3/11 Do Lou AMPS 353 +3 +8 392 +10 306

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa and Do Lou (GA)

Very Active Member
well after seeing him just hang over the water bowl once again I went ahead and decided to up his dose to the 2.25 hoping I measured the syringe right confused_cat
AMPS 353 2.25U He is eating well still and I was able to get a urine test for ketones and that was still neg :smile: so will be posting numbers thru the day
+3 569 :shock: :shock: I am like in a shock 569 at + 3 I did not expect to see that at all confused_cat I thought he would be lower with the dose increase
he did get into about 1/4 cup of his wilderness this morning but getting the closet door open you think thats it its not really HC I did not think and I am just guessing at the amount since he had knocked over the bad when I went into the bathroom but I was not away for long nailbite_smile
+4 508



yesterday's condo numbers
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=8663
 
Re: 3/11 Do Lou AMPS 353 +3 569 OMG HELP

is he by chance getting into hi carb food? also, whenever you get a funky test, test a second time to make sure the number is real. Sometimes strips can error while appearing to be a perfectly normal test.

I understand why you did the increase, however, Lantus is not an insulin that you can do that a lot on at will.. you have to hold your doses and allow the shed to fill and the insulin to settle. While you did have room for increase, please hold that new dose for several cycles? I understand your frustrations and your fears, and I don't want you to think I'm coming down on you.. just wanted to let you know that Lantus will backfire on you if you do that too frequently. You got some yellow numbers yesterday and we have no idea what happened last night before +8. If he dropped too low for his liver's comfort, that would explain the high numbers today. (((hugs))) hang in there!
 
Re: 3/11 Do Lou AMPS 353 +3 569 OMG HELP

Ronnie & Luna said:
is there dry food involved in the last 12 hours or so?
yes he got into the blue wilderness right after his morning shot I had not shut the closet good and I was not gone from the bedroom for long at all and came bk to find him with the bag
tipped slightly and him eating from it :sad:
I just did a + 4 he was 508
 
Re: 3/11 Do Lou AMPS 353 +3 569 OMG HELP

Carolyn and Spot said:
is he by chance getting into hi carb food? also, whenever you get a funky test, test a second time to make sure the number is real. Sometimes strips can error while appearing to be a perfectly normal test.

I understand why you did the increase, however, Lantus is not an insulin that you can do that a lot on at will.. you have to hold your doses and allow the shed to fill and the insulin to settle. While you did have room for increase, please hold that new dose for several cycles? I understand your frustrations and your fears, and I don't want you to think I'm coming down on you.. just wanted to let you know that Lantus will backfire on you if you do that too frequently. You got some yellow numbers yesterday and we have no idea what happened last night before +8. If he dropped too low for his liver's comfort, that would explain the high numbers today. (((hugs))) hang in there!
Well my increase was more due to my vet wanting me to increase him to 2.5 and everyone here said if I increase I should do it at .25 instead so this is why I increased
 
Re: 3/11 Do Lou AMPS 353 +3 569 OMG HELP

Lisa and Do Lou said:
Carolyn and Spot said:
is he by chance getting into hi carb food? also, whenever you get a funky test, test a second time to make sure the number is real. Sometimes strips can error while appearing to be a perfectly normal test.

I understand why you did the increase, however, Lantus is not an insulin that you can do that a lot on at will.. you have to hold your doses and allow the shed to fill and the insulin to settle. While you did have room for increase, please hold that new dose for several cycles? I understand your frustrations and your fears, and I don't want you to think I'm coming down on you.. just wanted to let you know that Lantus will backfire on you if you do that too frequently. You got some yellow numbers yesterday and we have no idea what happened last night before +8. If he dropped too low for his liver's comfort, that would explain the high numbers today. (((hugs))) hang in there!
Well my increase was more due to my vet wanting me to increase him to 2.5 and everyone here said if I increase I should do it at .25 instead so this is why I increased

