3/10 Chyna PMPS 94 +2 76 +4 65 micro dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rachel & Chyna (GA)

Member Since 2012
Good morning, it sure came early today with daylight savings! Time for ~O) ~O) ~O) Lunch and afternoon is supposed to be spent with the family today, since my sister and niece are here still for a few more days:) Chyna may have other plans...although ever since we resumed insulin after the dental her nadir is really early in the cycle but then seems to go up in small increments during the day.

Yesterdays Condo: Chyna 3/9

Well, I shot an even lower number today than I ever have, and if I'd had to work I'd probably have skipped. Chyna ate all her breffis by +0.5 and is purring and preening. We went BTB for an hour. At +2 she is already at 59 :mrgreen: ...I just fed her 1/8 can of her regular food. I guess the 15 minute changes for DST are acting like increases a bit though?

Is it time to go down to a drop (or stop insulin?), or do I still follow the "under 50" rule for reductions? She hasn't followed any of the rules for reductions so far, but we had to reduce with the change to all wet food and then the infected teeth removed...I know her pancreas is working a bit from the days after the dental skipping doses. We've been straight green for 4 days except for that one shade of low blue and good numbers all week...any insight on what to do in the following days would be welcome:)
 
Re: 3/10 Chyna PMPS 94 stop/micro dose?

I've been looking at the pictures of the syringes for micro dosing and it's quite possible I've been giving 0.10 instead of the 0.25 since the picture shows closer to what 0.10 looks like...I finally got a magnifying glass today (who'd have thought those are so hard to find?) and I thought I had the counting drops down, I counted 2 fat drops in a 0.5...I thought. I guess I have to play some more.

Also someone had said when I asked about meals with her pancreas sputtering if the BG is up a bit at PS to maybe give a +9 mini meal, but she goes so low right after insulin I was afraid to move that food around. I gave her my "0.25" dose tonight for now...
 
Re: 3/10 Chyna PMPS 94 stop/micro dose?

Woohoo!!! Chyna is looking good! Maybe send a PM to Sienne and get her opinion?
Liz
 
Re: 3/10 Chyna PMPS 94 stop/micro dose?

I agree. If you have a question and don't get seen... it's best to pm someone for help that you know can advise.
There's a lot to watch over here so it's easy to miss someone even though they try really hard not to. They do a pretty fantastic job.
 
Re: 3/10 Chyna PMPS 94 stop/micro dose?

They do an amazing job! I just hate to bug them when my questions aren't urgent like a lot of the others today:) Maybe I'll send a PM...
 
Re: 3/10 Chyna PMPS 94 +2 76 stop/micro dose?

This dose looks great!! I don't think you've have to worry about shooting tomorrow morning. The same rules for a dose reduction apply. I suspect you may not have noted that if a kitty is in normal numbers for a week, you can reduce the dose.
 
Re: 3/10 Chyna PMPS 94 +2 76 stop/micro dose?

Sorry, I'm confused...did you mean don't give insulin tomorrow and see how she does, like a trial? Or did I misunderstand and you mean I shouldn't worry about her numbers if I do give it? I've been reading the protocols and stickys over again, but I didn't see you can reduce if normal numbers are there for a week, good to know, thanks:)

I just played around with the syringe measuring drops, and I'm pretty sure I've been giving 0.10 most days...or somewhere between 0.25 and 0.10 :?
 
Re: 3/10 Chyna PMPS 94 +2 76 stop/micro dose?

I'm not sure what Sienne meant either about tomorrow morning but I do think she believes, as I do, that you can take her down to .1u or a drop....whichever way you dose it because she's been in mostly normal numbers for one week.

Although she looks fantastic, I think it's best to just give her a little more time on a lower dose and see what she does. Super job you two!

And please don't worry about PMing us and asking us to check in. You are equally as important as new members :-D
 
Re: 3/10 Chyna PMPS 94 +2 76 stop/micro dose?

Thanks, I think that's what she has been getting most days anyways due to my inept measuring :? . Now I just need to figure out a good way to measure a drop, LOL. I was reading somewhere on here about it and how some of the people push the syringe all the way in past the place it sits when in empty position and let it pull in a drop from the insulin bottle? But I'm not sure I can push it and hold it in for 10 seconds when giving that to an impatient Chyna ;-)
 
Re: 3/10 Chyna PMPS 94 +2 76 stop/micro dose?

Practice with an old used syringe and some water to see if you can pull up (and push out) one drop just by compressing the plunger firmly. You don't need to hold it for 10 seconds in Chyna, but you do have to make sure the plunger is depressed when you pull the syringe out of her so it doesn't suck back in that one precious drop of insulin.

MJ
 
Re: 3/10 Chyna PMPS 94 +2 76 micro dose?

I will try:) Does the 10 second thing only apply for bigger doses? I've been counting to 10 after pushing the plunger in and then pressing on the spot of injection after pulling the needle out for a few seconds after but I can't remember where I read to do that...the days Chyna cooperates that is :lol: She's usually pretty good!
 
Re: 3/10 Chyna PMPS 94 +2 76 micro dose?

You don't have to hold the syringe in for ten seconds or press on the injection spot. In fact, you probably don't want to press or rub on the injection site.
 
Re: 3/10 Chyna PMPS 94 +2 76 micro dose?

Well, that makes life much easier...I knew not to rub the spot or roll the insulin like with Caninsulin they told me to. I wish I knew where I got that from...if it was the vet...I know I read it somewhere :?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top