3/10 Daniel AMPS 303 +6 209 PMPS 285 Dose Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kurai & Daniel

Member Since 2011
Bah, late to the party. Hate it when we get really busy here!

Good morning Lantus Landers welcome to our condo! Day two, and I'm trying to kill my sleep schedule. Seems to have worked ok though. Keep in mind that my AMPS is almost more like ya'lls PMPS as I sleep during the day, so I got up every few hours to check on him. He's worth every bit of it. Tomorrow (technically today... ugh) will be fewer checks though. I have to sleep.

I'm happy to see him drinking less and cleaning the litter box is so much easier with the smaller pee balls rather than urine bricks. Jeeze louis I don't know why I didn't notice how big they had gotten. I wasn't expecting such a quick change in his drinking and litter box habits.

Google docs was acting up, but the spreadsheet should be updated.

Vet wanted me to increase to 2 BID units around day 3 or 4. If someone browsing has an opinion on that I'd love to hear it but I think I'd like to see what the numbers look like tomorrow before I make a decision (*cough* actually ask for advice I should say). I think its a bit too soon...

Everything else seems to be going smoothly. I found a way to get the blood test done on the first poke, so I must be getting better at it. I must admit Danny boy is getting rather tired of my holding his ears though. Haha.

I'll be able to take the next reading at +10, late I know. I might need to change the dose times, bumping it by 15 minutes at a time of course, going to have to do that for daylight saving time anyways.
 
Re: 3/10 Daniel AMPS 303 +6 209 PMPS 285

Hi, guys! looking good...

i'd put "dose question" in your subject line and let the experienced folks weigh in...seems like kind of a quick increase to me...but i'm not experienced with dose advising..
the protocol most of us use here increases or decreases by .25 unit increments, as going up by larger amounts can cause you to miss the correct dose...
i.e. Binks went from 1.0 unit to 1.25, and that was the dose that was what we call the "breakthrough" dose...
(if that makes sense)

the East Coast folks sign on pretty early in the morning, so they should be able to give you some good input.
have a great night!

celi & binks
 
Re: 3/10 Daniel AMPS 303 +6 209 PMPS 285

Yeah, I thought so too. Just figured I'd wait til tomorrow or the next day to actually ask, since there'd be more numbers to actually see where we're at. Personally I don't think the vet wanted to give me the 3-4 days.

I'll throw it in the subject anyways, see what people think.

Yeah, that does make since to me. I'll probably go up in smaller increments anyways.

And thanks ;-) I'll do my best to have a good night. It's been a bit crazy at work. That's about normal though XD
 
I agree with Celi on the dose increase as being a bit drastic per the vet. The dosing protocol that Celi mentioned is what most (and/or all) of us do. And it works nicely for the sugarbabies. I think (and someone can correct me on this) that the protocol for dose increases is to wait about 6 cycles (3 days), and then increase the dose by 0.25u, then wait another 6 cycles. etc. This gives the kitty's body to adjust to the new dose. The best syringes I found for the 0.25u increases are the ones that have the 1/2 unit markings on them. Those are very helpful for correct dosing.

It seems that Daniel's doing well so far. :)

I, too, took the bull by the horns, and started listening to these ladies on here about dosing, and what to do if kitty goes into hypoglycemic episode, which my Blackie did do. If it wasnt' for them (and for someone that I met on here), Blackie wouldn't be here today.

What type of food is Daniel on?
 
Daniel's numbers are looking pretty good at this point!! You want to let the initial dose of Lantus "settle" for 5 - 7 days - in other words, don't change the dose. Lantus is a depot-type of medication. What this means is that a little bit of the insulin goes to forming a reservoir under the skin. This is what allows Lantus (and Levemir) to be long-acting and gentle. Because a small amount is being held in reserve, once the depot, or "shed," is finished being filled, there will be more insulin that's bioavailable. You don't want to increase too soon nor do you want to increase by a full unit. Increasing by that much could cause you to miss a good dose. We increase in increments of 0.25u (in most cases). Please read the information in the starred sticky notes on the Tight Regulation Protocol and on the Shed for more information.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top