3/10 GracieD PMPS 131, +1 61, +2 44 Man, she's on a mission

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jason & Belle (GA)

Member Since 2010
Morning! It's a wonderfully gloomy day here in the Carolinas!

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=38536

Shot 1/2 an hour early today to try and catch up on stalls from this week. She had her first dose reduction two nights ago, and got another this morning. We're at a fat 1u now. We seem to be making a lot of progress quickly, so let's hope that holds.

Below is a picture of my girl. She was living behind our house for a few months, and the cul de sac named her Hobbles. As you can see, she is missing her left front leg. I just couldn't stand to watch her hop up to our deck every morning to eat, so one morning I sat on the steps and called her. Believe it or not, she just jumped into my arms and the rest is history. That was about 8 months ago, right before Belle died, and she's been a wonderful distraction. My avatar will always be Belle, but I wanted you all to meet Gracie.

Have a great day everyone.

Jason

Gracie.jpg
 
Re: 3/10 GracieD AMPS 102

Good morning guys .. boy it sounds gloomy everywhere! I love this amps for gracie, I hope the reduction holds too .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 3/10 GracieD AMPS 102, +2 97 - Picture of Gracie Include

Gracie is a beautiful kitty! What nice numbers too, good luck with the dosecrease(s)...I've missed a few days and all of a sudden she is blue and green! :-D Keep up the good work!
 
Re: 3/10 GracieD AMPS 102, +2 97 - Picture of Gracie Include

Wow - she's really striking. Her fur looks like a glowing silver. And she seems content. Thank God you renamed her!!!! Hobbles does not fit her at all.
 
Re: 3/10 GracieD AMPS 102, +2 97 - Picture of Gracie Include

Jason.. Gracie is absolutely beautiful & blessed.. the kindness of you to take her in, nuture her & provide for her above & beyond.
Thank you for sharing the pic, she just sparkles :YMHUG:
Good luck on the dosecrease, she is looking no less than the very best. (((Gracie)))
 
Re: 3/10 GracieD AMPS 102, +2 97 - Picture of Gracie Include

what a gorgeous girl! i had no idea she was missing a limb...but sounds like it doesnt slow her down!

how cool...thank you for the smile!
 
Re: 3/10 GracieD AMPS 102, +2 97 - Picture of Gracie Include

wow, she's gorgeous!

one of my friends had a 3 legged dog named Tripod. :lol: he got around fine.

i wonder what Gracie's story is? Someone cared enough to have her leg amputated when it needed it, but then she's become homeless? very odd. she's lucky to have you.
 
Re: 3/10 GracieD AMPS 102, +2 97 - Picture of Gracie Include

julie1220 said:
wow, she's gorgeous!

one of my friends had a 3 legged dog named Tripod. :lol: he got around fine.

i wonder what Gracie's story is? Someone cared enough to have her leg amputated when it needed it, but then she's become homeless? very odd. she's lucky to have you.

I'm really curious, but my wife doesn't like to think about it since it can't be good. The vets say it was surgical becasue ther eis no part of the arm, including shoulder blade. Someone did the surgery, but didn't spay her, weird. She is the sweetest most loving girl though, so whatever happened, she has a strong spirit!
 
Re: 3/10 GracieD AMPS 102, +4 43 3rd decrease? (pic include

She's such a beautiful girl!! So very, very lucky to have come across you and your wife. And look at her go this morning! She's really wanting to come down that dosing ladder! Yes...for a newly diagnosed cat, you can decrease her when she gets under 50. Good luck!
 
Re: 3/10 GracieD AMPS 102, +4 43 3rd decrease? (pic include

Wow she is striking and gorgeous.

One of the things I love is hearing how or cats and dogs find their way into their forever homes. Its like its fate and meant to be in most cases. Same with Gracie and your home. What a wonderful story, and that your heart and home was open to her.

Belle was a gorgeous kitty also. Hugs.
 
Re: 3/10 GracieD PMPS 131, +1 61 Down to 1u (pic included)

Thank you all for your comments on Gracie.

I lowered her dose for the third time in 3 days today to 1u. Even then, she dropped to 61 at +1. She is a girl on a mission, and I'm just along for the ride.

Have a great night all!

Jason
 
Re: 3/10 GracieD PMPS 131, +1 61 Down to 1u (pic included)

Gracie is gorgeous! She looks sooo soft.

Congrats on the decrease!

Your story with Gracie reminds me of our Kiki. We found her (I say she found US) in 2005. She had been living outside for at least a few months (vet estimate) and had lost a lot of weight. She'd had a tooth professionally removed (and done well, according to the vet) and was spayed, but for some reason suddenly homeless and really skinny. She let me carry her three blocks to get home and then FREAKED out once inside. We put up signs and contacted local vets, but nobody claimed her. A few weeks later she was a different cat. Sweet, loving and my shadow to this day. I think about her first family often and hope it was an accident that she got outside. Either way, someone definitely loved her and took care of her. It makes me sad to know that someone might be missing her or think that she died.

