3/11 ELIAN: amps 105; 36 +3; 504 pmps WTH????

Status
Not open for further replies.

Susie and Elian

Member Since 2013
He's up; he's down; he's all around! Starting the day off low but I still shot since he's good for a rise in the next few hours but will be keeping another close eye on him today. Luckily I have a slow day today and will be in and out but mostly home.

yesterday's condo
 
Re: 3/11 ELIAN: amps 105 - what a bouncy boy

Hi guys .. nice shooting this morning! Fingers crossed for a nice long surf .. have a great day!
 
Re: 3/11 ELIAN: amps 105; 36 +3. Bad decision to shoot this

Thx but looks like it may have been poor judgment this time - he's down to 36. :-( I just gave him some FF gravy lovers and will test again. The good thing is that he was out on the patio (double screened in!)hanging with his brothers so he's not feeling it.... I don't think. He's so darn hard to predict!
 
Re: 3/11 ELIAN: amps 105; 36 +3. Bad decision to shoot this

don't let him fill up on the HC solids; see if you can give just the gravies to get up a bit ..... if he's on a mission, you don't want to have him get filled on food, then won't eat when you need him to eat more HC to get the numbers higher.
 
Re: 3/11 ELIAN: amps 105; 36 +3. Bad decision to shoot this

Good catch, check again in half an hour to make sure the gravy is working. once he goes up the gravy should work for a while. Some time they just need to earn that reduction! Congratulations, BTW! I'd expect another bounce from this though.
 
Re: 3/11 ELIAN: amps 105; 36 +3. Bad decision to shoot this

So even though he had a reduction recently I reduce him again tonight, right? Going to check his numbers now. Oh and feeding him is never a problem - he always eats. And if he should need a push I sprinkle halo treat crumbs and he gobbles down the food!
 
Re: 3/11 ELIAN: amps 105; 36 +3. Bad decision to shoot this

Yes, that last reduction was five days ago. Under 40 means a reduction, period:-)
Carl
 
Re: 3/11 ELIAN: amps 105; 36 +3; 49 +3.5 after hc food

Thanks for confirming! (is 40 or 50 the reduction point? I thought 50.) he's up to 49 now. Gotta run out briefly, will come back and play hokey pokey again. Yes, I do tell him it's hokey pokey time!
 
I can't believe he's back up to 504 tonight. :-( I did the reduction since he went down to 36. Hope that was the right move.
 
Susie

Quite the day you had. Just for some info/education:

The +10/+11 tests are great to get when you can because they'll let you know if you are shooting a dropping number and how fast it's dropping. It would have been difficult to know for certain this morning if he was low last night and on his way up or whether he was still dropping. It looks like he was still dropping.

Any time at all that you shoot (or think you shoot) a dropping number, you should always, without exception, get a +1. And if you give HC, you should keep testing until you get rising, no food influenced numbers. When the HC wears off, they usually come back down.

He's just having a really bad bounce. I'm not sure if anyone has let you know that when they bounce high after earning a reduction, you can shoot through the bounce once and take the reduction the next shot.
 
Nice bouncing Elian. Neko approves of his trampoline moves. :lol:

Susie, some people who have cats that don't hold reductions well will sometimes use that rule that cats must go 3 times below 50 or once below 40 before they reduce. So no matter if you are using the 1 or 3 times below 50, going below 40 is always a reduction. Congrats on the reduction!
 
Thanks Marje and Wendy. I don't know how you keep it all straight!!! If it wasn't for all of you I wouldn't have any idea of what to do and when. It's no wonder my friend and so many others just shoot blindly and do everything that seems to be against everything you guys do. I feel very lucky! Also lucky to be able to work around my guy's needs. He is down to 402 +2. I will get up during the night to test.
 
Susie....

Is it an error on his SS or did you reduce .5u? Reductions are .25u. I'd shoot 2.25u in the morning and hold that dose a few cycles to see what he does with it.
 
Oh shoot - I did go down to 2.0 - last time I was doing the 2.25 and the S's and the f's I think I was told not to mess with them and with the 1/2 unit markings it was difficult to get accurate 2.25. I forgot about looking into a caliper to solve this. I will go back up to 2.25 in the am. Poor guy - he needs somebody that knows what they're doing. I'm trying so hard but just don't get it. Or all of his bouncing. But I'm being patient and will do whatever I have to do. Okay I'm tired and rambling and have to be up soon to test again! Thank you again for all of your help and advice. You have no idea how much I appreciate it.
 
You're doing great Susie! Don't be hard on yourself. Just let us know any time you have questions or don't understand something.
 
Hi Susie, congratulations on the redution. I hope Elian is doing better in the morning - 36 and 504 in one day - that must make him feel dizzy!

Marje and Gracie said:
Susie

Quite the day you had. Just for some info/education:

The +10/+11 tests are great to get when you can because they'll let you know if you are shooting a dropping number and how fast it's dropping. It would have been difficult to know for certain this morning if he was low last night and on his way up or whether he was still dropping. It looks like he was still dropping.

Any time at all that you shoot (or think you shoot) a dropping number, you should always, without exception, get a +1. And if you give HC, you should keep testing until you get rising, no food influenced numbers. When the HC wears off, they usually come back down.

He's just having a really bad bounce. I'm not sure if anyone has let you know that when they bounce high after earning a reduction, you can shoot through the bounce once and take the reduction the next shot.

That was really helpful for me too Marje, thanks!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top