3/10 Chyna PMPS 87 +2 64 +3 97 +4.5 121 +6 138

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rachel & Chyna (GA)

Member Since 2012
Hello Monday :sad: , and LL :-D ! Blech on how tierd I am with this time change @-) :YMSIGH: ~O)

Yesterday: Chyna 3/9 green night and day

Not bad AMPS considering my yesterday reducie in the AM for the hour early shot on a low number and the ouchie pulled away (partial fur shot?) last night in the PM! Murphys Law that I'd do that after she'd already had a reduced morning dose but it was a low PMPS so I was hoping it would be ok. I really need to reduce some calories for Chyna as she gained a little bit but keep having to feed her when she seems low or leave extra fuds out when I work...

Chyna is soft and purring and sweet. She's eating most of her meals, but last night was some spoon feeding and not much poop so she got some canola oil.

I'm still contemplating what to do for our vet visit on Wednesday. I haven't found a thundershirt and am considering the scented calm down collar(Collar)...if it's only for an hour it may not be that bad and she may not be allergic? But she's never worn a collar...there is also a liquid that I'm not sure is ok for diabetics called calm down? Here: Calm Down. The nanner will be making the trip with us if nothing else! (Edit: sorry I should have specified, it's the vetty appt that Chyna gets upset about, the car ride she is fine :oops: )

I guess this bean had better get ready for yucky work! Have a great day guys, and thanks for visiting us :razz:
 
Re: 3/10 Chyna AMPS 143

Glad to hear she is sweet and purry, two of my favorite things. Looks like she wasn't even fazed with yesterday. Good luck reducing the calories. It is so hard to do. Have a great day Rachel!
 
Re: 3/10 Chyna AMPS 143

Hi guys .. Chyna is looking good in blue this morning .. Wish I had some advice for your upcoming car trip .. It's so hard to travel with a cat who hates car rides .. I hope something works for you .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 3/10 Chyna AMPS 143 +1.75 126

Morning Rachel ~O) ~O) ~O)

What a nice start for Chyna today. Love the greens over the weekend too. :cool: Good luck with the calorie thing. I went through that with Mannie. It was hard to get the weight off, especially when it seemed like I was constantly feeding those lows. We eventually prevailed and got him to an acceptable weight.Wishing you much luck. I hope all goes well with the pending vetty visit, and your efforts to keep Chyna mellow. I have no experience with any of those items, maybe someone else will.

Have a great day today. I hope all goes well at TBP. I could not agree more on that time change thing.... ~O)
 
Re: 3/10 Chyna AMPS 143 +1.75 126

Nice numbers for Chyna today!!

I don't know about using the collar if she's never worn one. Usually, it's the first several hours that they really fight it, so if she's never worn one and you wanted to try one of the "calming collars" for the vet visit, I think you should have already put a regular collar on her to get used to the feel. Waiting to put it on her right before leaving would probably be really stressful on her.

As for the Calm Down..13% alcohol?? I bet it does calm them down!! They're drunk! Anyway, alcohol and diabetes aren't a good match, so I think I'd skip that one too.

If she's good in the car, it's too bad the vet couldn't come out and see her there.

Wish I had some words of wisdom for you that might help.
 
Re: 3/10 Chyna AMPS 143 +1.75 126

I tried the calming collars when Emma came to see if it would help when we made her stay in at night. I never really saw much effect from it. i think it is a ling term thing too, it doesn't work right away. You could try Feliway spray on her carrier and Rescue Remedy in her water or on her paws. there is a pet version w/ no alcohol.
 
Re: 3/10 Chyna AMPS 143 +1.75 126

Hi Rachel:

Nice start to today for Chyna - you can go to tbp without worrying about her, which is always a good thing. :-D

Harvey has worn the calming collar for several years. I can't say for sure if it helps him, but I know he hasn't had one of his totally psycho episodes in a long time (anti-jinx), so I give it some credit. I agree about putting a plain collar on her for a while first, so she's used to it. Another idea I had is to wait to give her the nanner until a few minutes before you get to the vet. Hopefully she'll still be in a happy, catnip haze when you take her in and it will help keep her calm.

I got my thundershirt yesterday but haven't tried it on any of the cats. I'll let you know how it works once I've tried it out.

Sending good poop vines :lol: (our favorite subject). Have a great Monday!
 
Re: 3/10 Chyna AMPS 143 +1.75 126 +6.75 59 +7.5 74

It looks like Chyna is keeping you on your toes today. It is so hard to get them to lose weight when you have days like this. Good luck on whatever you decide to calm her for the vetty visit.
 
Re: 3/10 Chyna AMPS 143 +1.75 126 +6.75 59 +7.5 74

I think Chyna and Max must have talked! both are green and gaining weight. Hopefully the BG will level out and we won't need to feed them as much. It's amazing to me with a fur shot and reduction that Chyna is staying low but sure looks good.

Elise
 
Re: 3/10 Chyna AMPS 143 +1.75 126 +6.75 59 +7.5 74

Well, I was a little worried when I left this morning with her going down slightly so I left her normal 2 carb LC mini meals in the autofeeder and an extra portion of 8 carb in a bowl...and coming home at lunch definately made me go :shock: :shock: . I fed her some LC and 45 minutes later she'd come up a bit, so I went back to work...she'd only eaten half of her morning meals, but the 8 carb she had scarfed up, I guess I don't have to worry if she likes the rabbit as it was newer :lol:

Thanks for visiting guys! :cool:

-Hi Melissa, thanks, yeah it's weird that the lower shot and fur shot we still dove down! :o I know not all got in last night...

