3/10 Gobbles PMPS 109 +1 146 +2 163 +4 124 +6 136

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBowHuntress

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's Condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=90550&p=970433#p970433

Hooray :RAHCAT The FDMB Basket Raffle Fundraiser is officially open! Wait till you see all the gorgeous prizes!!! Ticket prices are $2/1, $5/3, $10/7, $15/15, $20/25. For complete information and pictures: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=90614

Yesterday @PM shot time, Gobbles' BG was 77 at PMPS, so his BCS mom here gave him a .25 U decrease (down to 1.0) because just the other day, on 3/7/13, I shot him at 98 and he hit 49 at AM+4. If he's following suit, I figured I would be pulling an "all-nighter", so I made the choice to decrease; rather be a little safe and potentially have to increase his dose due to high BG's later, then be sorry. I figured it would have been the same difference as me purposely giving him a reduced dose because I wouldn't be home/awake to monitor (even though I was!!!). Well, his PM+6 was 132 and this morning he was at 145 so I gave him the same reduced 1.0 U dose. He didn't "earn" a decrease yesterday according to TRP, but I am going to see what happens today, and if he doesn't bounce I'll go with the 1.0 U for his PM shot.... He's had 5 decreases now in the past two weeks, so maybe Mr. Gobbles' has decided he's had enough needles!!! Paws crossed, he'll go into remission cat_pet_icon

He woke up this morning in a sweet & cuddly mood; kisses & purring then off to the kitchen for his testing and to pick a can of food out. He decided to go with the hot pink can of Friskies Salmon (6 carbs). Then it was playtime; a pinch of catnip, his civvies, one of his crocheted mice and his scratching pad. His LB is normal!!! No lakes or ponds :-D
 
Re: 3/10 Gobbles AMPS 145 & RAFFLE OPEN!!!

Morning Kat,
I've got fingers and paws crossed that Gobbles like his new DST dose! It sounds like you're having a great start to your day!! Continue on my dears!!! xoxo mary and ollie
 
Re: 3/10 Gobbles AMPS 145 & RAFFLE OPEN!!!

Morning Kat & Congrats to Mr Gobbles....keep those #s going......I think Sabrina & Gobby are comunicating & she's listening to his advice haha_smiley Have a great day!
 
Re: 3/10 Gobbles AMPS 145 & RAFFLE OPEN!!!

I hope the dose decrease holds for Gobbles, even if it wasn't officially earned.

By the way, I saw your question in J.D.'s condo. Tbp means work (the bad place). It took me a while to figure out what that meant too.
 
Re: 3/10 Gobbles AMPS 145 & RAFFLE OPEN!!!

carfurby said:
I hope the dose decrease holds for Gobbles, even if it wasn't officially earned.

By the way, I saw your question in J.D.'s condo. Tbp means work (the bad place). It took me a while to figure out what that meant too.

He is 40 at +6...

I won't kick a gift horse in the mouth, but tonight he will get another decrease; that will be 6 in 14 days....
 
Re: 3/10 Gobbles AMPS 145 + 6 40 RAFFLE OPEN!!!

AMPS 146
+6 40: Gobbles is slightly shivering --(gave 1/2 t. syrup, 1 t. HC & 6 pcs. dry)
+6.5 67: (he didn't want catfood--ate 1 bite of wet, so I broke out the lunchmeat--a few small pcs. turkey off the bone)
 
Re: 3/10 Gobbles AMPS 145 & RAFFLE OPEN!!!

carfurby said:
I hope the dose decrease holds for Gobbles, even if it wasn't officially earned.

By the way, I saw your question in J.D.'s condo. Tbp means work (the bad place). It took me a while to figure out what that meant too.
So is The Bad Place a generalized term....multi-purpose use?
 
Re: 3/10 Gobbles AMPS 145 + 6 40 +6.5 67

Recap:

AMPS 146
+6 40: Gobbles is slightly shivering --(gave about 1/2 t. syrup on lips, gums plus 1 t. HC plus 6 pcs. dry--per hypo instructions)
+6.5 67: (he didn't want catfood--ate 1 bite of wet, so I broke out the lunchmeat--a few small pcs. turkey off the bone)
+7 188 (not surprised with this number! I am trying to get him to eat a little LC, to no avail)
 
Re: 3/10 Gobbles AMPS 145 + 6 40 +6.5 67 +7 188

Congrats on the reducie! Gobby is on a mission! :mrgreen:

How is he now? The shivering must have given you a scare. :shock:
 
Re: 3/10 Gobbles AMPS 145 + 6 40 +6.5 67 +7 188

Courtney and Kismet said:
Congrats on the reducie! Gobby is on a mission! :mrgreen:

How is he now? The shivering must have given you a scare. :shock:
OMGee yes it did scare me--I noticed the shivering the last time he went below 50... But thankfully it has stopped :-D

I posted a ? in Main Health re: Decreases...Comments more than welcome: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=90663
 
Re: 3/10 Gobbles AMPS 145 + 6 40 +6.5 67 +7 188 ? decreases

Hi Kat, wow on Gobbles today. :mrgreen: Congrats on the reducie. Glad he came up and gave you a break here and has stopped the shivering.
 
