3/10 punkin amps 161 +3/178 +7/137 pics added

Status
Not open for further replies.

julie & punkin (ga)

Member Since 2011
i LOVE these new needles! They're Terumo brand - easy to read, slide easily and go in easily! These are making all the difference - i'm shooting him while he's eating and he's noticing, but not objecting. Now i wish i hadn't ordered needles online yesterday.

he does seem calmer - i sprayed Feliway all over the testing area of the sofa and on another chair. looking to be a good day!
 
Re: 3/10 punkin amps 161

Hi, Julie.. where did you buy those syringes? I currently use BD & like them, but your report makes me want to at least try your kind :lol:
 
Re: 3/10 punkin amps 161

the vet had them - but i had seen the brand listed, let's see, on one of the stickies here somewhere there is a "discussion on syringes" that links to a comparison "D" did several years ago on the old board. She said she uses them and liked them better than the other brands she tested. I'll see if i can find the stickie and post it.

Here's their website where you can find your local distributor and probably find where you can buy them
http://www.terumotmp.com/

i'm not kidding - they were awesome.
 
Re: 3/10 punkin amps 161

:-D Baby's lookin pretty sweet, too!

i feel like a salesperson, but one of the outstanding things was that the plunger moved SO easily that i didn't worry i was pushing the needle farther into him, which i think was going on before. ok, i'll stop now, but seriously, i'm gonna go with these. life is too short to have the cat fight me all the time when it isn't necessary.
 
Re: 3/10 punkin amps 161

Thank you! I emailed the local distributor.. unfortunately I cannot seem to find a store that sells in my area.. Baby's shot time is in 1.5 hours & I was hoping to run & get them before I have to get to work for an afternoon meeting.. geez... I am so impatient I guess. I do see I can order online.. but then I have to wait for shipping.. now I am all nervous about the accuracy of my BD syringes ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 3/10 punkin amps 161

Nice AMPS for Punkin and so glad you got the dosage straightened out w/ the vet.

The Terumo look like good syringes, but unfortunately it doesn't look like they are available in half unit markings. When you start reducing the dose that will be really important. What brand did you order online? I really like the Monoject. I got a box of BDs before Christmas and hated them. Couldn't wait for my new order of Monojects to get in.
 
Re: 3/10 punkin amps 161

I totally agree with Ann. I use Terumo for my CKD kitties...their needles for squids are superior. However, I can't find Terumo insulin syringes in 1/2 unit markings either and with us doing the microdosing, I have to have the 1/2-unit markings. I also use the Monojects and found them to really great. I like them much better than BD or Relion. I think Sienne uses GNP but I haven't tried those but I'm so happy with the MJs that I don't plan on changing.
 
Re: 3/10 punkin amps 161

Yeah, the lack of half-unit measurements is bumming me out as I too am looking for a new syringe. I just bought a box of Relions, which are okay, but I'm finishing a box of monojects, which I don't care for. I've tried every trick in the book for getting air bubbles out of these, but I end up with a HUGE one every time that simply won't come out of the syringe. Now that Willie's dose is below 1u, it is getting harder to measure around the bubble (which I estimate to be about .25u).

The search continues!!

Punkin is looking great today!! :)
 
Re: 3/10 punkin amps 161

i did notice that they don't seem to come in 1/2 units. but for as much trouble as i've had for the past 2 weeks with him using the other needles, i'm going to use these until i need the perfect accuracy with the small doses. i can see 1/2 unit (he's getting 7.5) easily - and i would suspect the bigger the dose the less critical the perfect 1/2 unit be. at least i hope so. He's been trying to jump away from me while i'm shooting him - twice he pulled the needle out. So talk about inaccurate dosing! even ballparking the 1/2 unit has got to be better than that.

nicole, have you asked your vet? mine sold me these and he said they really like this brand. the vet's selling them to me for $27 for 100 and on Amazon (Amazing Pets) with shipping it was going to be a tad over $26.

i ordered Monoject 1/2 units from Hocks and will use them when i need them.

time to go get the +6 - of course, my little civvie, Anya, just settled into my lap and punkin is nowhere to be seen. she doesn't get nearly as much lap time as she would like. when i'm doing things to him she always comes around and nuzzles him.
 
Re: 3/10 punkin amps 161 +3/178

I am going to call my vet, I have not tried that yet.. I suspect they might sell them. As far as the 1/2 unit markings, I don't need them.. they are nice.. but I can eyeball it. Baby is on .75 right now & I am using BD syringes withOUT 1/2 unit markings.. but I would know just to draw 1/2 between the 0 & 1 if she gets down to .5... no biggie.
Thanks!
 
i added some pics of the kitters in Punkin's Profile google doc. of course, i'm biased, but i think he's a hoot. the last 3 are from delaying his usual dinnertime so that it can coincide with his pm shot. you can see what he thinks of it.
 
Nice photos!! - that was fun! I am glad to see punkin doing well - great numbers!

and for what it is worth - monojet here too, love them, and my eyes... well like the 1/2 unit markings. :lol: Good luck - it is always nice to find one you really like.
 
:lol: :lol: at punkin pics!!

FWIW...i've used relion, walgreens, BD, GNP...and MONOJECT is by far the best i've used. just went back to them...and will never willingly try a different syringe again.
 
Hi Julie, you have 2 very beautiful kitties! Punkin is so handsome!
I use the Monojects too: they have very easy lines to see and the plunger lines up with the lines on the barrel of the syringe pefectly. Since I perfected my technique of avoiding air bubbles, I rarely get them any more. Here it is (actually, I think I posted it in your condo before, but here it is again):

1. work the plunger back and forth a few times to loosen it up.
2. push the plunger all the way in FORCEFULLY and hold it there.
3. still holding the plunger all the way in, invert the insulin cartridge and insert the needle into the insulin cartridge, ease up on the plunger, and SLOWLY draw out more insulin than you need.
4. with the tip of the needle over a paper towel, slowly TWIST the end of the plunger until you reach your correct dose. (Twisting is easier and more accurate than pushing).
5. give the shot.

The key here is step #2, forcefully holding the plunger all the way in. This expels any air that might be hiding in the syringe and doesn't allow any additional air to get into the syringe.

Have a great evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top