3/11 Eddie AMPS 197, +5.5 = 69

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Very Active Member
Last time: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=115145

Good morning!

Eddie's had a few pretty uneventful cycles, which is fine by me. :smile: We did have a flat yellow cycle yesterday during the AM which is kind of unusual. Nonetheless, the PM cycle was a good one, but with a latish nadir around +8 or so. Interestingly, the cycle looked to be starting out rather so-so, then I fed at PM +5, and he started to go down. I wonder if his pancreas kicks in after he gets a snack that helps bring his numbers down some.

Eddie's nadirs the last few cycles look to be in the low 100s or higher greens. I was half-way considering bring the dose back up a bit, but then I scrolled out to look at his SS and realized that with the flatter cycles, Eddie's pre-shots have stayed out of the pinks (anti-jinx), and he's been pretty much consistently below renal threshold. So, I think I'm going to stick with it for now. :-D

Last night (or early this morning) one of our civilians attempted to jump up onto my side of the bed to lay on my pillow, but he mis-calculated, and landed on my arm and face. I have some nice scratches on my arm, and a long one right across the middle of my forehead. ohmygod_smile

We are supposed to go out of town this weekend and are trying to line up a sitter, or sitters, get an automatic feeder, etc. If we were going somewhere that we could take Eddie with, I'd pack him up and bring him, but we are meeting in-laws in Wisconsin Dells. It will be the first time since Christmas that we will have left Eddie in someone else's care. nailbite_smile

Today:

AMPS = 197 (1.8u)
+5.5 = 69
+6 = 77
+8.5 = 128
 
Re: 3/11 Eddie AMPS 197

Nice amps. Yes, it would be tempting to try to force the nadir down a little with an increased dose but you are right, he has been sitting in lovely numbers and he never seems to do the logical thing :mrgreen: .

Understand the nervousness about the trip.. Is there a vet tech at your vet that would help with Eddie? Sometimes the pet services also have someone who is able to help with animals who have medical issues.
 
Re: 3/11 Eddie AMPS 197

Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Understand the nervousness about the trip.. Is there a vet tech at your vet that would help with Eddie? Sometimes the pet services also have someone who is able to help with animals who have medical issues.

Our regular vet tech did sit for Eddie over Christmas (when we first were starting and not testing yet :shock: ), but she doesn't do that as a regular gig. I do think that a couple of the other techs do pet sitting, and are comfortable caring for diabetics, so we're planning on talking to our tech about who would be our best bet (willing to ear test before shooting, filling an auto feeder, and following - at least somewhat - our feeding routine). I'm going to hit up my sister to see if she will stop in mid-day as well.

I sort of feel like a new mother who is anxious about leaving her new infant for the first time. haha_smiley

I'm leaning towards reducing the dose overall to 1.5u and not having the sitter shoot unless Eddie is over 200 for the couple days we're gone. Our other issue is a skittish civilian who will not come out to eat wet food if there is a stranger there. We did pick up some Stella & Chewys and some EVO, so we'll probably have to leave some out to make sure she eats something. :YMSIGH:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top