3/10 Jake AMPS=141.+4=128.+6=128 ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amanda & Jake

Member Since 2013
Hello Everyone.

Jake continues to hold pretty steady with his BC numbers. Today is the first chance I've had to do a curve since he started with the insulin.
He's feeling fine but is getting a little cranky about the all wet diet...as are the others. Nobody wants to eat wet food any more even though
I keep offering new and different flavors. I think it has to do with changing them to a free feeding schedule. They were always eager to eat
when they were fed twice a day and now they just turn their nose up at everything.

The more important issue, however, is the meter. I don't feel like I'm getting accurate readings. This morning when testing I accidentally got
too much blood on the strip. It read it anyway as an 84. I retested a few seconds later with a new strip and less blood and I got a 141. When
taking the +6 sample a few minutes ago I decided to take 2 readings back to back. The first was 128 and the second was 123. Not a huge
difference but enough to make me go hmmm... Is there a trick to getting the most accurate reading possible or is it just more random than
I realized?

Hope everyone is having a great weekend and not suffering too much from the 1 hour sleep deficit.
 
There's a 20% allowable variance in the meter. So any test can be +/- 20% from the value you get. Too much blood on a strip can give a funky reading. In some cases, I've gotten an odd reading if I've had too little blood but not so little that I get an error message.

Did you shoot 0.75u this morning or did you shoot a reduced dose this morning? Your SS shows a dose of 0.25u this morning.
 
There's no need to factor in meter variance other than to be conscious of what may be a true difference in numbers or what is a "surf."

I think you would have been fine to shoot your usual dose. You've shot a 142 the other evening. You'll want to start thinking about starting to shoot lower numbers. The motto here is, "Shoot low to stay low." That doesn't mean you may feel confident enough to shoot a 50 but you way want to think about where your comfort level is.
 
Or just staying at the usual dose regardless of the PS number? It doesn't seem like I'm getting any lower numbers
so should I be giving a higher dosage?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top