3/11 Jonesy PMPS 166-1u; 349@ +3.5

103 and 113 are basically the same numbers. I think if it were me, I would give a reduced dose and leave out some LC and MC. Might be overkill but better safe than sorry.
I agree----seems Jonesy is in a bounce to me.....New dose wonkiness, as they say....

from your spreadsheet, it looks like he responds well to the food and goes up a bit before the insulin kicks in, and then stays fairly stable. If you are really really scared--I am too---reduce back to 1.75, but I would shoot the full amount and leave food out in case. :bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
Ok, LOL, It's possible that the infection/inflammation in Jonesy's mouth were keeping his numbers up. After the dental and if the AB's start kicking in, Jonesy might decide to go down the dosing ladder.
 
Ok, LOL, It's possible that the infection/inflammation in Jonesy's mouth were keeping his numbers up. After the dental and if the AB's start kicking in, Jonesy might decide to go down the dosing ladder.
He's actually BEEN on antibiotics for over two weeks now. One week prior to his dental, and since. They suspect that his actual jaw bone has a major infection in it so he'll more than likely be on them for awhile yet.
 
Sorry no one's answered yet Darcy. It's very quiet on the board this morning. Going to tag @Bron and Sheba (GA) , hopefully she's still around.
@Sonia & Leo this is why I do my testing PS about a half an hour before feed and shoot--and I delay shooting about 10-15 mins after they're done eating. I don't get a timely response unless I hit a 911 and that is reserved for medical emergencies.....{siiiiigh}
 
Yessss, home all night, but it's already 8:00 pm here and I try to get to bed by 10:00. Been burning the candle at both ends lately :( Not up for a pajama party honestly

What were you thinking?
 
I would definitely get a ketone test done. He’s still has a fairly recent DKA history.

If you can’t monitor all night if necessary then I would give a reduced dose I think. But please test for ketones.
and he may be needing less insulin after the dental a week ago.
Maybe go with the 1 unit again but if that isn’t holding the numbers you will have to increase.
I would get a before bed test in and wake up at least once during the night to get a BG around nadir.
 
I wonder if the antibiotic is also kicking in. It’s a good idea to write down any new meds in the Remarks column of the SS.
But this is the same antibiotic he has been on for over two weeks now! It's so weird . . .
His follow up appt is next monday, and as the jaw issue is not cancerous, they suspect it is a long term, badly infected bone. So he'll more than likely be on the AM for sometime yet . . . I guess I'll find out Monday.

(Fyi, he's climbed up to 349 now. If he's high in the morning, now I don't know if I have to start with the increases in the .25 amounts only?)

Oh! @Bron and Sheba (GA) ! I DID manage to get a ketostix test done just now, negative :D
 
@Sandy and Black Kitty do you think I made the right call? Shooting 1u? Leaving HC wet?
You made a good call- keep in mind the effect of a reduced dose is likely to influence the cycle following the one that received the reduced dose.

With ketones still visible in the rear view mirror going without any insulin could unintentionally open the door to ketones once again developing. Your instincts were good regarding 1/30 vs 3/11.

Post dental is an unpredictable time.

I have seen kitties start flying down the dosing ladder immediately following a major dental and others who took a bit of time for things to settle.
which way your kitty will go under these circumstances is unknown.

It’s shot by shot sometimes... with a good supply of HC.

Looks like tonight is a ‘save-a-strip” night
;)
 
Go back to his last good dose, which was 2.0. He didn’t earn a reduction from that dose yet.
Excellent! That's good to know Wendy, thanks much. Right now, as his am shot has been delayed by the last couple of shot time/tests, he's currently at 443 (at plus 10.5 from the shot time)

Will shoot 2 u.

Thanks EVERYONE! :bighug::kiss::bighug:
 
Back
Top