3/11 Chino|AMPS=429|+2=284|PMPS=434|+2=386|+4=276|+6=239

Status
Not open for further replies.

Adrian and Chino

Member Since 2016
Yesterday...

Increased the Lantus to 8 units this morning and gave 1.5 units of Novolin R (same as yesterday). I'm wondering if either the AMPS or the +2 reading was inaccurate, because this is a MUCH quicker/better response than he's had in the last 9 days... and all of those started with a lower AMPS.

This is the 2nd day since switching back to 4 small meals after being on a 12-hour feeding schedule for the last 4.5 weeks.

AMPS = 429
[8 units L, 1.5 units R]
+2 = 284

+3 check coming up in 15 minutes...
 
You're doing a great job with Chino and hope he enjoys the more frequent meals. R is tricky especially when the cat does what ever they want and without much consistency. :rolleyes: Work the juice little man, nice and easy now.
 
Yes!!!
IMG_1083.JPG
 
AMPS = 429
[8 units L, 1.5 units R]
+2 = 284
+3 = 285
+4 = 283
+6 = 374

I think he's heading into a bounce. If I give more R now, its action will coincide with the Lantus nadir. But if I wait until +8, he'll probably be over 400 again like he was yesterday. Not sure what to do in this situation.. I'm also going to give his PM dose 30 minutes early in preparation for the daylight savings time change.
 
Or maybe the R simply reached the end of its duration and brought him to the current point in the Lantus cycle where the BG is lower than the AMPS?
 
I decided not to give it at +6. That way I can see where the Lantus is taking him, since what should've been his nadir yesterday was higher than his AMPS. If it's higher at +8, I'll give a small dose then.
I think holding off on the +6 R this cycle was a good call, for exactly the reason you stated so you can see where the Lantus may take him.

Regarding nadirs, keep in mind that they are not fixed-they can and do move around from time to time.
I'm also going to give his PM dose 30 minutes early in preparation for the daylight savings time change.
Thats a good thing...
If it's higher at +8, I'll give a small dose then.
I'm not sure about R at +8 combined with shooting early and cycle 2 of the new dose... the combination could sneak up on you.
This is where it gets tricky.
Lets see where the flow goes today....
 
Hi Adrian, just dropping in your condo to say hi and give support. You're doing such a great job with Chino.

Work that juice Chino!!

Hope you have a great weekend. Those 3 yellows in a row look good!
 
Interesting R experiment this morning. He was really flat during the cycle after onset.

Good luck with the new L dose. Feel like you are juggling one too many things in the air?
 
His PMPS was 434. I'm not sure if he's bouncing or not, since the 2nd dose of R was what kept his PMPS in the 300s yesterday. Tomorrow, I'll give 1 or 1.25 units of R (depending on whether he's over or under 400) and if I see the same thing at the end of the cycle without the big drop in the beginning, then I might start giving R at +6 or +8 during the day as well.
 
It takes Novolin R to take him from red to yellow during the day, and then he does it again at night on Lantus alone. I don't understand it, but I'm happy to finally see a real yellow on the PM cycle :). (I don't count the one from 2 nights ago since it was just 2 mg/dL under 300.) He just got his last meal and I'm staying up to test again in 2 hours.
 
It's 239 at +6.5, so I'm going to bed, now that I know he's not dropping at a risky rate. It's not worth staying up for a +8 just to see if it's yellow or blue.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top