Re: 3/10 Gobbles AMPS 145 + 6 40 +6.5 67 +7 188 ? decreases

Ann & Maggie11 said:
Hi Kat, wow on Gobbles today. :mrgreen: Congrats on the reducie. Glad he came up and gave you a break here and has stopped the shivering.
Thanks Ann! He scared me!!!
 
Re: 3/10 Gobbles AMPS 145 + 6 40 +6.5 67 +7 188 ? decreases

Recap:

AMPS 146
+6 40: Gobbles is slightly shivering --(gave about 1/2 t. syrup on lips, gums plus 1 t. HC plus 6 pcs. dry--per hypo instructions)
+6.5 67: (he didn't want catfood--ate 1 bite of wet, so I broke out the lunchmeat--a few small pcs. turkey off the bone)
+7 188 (not surprised with this number! I am trying to get him to eat a little LC, to no avail)
+7.5 (no test, but wanted to add that he at 1/2 can FF LC)
 
Re: 3/10 Gobbles AMPS 145 + 6 40 +6.5 67 +7 188 ? decreases

about all the dose reductions... it's because this is how the Tight Regulation Protocol works. :mrgreen: You do a series of dose increases until the cat hits a breakthrough, then a series of reductions (usually with a few more ups and downs along the way, but not always). Often once the cat breaks through, the reductions come fast and furious for a while, especially in a cat that hasn't been diabetic for very long. I went through a LOT of coffee when Lucy did this.

The shivering is concerning, though. Now that Gobbles is on the way down the dosing ladder, I think you're going to have to make a habit of getting earlier spot checks in every cycle. He doesn't need to go to 40, try not to let him dip that low.
 
Re: 3/10 Gobbles AMPS 145 + 6 40 +6.5 67 +7 188 ? decreases

I'm glad you got Gobbles to come back up. That shivering at 40 had to be scary.

carfurby wrote:I hope the dose decrease holds for Gobbles, even if it wasn't officially earned.

By the way, I saw your question in J.D.'s condo. Tbp means work (the bad place). It took me a while to figure out what that meant too.

TheBowHuntress reply:
So is The Bad Place a generalized term....multi-purpose use?

I'm not sure. I was told it meant work and most people don't really want to go to work, so it's bad I guess. We have to work to feed our furbabies. I first thought it might mean the bean place, since that is where the beans go.
 
Re: 3/10 Gobbles AMPS 145 + 6 40 +6.5 67 +7 188 ? decreases

Libby and Lucy said:
Often once the cat breaks through, the reductions come fast and furious for a while, especially in a cat that hasn't been diabetic for very long. I went through a LOT of coffee when Lucy did this...The shivering is concerning, though. Now that Gobbles is on the way down the dosing ladder, I think you're going to have to make a habit of getting earlier spot checks in every cycle. He doesn't need to go to 40, try not to let him dip that low.
Thank goodness for Keurig--quick coffee--I have some Sumatran I haven't drank for a while, as it bounces me off the walls; that might come in handy. As for the spot checks: my fault Libby; I feel bad about it. No excuse. Like today, I had just got off the couch and told my husband "I haven't tested him for 6 hours" His response: "why not?" I'm sure you can relate that I won't sleep well tonight, even with a .25 reduction...
 
Re: 3/10 Gobbles AMPS 145 + 6 40 +6.5 67 +7 188 ? decreases

carfurby said:
Tbp means work (the bad place). It took me a while to figure out what that meant too...I'm not sure. I was told it meant work and most people don't really want to go to work, so it's bad I guess. We have to work to feed our furbabies. I first thought it might mean the bean place, since that is where the beans go.
LOL...the bean place! I guess it could mean that if you wanted it to...the only place that Gobbles' might consider is "the bad place" would be the vet....
 
Re: 3/10 Gobbles PMPS 109 +1 146 +2 163

Yay on the reducie but scary way to get there, good thing you got such a super bean Gobbles!!
sending stress free surfs with this dose.
love (((FDMB))) so many wonderful people
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top