3/11 Fortune AMPS 139 +2 162 +4 78 +6 98 +8 108 PMPS 179

RachelG

Member Since 2021
Yesterday was hard, hopefully today is better!

We are getting our second shots this afternoon, so let’s hope any shenanigans happen well in advance.

He has been dropping overnight, but ate a good breakfast of LC. He seems to have an appetite today and feel better (anti-jinx) so hopefully we can give him snacks and I won’t forget to test. :banghead:
 
I thought Fortune had a vet appointment today? I think I mixed it up?
I hope today is a good day for Fortune and that he will eat!!!
 
Last edited:
I thought Fortune had a vet appointment today? I think I mixed it up?
I hope today is a good day for Fortune and that he will eat!!!

He did - we cancelled. I never want to see that internist again! I had hoped we could see a different one at the same practice, but we couldn't.

We have one with Cornell tomorrow, but Fortune has not improved much since the weekend so we may be cancelling.
 
He did - we cancelled. I never want to see that internist again! I had hoped we could see a different one at the same practice, but we couldn't.

We have one with Cornell tomorrow, but Fortune has not improved much since the weekend so we may be cancelling.
Oh, I'm so sorry about that. More prayers for dear Fortune!! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
And have they started the Darbepoetin yet? It takes a little longer to work than Epogen. My vet first gave my kitty a shot of Epogen and then we went on the hunt to buy the Darbo at the best price (actually ended up at Wal-Mart pharmacy). Then we added in the Darbo after the Epogen had started bringing up the hematocrit. How long will the improvements from the transfusion last (did they tell you?)
 
How long will the improvements from the transfusion last (did they tell you?)

He hasn't improved since the transfusion. :(

His meds that were helping his muscle weakness/walking also stopped working, and I haven't heard back from his neurologist. So while his doctors were optimistic, we are also seeing how Fortune has been the past few days and it isn't good enough.

He has good moments and bad ones, but overall he is declining. I'm just grateful he has been able to lay in the sun the past few days.

It's absolutely breaking my heart.
 
He hasn't improved since the transfusion. :(

His meds that were helping his muscle weakness/walking also stopped working, and I haven't heard back from his neurologist. So while his doctors were optimistic, we are also seeing how Fortune has been the past few days and it isn't good enough.

He has good moments and bad ones, but overall he is declining. I'm just grateful he has been able to lay in the sun the past few days.

It's absolutely breaking my heart.

Oh, I know that exact feeling. I'm so sorry. Lots of love to Fortune and you and DH.
 
I spoke to Fortune’s neurologist and we are increasing his dose. She expects him to be much stronger by tomorrow so paws crossed!! We want him to be comfortable for whatever time is left.

I have been having some side effects and exacerbation of my existing conditions from the shot so I’m pretty miserable. Fortune knew, and snuggled me on the couch with his chin between my neck and shoulder :woot: Even though he has not been feeling well, he still comforts me. :arghh:

We got some more fuds from the CKD diabetes list to help keep things interesting.

We also noticed that his breathing was certainly deep (labored?) today, so I was nervous about doing fluids. His breathing was much calmer while he was laying on me, but we decided to skip since it was so close to his PM shot. We may try 50ml twice tomorrow instead of 100ml. Thanks for the suggestion @tiffmaxee :bighug:


Fortune is a real trooper. He is strong because you are strong Rachel. Our kitties do become us, they feed off us and we feed off them. True love

You are so right, Paul. :bighug: Fortune and I are so much alike, in so many ways. It reminds me of the scene in 101 Dalmatians where all the dogs resemble their humans - or is it the other way around? :smuggrin: He has always sensed what is going on with me, and I always understood his body language and gestures and how to comfort him. He is my soul kitty.
 
Looks like Fortune has been polite for you today. Congrats on the second shot. You will be able to have hugs a few weeks before me--I'm getting my second On March 29th. :)

He has been the most polite today, very forgiving considering I forgot to test him when he was heading down :banghead:

I will give you a huge hug April 14th when you have those sweet sweet antibodies! ;)
 
I spoke to Fortune’s neurologist and we are increasing his dose. She expects him to be much stronger by tomorrow so paws crossed!! We want him to be comfortable for whatever time is left.

I have been having some side effects and exacerbation of my existing conditions from the shot so I’m pretty miserable. Fortune knew, and snuggled me on the couch with his chin between my neck and shoulder :woot: Even though he has not been feeling well, he still comforts me. :arghh:

We got some more fuds from the CKD diabetes list to help keep things interesting.

We also noticed that his breathing was certainly deep (labored?) today, so I was nervous about doing fluids. His breathing was much calmer while he was laying on me, but we decided to skip since it was so close to his PM shot. We may try 50ml twice tomorrow instead of 100ml. Thanks for the suggestion @tiffmaxee :bighug:




You are so right, Paul. :bighug: Fortune and I are so much alike, in so many ways. It reminds me of the scene in 101 Dalmatians where all the dogs resemble their humans - or is it the other way around? :smuggrin: He has always sensed what is going on with me, and I always understood his body language and gestures and how to comfort him. He is my soul kitty.

Fortune has a beautiful soul!
 
Moderna.

I kinda expected to have a reaction based on what you and others have shared about the second shot. I did feel some aches and fatigue the first time, but just for one night and it was hard to know if it was the shot or just my baseline. I have been having more pain and fatigue lately, so I think it’s just amplifying.

I tried to get a good night’s sleep last night, and going to bed soon tonight. Hydrating, too.
 
I had it to. Chills, fever, headaches, sweating, and fatigue. It lasted 2 1/2 days. I hope you don’t get it all. At sister just had fatigue and headaches. My brother was fine.
 
I spoke to Fortune’s neurologist and we are increasing his dose. She expects him to be much stronger by tomorrow so paws crossed!! We want him to be comfortable for whatever time is left.

I have been having some side effects and exacerbation of my existing conditions from the shot so I’m pretty miserable. Fortune knew, and snuggled me on the couch with his chin between my neck and shoulder :woot: Even though he has not been feeling well, he still comforts me. :arghh:

We got some more fuds from the CKD diabetes list to help keep things interesting.

We also noticed that his breathing was certainly deep (labored?) today, so I was nervous about doing fluids. His breathing was much calmer while he was laying on me, but we decided to skip since it was so close to his PM shot. We may try 50ml twice tomorrow instead of 100ml.
Sorry to hear you're not feeling that great with the second shot.
I hope you feel better tomorrow
What a sweetheart Fortune is comforting you. That precious boy.
How I wish I could hold him and just love him up .
I hope you get to see the new internist tomorrow
Feel better Rachel and kisses for Fortune ♥:bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top