Postby Gayle Shadoe & Oliver » Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:25 pm
Jill
Remember to keep in mind that you are not basing your dose on Moron's ps number. When you get the pmps, you will see how quickly his numbers are rising at the end of the cycle.

I believe you will still go with your decided dose of .75u, yes?

You are ultimately aiming for numbers around 50, so you have room to come down.

Gayle Shadoe & Oliver

Now I am told not to shoot on blue numbers? confused_cat

Posts: 4790
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 3:13 pm
 
[quote="Gayle Shadoe & Oliver"

Hi Jill,
What's your schedule like that the TR guys can't help? I am sure we can put something together for you so that it works as bast you can for Moron.
There are plenty of people who work 5 days a week and can't get any tests when they are working... they test in the morn, give shot, then feed and leave for work. Quite often, I did not get home till just before the pm shot, so on work days I may have had maybe 3 or 4 tests... amps, pmps, +2 and bedtime. When you have days off, do a curve.
/quote]


I work Tuesday-Friday 12-8 Sat 11-6 Sun12-5

I have to allow a least 30 minutes commute time. I am rereading what others have posted on my posts and it just sounded like I do not have enough data to TR
 
jgriffith said:
I am confused. Yesterday I read this

Re: 3/9 Moron AMPS HI +10 389 Dose help pls

Postby Gayle Shadoe & Oliver » Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:25 pm
Jill
Remember to keep in mind that you are not basing your dose on Moron's ps number. When you get the pmps, you will see how quickly his numbers are rising at the end of the cycle.

I believe you will still go with your decided dose of .75u, yes?

You are ultimately aiming for numbers around 50, so you have room to come down.

Gayle Shadoe & Oliver

Now I am told not to shoot on blue numbers? confused_cat

Posts: 4790
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 3:13 pm

Who is saying don't shoot blue numbers?
look at Moron's ss;
Mar9 the pmps was 455 and you reduced to .75u you can see a nice curve on just that first shot for the reduction.
That first cycle at .75u
pmps - 481
+1 = 481
+2 = 387 ... a bit of a drop
+3 = 344 .... a bit more of a nice drop
+6 = 236 ... a very nice yellow
+8 = 302 .... starting to rise to next ps
+10 = 399 .... expected rise as almost next shot time
The second cycle at .75u
amps = 472 .... not too bad since you are adjusting dose and Moron's settling after the earlier bounce
+11 = 316 .... not too bad - NOTE that +10 on the prev shot was 399, so it is an improvement
The third cycle at .75u
pmps = 307 ...better than the previous pmps which was 455!
+2 = 276
+4 = 229
+6 = 172
+7 = 137 .... awesome and looks like nadir
+8 = 152 ... starting to rise again
+10 = 162 ... rising a bit more
The fourth cycle at .75u
amps = 190 ... much better than that last ps numbers which were 455 / 472 / 307 / now 190.
+7 = 162 ... very very nice number and while it's possible she dipped a bit lower around +5 or so it's still a nice number and I doubt she went really low
+8 = 281 ... another nice number and she is on the rise as expected.

This dose of .75u is looking terrific, and there were no problems

Stick with this dose as it's looking good
 
Thanks Gayle for the reassurance.
I got home as soon as I could and he was fine.
Reading the response just above your first post. She said she would not shoot at anything lower than the AMPS 190, Or am I not understanding it?
 
I work Tuesday-Friday 12-8 Sat 11-6 Sun12-5

I have to allow a least 30 minutes commute time. I am rereading what others have posted on my posts and it just sounded like I do not have enough data to TR

OK let's see what we can do about that. TR wants lots of tests and in real life, many people cannot do that, so let's see what you CAN do!

Let's pretend that you work 10 to 9 every day. If you were to work 10am to 9pm 6 days a week, I don't see a single problem with your giving Moron terrific care!

The earliest time you have to leave would be around 10am on Sat, and the latest times you can be home on Tue-Fri is 9pm, yes? If that is correct, then make your shot times at 930am and pm! How does that sound?

Tuesday to Friday
930am - test and shoot, put down food
1130am - leave for work to arrive at noon.
8pm - finish work and travel home
9pm - arrive home
930pm - test and shoot, put down food.

Saturday
930am - test and shoot, put down food
10am - leave for work to arrive at 11am.
6pm - finish work and travel home
7pm - arrive home
930pm - test and shoot, put down food.

Sunday
930am - test and shoot, put down food
11am - leave for work to arrive at noon.
5pm - finish work and travel home
6pm - arrive home
930pm - test and shoot, put down food.

Monday
day off so pick a cycle to do a curve, testing every 2hrs and get plenty of data.

I don't know your bed time but each evening, get a before-bed test and any old time that you are able to grab a test, go for it. Bit by bit, over time, you will gather plenty of info and while it may not be as strict as the TR requirements, you and Moron will get by just fine!

If you are ever in doubt about shooting the full dose, there is nothing to stop you from shooting less or even skipping! Always err on the side of caution and safety and so big deal you have some high numbers later... you went with safety.

I think the .75u dose is looking pretty good so look over the above routine and maybe you will see that you will be able to do just fine.
 
Thanks Gayle for the reassurance.
I got home as soon as I could and he was fine.
Reading the response just above your first post. She said she would not shoot at anything lower than the AMPS 190, Or am I not understanding it?


About the 190, and not shooting blue, every cat is different, but it seems many new owners are advised to avoid shooting blue numbers, but that's only till you have gathered up some data on your ss and you know how YOUR cat is reacting to the insulin.

There are some cats who do crazy cliff dives and they get a shot to a 300 ps number but still dive under 100.

If you look at Moron's ss, look what happened every single time you skipped a shot because your ps was blue.... you ended up high in the 400s for a couple days! I think you were at too high of a dose, the shed was overflowing and Moron was ending up going low for her, not too low though.

You are OK where you are now with the lesser dose.
If you find in another day or so that Moron is going to low, you can always step back to a .5u dose, yes?

You have proven that you can shoot a 190 and Moron was likely just fine. I know someone could say yeah but you have no tests till +7, and to that I would say, yeah but if Moron had gone low earlier, she would have bounced and all I see is a very very nice rise to some yellow numbers, so that tell me Moron did just fine.
 
I have been doing 10:30 -10:30 with the only problem , I cannot get any mid cycle tests for AM shot except the preshot test. See I own a petshop and I am not always able to leave right away. So that is part of the reason I choose the 10:30 shot times. It gives me time to run my errands if needed. Thanks again,Jill
Time to poke kitty :twisted: :lol: ,JILL
 
jgriffith said:
Thanks Gayle for the reassurance.
I got home as soon as I could and he was fine.
Reading the response just above your first post. She said she would not shoot at anything lower than the AMPS 190, Or am I not understanding it?

Hey Jill,

I think that you misundertstood me. All i said was that 190 is a lower PS than you've gotten in a while and to check Moron when you got home. I never said that you should not have shot it. It was a beautiful blue number.

Hope you have a great night!
 
Sorry Lil,
I did misunderstand. I reread later and I understood what you said. Thanks take care.Jill
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top