3/11 Mo - AMPS 247, +4.33 331, +8.75 329, PMPS 353, +4 310

katy and mo (GA)

Member Since 2020
Yesterday's post

Mo got a lovely number for his AMPS this morning. Now I suspect he is bouncing since he hasn't been that low in a few weeks. We have upped his dose now to 5 units. Really hoping we start to see some results in the 5's. I'm worried about how high we are having to go with the insulin. Thinking it might be time to go up in 0.5 unit increments instead of 0.25. Thoughts?

The sun is shining today so Mo is outside at the moment making the most of it.

Hope you all have a wonderful day!
 
Thinking it might be time to go up in 0.5 unit increments instead of 0.25. Thoughts?
Per TR, you increase by 0.25 if nadirs are < 300 but > 200. You would increase by 0.5 if nadir is >300.

Additionally, I think you can increase by 0.5 are when you reach 5u...but I'm not 100% sure.

Maybe @Wendy&Neko or @Sienne and Gabby (GA) can stop by and peak at your SS as I see they have stopped by before.
 
Now I suspect he is bouncing since he hasn't been that low in a few weeks.
I'm not sure he is bouncing, it just looks more like he's not got to a dose yet, the med/ high yellows and low pinks are essentially about the same especially if you take into account the meter variance.
Keeping paws crossed that you see some movement on the numbers with the new dose, it can take some cycles for the depot to settle an for you to see the effect of the dose.
 
I'm just getting so frustrated that we aren't getting anywhere with his glucose levels. I feel like I'm doing everything right but not getting anywhere :( :( :( I just want Mo to be healthy and happy again.
 
Don't be, it can be like flicking a switch, when you hit the right dose he will start coming down.

He may have built up a bit of glucose toxicity, and you'll need to break through that before you see an effect.
I'm keeping everything crossed that you see some movement on this dose.
 
Don't be, it can be like flicking a switch, when you hit the right dose he will start coming down.

He may have built up a bit of glucose toxicity, and you'll need to break through that before you see an effect.
I'm keeping everything crossed that you see some movement on this dose.
Thank you so much for this :bighug:
 
I am starting to get paranoid that he has some kind of insulin resistance. Please please fingers crossed he's just a cat that needs a little bit more insulin than most :nailbiting:

I'm currently working a nightshift and letting my thoughts run away with me....
 
Did he start on another insulin?
Looking at the early days on Lantus it looks like you held on to doses too long, that can lead to glucose toxicity, which seems to affect some cat's more than others, so you may need to go up higher before coming back down.

Take it one step at a time. We don't usually suggest testing for High dose conditions until they're a bit higher.
I can think of a number of cats that got to 5u and higher and didn't have a highdose condition, some are in remission. Here is one.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1-ldPSg4ZF8LxgTv3Jwm-vNRNOMi86eXmrcodHuLHeEo/pubhtml
 
Just to be clear, Bubba was never tested for any secondary endocrine conditions, so we can't say he never had one. I never liked the term "high dose" conditions, because we see kitties with either IAA, acromegaly or Cushings (what some call high dose conditions) that never got to higher doses.

It is entirely likely that Mo has some glucose toxicity happening, which is in itself a type of insulin resistance.
 
Did he start on another insulin?
Looking at the early days on Lantus it looks like you held on to doses too long, that can lead to glucose toxicity, which seems to affect some cat's more than others, so you may need to go up higher before coming back down.

Take it one step at a time. We don't usually suggest testing for High dose conditions until they're a bit higher.
I can think of a number of cats that got to 5u and higher and didn't have a highdose condition, some are in remission. Here is one.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1-ldPSg4ZF8LxgTv3Jwm-vNRNOMi86eXmrcodHuLHeEo/pubhtml
Nope, he started on Lantus at 2 units late September and I didn't start home testing until a month later.

Glucose toxicity makes sense. Hoping we don't have to go too much higher before we start seeing some good results.

Thank you so much for your support :)
 
Back
Top