3/11 Max +11 472 AMPS Hi +8.75 379

Status
Not open for further replies.

HeidiandMax

Member Since 2012
Hi Folks,

Well that was a "fun" ride last night. Not!!

Just a quick update per the experts recommendations.....My cat Max is currently back On The Juice. He gets 1.75u Lantus 2x a day. He's eating Hills a/d half a can 2x day (long story short...he's being treated for IBD as he had appetite issues, pancreatitis flares, and had basicly quite eating this past week. He gets 5mg Millipred 2x day) He also gets subq fluids 50ml at 3:30/4:00 (about +7.5/+8) almost every day for early CRF. He has a transdermal gel treatment every morning for thyroid. As you can see I'm juggling a lot! Plus, I just got a text from my vet that he has a UTI. His numbers have been running in the 300's, 400's, and 500's. We've also been in the mid 200's back on the 6th at 1.5u, but meds had messed everything up. Have not had any real nadirs to speak of as he often slides and then bounces. Steroids have messed all the numbers up! Oh yeah, forgot to mention that he had about 2T Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken Feast last night after I panicked about the low numbers.

Not sure if I should lower his dose or hold at 1.75.
 
Re: 3/11 Max +11 472

Thank you! This is all new for me even though we were here a year ago. Never posted in Lantus like this before.
 
Re: 3/11 Max +11 472

Hi guys and welcome to lantus land from us! Wow, sounds like you are definitely dealing with a lot .. I have no advice as I only dealt with FD for mocha .. but I know others have juggled lots of this stuff like you are and should be along soon .. have a great day!
 
Re: 3/11 Max +11 472

Welcome to LL.
I don't have anything to add other than sometimes the Hills doesn't inspire their appetites. Hope Max is eating.
Feel better vines for Max.
 
Re: 3/11 Max +11 472

Surprisingly, he won't eat his usual wet, lower carb food, but he chows the Hills! At least it's 12% carbs.
 
Re: 3/11 Max +11 472

Getting ready to give AMPS. Guess I'm going to have to give 1.75u and hope it's O.K. I'm gone for the day (until 3:00) doing Parent/Teacher conferences.
 
Re: 3/11 Max +11 472 AMPS Hi

3/11 AMPS Hi

I was afraid of that. I'll try and have my mother-in-law come by and check him today. I'm off to work.
 
Mother-in-law came around +5.5 to check on Max. All was O.K. Took his BG once I got home (and after picking up meds). Looks like a bounce? Had to give 1 T. of LC food at +8.75 when I administered first dose of Baytril for UTI.
 
Heidi --

Are you considering the Hill's LC? If so, it's not. Below 10% is LC. If Max is being finicky, you may need to mix his usual LC in with the Hill's and gradually transition him back to LC.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top