Thanks for saving Gracie! She obviously chose you! Good luck.
 
Re: 3/10 GracieD PMPS 131, +1 61 Down to 1u (pic included)

Jason --

Generally, if numbers drop the cycle after you've reduced, it's because the shed is still full from the previous, larger dose. You don't take a reduction. Essentially, you're taking back-to-back reductions and these often do not hold. It's your call at this point if you stick with the 1.0u. If numbers don't hold, go back to your last good dose.

Gracie is beautiful. She did chose her beans well.
 
Re: 3/10 GracieD PMPS 131, +1 61 Down to 1u (pic included)

Jason you really have a beauty there and the name Gracie suits her so much better than Hobbles. Yes she's a lady on a mission. You can tell.
 
Re: 3/10 GracieD PMPS 131, +1 61 Down to 1u (pic included)

Ok. So I shot a fat 1u this morning, and an even 1u tonight. At +2, she's at 44. So SIenne, how many cycles does it take to clear the shed and show true numbers based on the current dose? This morning and tonight were about .1u different. She's at .5u less than 3 days ago and her numbers are actually lower.

Jason
 
Re: 3/10 GracieD PMPS 131, +1 61, +2 44 Man, she's on a mis

This is most likely a breakthrough or the numbers are also being slightly influenced by your having shot early. I would still try to hold the dose at 1.0u tomorrow IF you'll be around to test.

Usually it takes a cycle, max of 2 cycles for the shed to catch up.
 
Re: 3/10 GracieD PMPS 131, +1 61 Down to 1u (pic included)

Janice & Johnny said:
Gracie is gorgeous! She looks sooo soft.

Congrats on the decrease!

Your story with Gracie reminds me of our Kiki. We found her (I say she found US) in 2005. She had been living outside for at least a few months (vet estimate) and had lost a lot of weight. She'd had a tooth professionally removed (and done well, according to the vet) and was spayed, but for some reason suddenly homeless and really skinny. She let me carry her three blocks to get home and then FREAKED out once inside. We put up signs and contacted local vets, but nobody claimed her. A few weeks later she was a different cat. Sweet, loving and my shadow to this day. I think about her first family often and hope it was an accident that she got outside. Either way, someone definitely loved her and took care of her. It makes me sad to know that someone might be missing her or think that she died.

Thanks for saving Gracie! She obviously chose you! Good luck.

The amazing thing is how wonderful they are after a little TLC. They're scared, neglected and abandoned, but are full of love. I actually have 7 other cats, all rescues. It was never my intention to have so many, but we found every one outside, and we couldn't turn them away. Every single one of them is amazing. It breaks my heart to see other strays since I know, given a chance, they would be just as wonderful.
 
Re: 3/10 GracieD PMPS 131, +1 61, +2 44 Man, she's on a mis

What a beautiful kitty Gracie is! Gorgeous! wow on tonight's numbers... looks lime a night of HC and a few tests. :-D I hope she doesn't keep you up too late. Good luck!
 
Re: 3/10 GracieD PMPS 131, +1 61, +2 44 Man, she's on a mis

Sienne and Gabby said:
This is most likely a breakthrough or the numbers are also being slightly influenced by your having shot early. I would still try to hold the dose at 1.0u tomorrow IF you'll be around to test.

Usually it takes a cycle, max of 2 cycles for the shed to catch up.

Ok, I will be around tomorrow so I'll shoot 1u again in the morning. If her numbers stay the same, I'll go to .75 tomorrow night. Man, I am looking forward to sleeping through the night at some point soon! Thanks!
 
Re: 3/10 GracieD PMPS 131, +1 61, +2 44 Man, she's on a mis

Nice!! Looks like she is on a mission. PJ PARTY!!!! I'm up with my little baby Gracie, too, but she's not that low...yet. She does like to surf the 40s, my girl. She needs to be on the same mission as your Gracie!
 
Re: 3/10 GracieD PMPS 131, +1 61, +2 44 Man, she's on a mis

This all came out of the blue, and started with an AMPS of 404. It could be your Gracie tomorrow!

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Nice!! Looks like she is on a mission. PJ PARTY!!!! I'm up with my little baby Gracie, too, but she's not that low...yet. She does like to surf the 40s, my girl. She needs to be on the same mission as your Gracie!
 
Re: 3/10 GracieD PMPS 131, +1 61, +2 44 Man, she's on a mis

We've had a couple times where I thought our Gracie was there but then lost it; don't know why. Paws crossed for you.

Time for a test!
 
Re: 3/10 GracieD PMPS 131, +1 61, +2 44 Man, she's on a mis

So your silver beauty is up to 72? Mine is down to 43 and even if I got her up, I couldn't trust her to stay there......Hope you get some rest.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top