3.10 feeburt amps 364 PMPS 338 +4 353

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3.10 feeburt amps 364

So, if I ask really nicely think he'll give me yellow and blue today? :-D

Hi Shelly - sorry to see you back with MR. Feeburt. Now I really must know, how did he get his name?
 
Re: 3.10 feeburt amps 364

Well, At our first genital investigation there were no dangly bits so whe assumed he was a girl and named him Feebee. With in a few days the situation changed so we decided to masculinize his name and got Feeburt. I love it. If you google feeburt and go to images you will easily find a few pictures of him and my GA Cosmo. I will work on getting a picture up soon.
I am notorious for coming up with weird names for cats. We have Feeburt, Spaceman (pronounced spa chim in) and the twin kittens are Mike and Dave.
 
Re: 3.10 feeburt amps 364

funny...well I do understand, I was told but an obviously stupid vet that the kitten I took in was a boy, I named him Buster. When he went for his neuter, a different vet told me, sorry we have to do a spay! Sex changed, but name didn't!
 
Re: 3.10 feeburt amps 364

Hi Shelly,
Ok I see you got a yellow finally!, which naturally resulted in a red. I think we need to be a little more aggressive, what do you think? I'd like to see basal increases of 1u now. I realize it's early, and off protocol, but my thinking is: you are seeing no progress and he is far behind where he needs to be.

I have put out the call for others to come look so if they disagree, I will understand. Safety first in LL!

Edited to Add: Do not increase by 1u tonight ok?
 
Re: 3.10 feeburt amps 364

ShellyandCosmo(GA)andFeeburt said:
With in a few days the situation changed

I almost spit chocolate milk out my nose reading this part of your post.
 
Re: 3.10 feeburt amps 364

OMG, I have Feeburt's twin sister!

tabbstongue.jpg
 
Re: 3.10 feeburt amps 364

hi shelly. time to increase the dose to 5u bid tonight.

several of us (including carolyn) have been discussing how to get feeburt's numbers down this afternoon. we've seen a touch of movement, but not a lot. we're reluctant to suggest raising the dose in increments of 1 unit. however, we do need to get those numbers down. protocol does allow for a more aggressive approach in cases like this. the dose can be increased in increments of 0.5u after 4 cycles when nadirs are high and relatively flat rather than holding the dose for 6 cycles before increasing. once we start seeing some consistent movement, we can go back to raising the dose after every 6 cycles.
what do you think? want to give it a whirl?

have you been checking for ketones? if feeburt should show even a trace of ketones, let us know right away...
 
Re: 3.10 feeburt amps 364

MJ... you haveCosmo's twin. Feeburt is solid black

Carolyn...Thank you for guiding us!

And yes. that sounds like a good plan. I'll raid him to 5U tonight. *edit* I will RAISE him to 5U tonight.

I have not been checking for ketones. I do check his breath and it isn't bad. I know what it smells like from Cosmo. Feeburt is fine. He feels good. Purrs, bright eyes, coat is getting shiny again and he seems to have put on some weight. He's sitting here purring very loudly while I'm typing. Just yawned and it didn't smell bad. If you saw him you would never guess that he is diabetic.
 
Re: 3.10 feeburt amps 364

ShellyandCosmo(GA)andFeeburt said:
MJ... you haveCosmo's twin. Feeburt is solid black

Carolyn...Thank you for guiding us!

And yes. that sounds like a good plan. I'll raid him to 5U tonight.

I have not been checking for ketones. I do check his breath and it isn't bad. I know what it smells like from Cosmo. Feeburt is fine. He feels good. Purrs, bright eyes, coat is getting shiny again and he seems to have put on some weight. He's sitting here purring very loudly while I'm typing. Just yawned and it didn't smell bad. If you saw him you would never guess that he is diabetic.

Hey Shelly,
Hi. Nice yellow last night :-D
I never thought in a gazillion years that I would be the one to post this but please do ketone spot checks if you can catch Feeburt peeing. My Alex is the acetone smell king. I usually can tell 12 hours before he develops any trace ketones by his breath. A couple of weeks ago, lo and behold, no acetone breath but sure enough, ketones were starting to show up. Then came the breath. Now THAT startled me. I thought I had a foolproof system going. Can't hurt to test when you have pinks and reds going on. As you already know, it's much easier to deal with trace ketones than with ketosis or DKA. (and..some cats don't get acetone breath when hey have ketones). Just sayin' :)
 
flat is good. Of course we would prefer LOWER flat, but he's running lower than he used to be so I think there is progress being made.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top