This has given me a migraine :sad: anyway I will see what he does
 
Re: 3/11 Do Lou AMPS 353 +3 569 OMG HELP

Lisa and Do Lou said:
Ronnie & Luna said:
is there dry food involved in the last 12 hours or so?
yes he got into the blue wilderness right after his morning shot I had not shut the closet good and I was not gone from the bedroom for long at all and came bk to find him with the bag
tipped slightly and him eating from it :sad:
I just did a + 4 he was 508



ahhh ok, make a note in spreadsheet for this ok? dont stress, he will be ok, crap happens right? :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/11 Do Lou AMPS 353 +3 569 OMG HELP

Ronnie & Luna said:
Lisa and Do Lou said:
Ronnie & Luna said:
is there dry food involved in the last 12 hours or so?
yes he got into the blue wilderness right after his morning shot I had not shut the closet good and I was not gone from the bedroom for long at all and came bk to find him with the bag
tipped slightly and him eating from it :sad:
I just did a + 4 he was 508



ahhh ok, make a note in spreadsheet for this ok? dont stress, he will be ok, crap happens right? :YMHUG:

Ok will make a note of this <sigh> I am so mad at myself cat(2)_steam
 
Re: 3/11 Do Lou AMPS 353 +3 569 OMG HELP

Lock up the dry food. Seriously, some cats have their numbers go very high and just from just a couple bits of dry food.

Get yourself a BIG plastic garbage bin with a locking lid. Put any dry food inside, lock the lid and so even if the cat goes ballistic and knocks the bin over, he would have to eat through the plastic to get to the dry food.
And if kitty DOES knock the plastic bin over, and eats through the hard plastic, get yourself a metal garbage can with a locking lid. many people need to take these precautions for their garbage due to raccoons and other scavenging animals.

Also, you need to keep in mind that when you change the dose, your numbers may go all wonky - NDW. Remember: hold that dose for 6 SHOTS. You need to let kitty get settled with that dose and that shed needs to be filled now. Some kitties don't settle to a new dose until shot 6, so stick with this dose. Do NOT go too quickly, or you may end up going way past the perfect dose for Do Lou.

Yellow numbers are AWESOME! Enjoy them and just know that you can't rush the numbers and force them down as quickly as YOU want. Do Lou is the boss here, Do Lou's organs say what goes, not you. Sorry, but your are just the bean now :lol: You may be bigger, but you are not the boss.

Can you imagine if your dr said to you OK you need to lose 50lbs, and you must do it by next week. WHAT? :shock: No way! I can't do that! As much as you try the healthy way, with diet and exercise, who controls the speed of loss? Certainly not you! You can help it along, but ultimately, it's your body, your metabolism that is the boss.

Give Do Lou some time to get used to the 'right' numbers. Right now, the 'wrong' numbers are feeling like they are the normal good ones to Do Lou. Now you are forcing her to get down into lower numbers, and she is likely feeling like they are the 'wrong' numbers. If you switched your shoes, put the right shoe on your left foot, and left shoe on right foot, how do they feel. JUST WRONG! You want them back on the 'right' feet, and you want them to change right away.
There are all sorts of examples that people can give you, to show you how Do Lou will progress when Do Lou is comfy. And you just have to be patient because the day will come, eventually.
 
Re: 3/11 Do Lou AMPS 353 +3 569 OMG HELP

Gayle and Shadoe said:
Lock up the dry food. Seriously, some cats have their numbers go very high and just from just a couple bits of dry food.

Get yourself a BIG plastic garbage bin with a locking lid. Put any dry food inside, lock the lid and so even if the cat goes ballistic and knocks the bin over, he would have to eat through the plastic to get to the dry food.
And if kitty DOES knock the plastic bin over, and eats through the hard plastic, get yourself a metal garbage can with a locking lid. many people need to take these precautions for their garbage due to raccoons and other scavenging animals.

Also, you need to keep in mind that when you change the dose, your numbers may go all wonky - NDW. Remember: hold that dose for 6 SHOTS. You need to let kitty get settled with that dose and that shed needs to be filled now. Some kitties don't settle to a new dose until shot 6, so stick with this dose. Do NOT go too quickly, or you may end up going way past the perfect dose for Do Lou.

Yellow numbers are AWESOME! Enjoy them and just know that you can't rush the numbers and force them down as quickly as YOU want. Do Lou is the boss here, Do Lou's organs say what goes, not you. Sorry, but your are just the bean now :lol: You may be bigger, but you are not the boss.

Can you imagine if your dr said to you OK you need to lose 50lbs, and you must do it by next week. WHAT? :shock: No way! I can't do that! As much as you try the healthy way, with diet and exercise, who controls the speed of loss? Certainly not you! You can help it along, but ultimately, it's your body, your metabolism that is the boss.

Give Do Lou some time to get used to the 'right' numbers. Right now, the 'wrong' numbers are feeling like they are the normal good ones to Do Lou. Now you are forcing her to get down into lower numbers, and she is likely feeling like they are the 'wrong' numbers. If you switched your shoes, put the right shoe on your left foot, and left shoe on right foot, how do they feel. JUST WRONG! You want them back on the 'right' feet, and you want them to change right away.
There are all sorts of examples that people can give you, to show you how Do Lou will progress when Do Lou is comfy. And you just have to be patient because the day will come, eventually.
Ok thanks I do not think I am in danger of him chewing thru plastic at least I hope not LOL but all kidding aside I do not normally keep food in a bag but a couple of weeks ago when he was not eating and I went on a food buying binge at pet smart I ended up with things in bags will change this today I am so stressed nailbite_smile ~O)
 
Re: 3/11 Do Lou AMPS 353 +3 569 OMG HELP

Unfortunately, even a little bit of dry food can play havoc with numbers. You're just going to have to wait this out. It will take longer than you can possibly expect for the dry to clear Do Lou's system Hang in there. (And donate the bag of dry food to a shelter or hide it where your kitty can't plifer it or tear open the bag. It's like kitty crack!) Also, there are times when a dose increase will cause numbers to briefly increase. We refer to it as "new dose wonkiness" (NDW). There's even a note about it in the dosing protocol.

Carolyn: Libby suggested the increase of 0.25. Take a look at Lisa's condo from yesterday.
 
Re: 3/11 Do Lou AMPS 353 +3 569 OMG HELP

Sienne and Gabby said:
Unfortunately, even a little bit of dry food can play havoc with numbers. You're just going to have to wait this out. It will take longer than you can possibly expect for the dry to clear Do Lou's system Hang in there. (And donate the bag of dry food to a shelter or hide it where your kitty can't plifer it or tear open the bag. It's like kitty crack!) Also, there are times when a dose increase will cause numbers to briefly increase. We refer to it as "new dose wonkiness" (NDW). There's even a note about it in the dosing protocol.

Carolyn: Libby suggested the increase of 0.25. Take a look at Lisa's condo from yesterday.

Yes I went back and read about dosing and saw that note about how numbers sometimes go up with a dose increase and I have lots of other cats here so food is already gone from the room
 
Re: 3/11 Do Lou AMPS 353 +3 569 OMG HELP

Yeah, Milo has always had a voracious appetite and has always gotten into bags of food, garbage bags with chicken bones, anything left on the counters. :shock: :lol:
SO I use child locks for the garbage and the cabinet where i keep the cat food. He has severe front and back neuropathy and cant jump anymore, so the counters are not a worry, but he will still try and be sneaky and try to open the cabinet when im not around. cat(2)_steam The auto feeder is a great thing, but i only use wet food for him. And that was the best thing i could do, it dropped his numbers by 100 from the dry to wet switch off. :mrgreen: Please also note that milo is an acro cat, but the insane appetite he has had his entire life, huge symptom of acromegaly.
 
Re: 3/11 Do Lou AMPS 353 +3 569 OMG HELP

hi Lisa

could u update your subject since ur doing ok, you're ok right? lol
we calmed you down right? :lol:
thank u!
 
Re: 3/11 Do Lou AMPS 353 +3 569 OMG HELP

Ronnie & Luna said:
hi Lisa

could u update your subject since ur doing ok, you're ok right? lol
we calmed you down right? :lol:
thank u!


yes I guess so not a good day for us today anyway just did the
+8 392 so at least we are making out way back down and yes I am a little less stressed now that we are out of the black cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 3/11 Do Lou AMPS 353 +3 569 OMG HELP

Lisa,
Since everything is calmed down now, can you go to your first post and take off the OMG HELP?

thx
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top