-Thanks Devon, I like blue ;-) She's ok in the car...it's when the vet or tech walks into the room that she starts to growl... :roll:

-Hi Michelle, thanks I liked them too, and they were good surfs. It's hard to cut calories, especially with her allergies and CKD/limited fuds choices. And dives and work! Eeeek. She's just a little over what they said is ideal weight...

-Thanks Chris, I only have another day until the vet so not much time to try out things! I'll skip the collar and the calm down! I don't think they can do a blood draw in my car though, and an exam would be awkward, lol. I wish we had home visit vets here but no such luck :-| .

-Hi Ann, thanks. I wanted to get RR but they don't have the pet one in my town, and Wendy mentioned it's not in Canada...it would take too long to get here shipping but I'm thinking of ordering it for next time :-D I haven't found Feliway yet either but I still have one more pet store to try...

-Thanks Tricia, but I was worried, lol. And apparently should have been more worried...I hope she wasn't much lower than 59! I'm for sure bringing the nanner and will put it in the cage as we go into the office maybe. I called Petsmart and they said they HAVE the thundershirt, but I looked everywhere, even in the dog section that she said it's in! I am going back tonight, maybe it was out of stock. Thanks for the poop vines! ;-)

-Hi Carla, she for sure surprised me :sad: . Thanks for the luck,we will need it :lol:

-Thanks Elise, I'm wondering if she is angling for a reduction with this sort of thing, I guess we'll see...I like green, I just wish I didn't have to work during it :lol:

Work has been very steady but I'm going to try hit some condos now :-D
 
Re: 3/10 Chyna AMPS 143 +1.75 126 +6.75 59 +7.5 74

What a beautiful day! I'm sure that lunchtime test caught your eye, but she did a great job munching and bringing herself up! Trix has "fluffed up" a bit, too, and the vetty did mention we should try and get her down just a wee bit. I know it's the little snicky-snacks we leave out that are catching up with her.

I hope you're able to find a calming aid for the vetty visit. In the meantime, we'll start sending calming vines right now.

Have a great night, Rachel!
 
Re: 3/10 Chyna AMPS 143 +1.75 126 +6.75 59 +7.5 74

I'm sorry I don't have any advice for you on calming solutions for the vet visit. I do hope all goes well, though. Maybe Chyna will just decide to be a mellow cat for the day! :-D

Such pretty numbers today - I'm trying to convince Jersey to learn a lesson from Chyna. Keep it up, Chyna - you were a good role model today!
 
Re: 3/10 Chyna PMPS 87 +2 64 +3 97

Thanks for visiting, Rhiannon, Amy, and Shelly :-D . And this is with a reduced shot tonight, and a partial fur shot last night and a reduced shot AM yesterday for the hour early shot...I know she hasn't technically earned the reducie but she seems to be angling for one, and I don't know how low she went today. I know I've tried this dose before...maybe I should try 3.75u...ugh I may just be stupid doing this. I just need to work and keep her safe.

I think I may have overdone the "drop" of syrup in her LC at +2...it came out as a big drop. I'm trying to experiment with syrup so I don't have to use the possible allergy inducing HC fuds...next time I'll try half that drop ohmygod_smile . Oh well, we still have a lot of hours left in the night...

I did find and buy a thundershirt and tried to put it on Chyna...it seems a bit big in spots but snug in others. I bought the large, for cats over 13lbs...the medium is for 7-13lbs it says. I'll have to measure her if I can :? . They had it behind the tills facing the staff door! Who would look over there? I didn't even know there was a display there. So I'm glad I asked, as when I phoned they said it was in the grooming section...it was not :lol:
 
Re: 3/10 Chyna PMPS 87 +2 64 +3 97

What a lovely green night for Miss Chyna!!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Shasta was sporting the calm collar for a while...did absolutely nothing for her when it came to the vetty place. She was a feral as they come the moment we got in the exam room. However, every cat is different and many people said that it totally helped their cat. Not much difference with mine. If you do decide to buy one (for future reference), shop around. My original vet charged +$20 and online through Amazon, you can find it for ~$13 (you have to watch because the price does fluctuate.) Good luck with finding something that works. I always offer to lay on Shasta, but the vet never thinks that will work. :shock: :oops: :lol:
 
Re: 3/10 Chyna PMPS 87 +2 64 +3 97

WOW!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Chyna's really surfing nicely. Good luck on the dosing decision. You can always take her back up if a reduction doesn't work. You tried this dose before, but she's spent a lot of healing time in green since then. She's such a good girl eating the fuds to make sure she's up and safe. Maybe put the syrup in a dropper or smaller container so you get a smaller drop? The hole in syrup bottles is huge! :o

Did you find any Rescue Remedy? Just wondering if that plus the thunder shirt would do it.

Have a great evening - paws crossed for a flat cat.
 
Re: 3/10 Chyna PMPS 87 +2 64 +3 97

Hi Rachel!!
Wow! Nice green cycle!!!

I use regular human Rescue Remedy for Lucy and Ginger, but I don't put it in their water.
I put a couple of drops on my finger, and rub in on the inside of their ears. (I think I got this from Marje....)
I also put about 5 drops in a spray bottle filled with about 100ml of water, and spray above them. (I got this method from Lucy's reiki practioner.)
I rubbed RR in their ears when they did a mini-boarding last year (they were stripping the bathtub coating causing some fumes in the apartment), and I thought it worked......
 
Re: 3/10 Chyna PMPS 87 +2 64 +3 97

Oopsie, I guess I overdid it with the syrup...or we're bouncing...or both! I'm ok with blue, I'd like to sleep tonight :oops:

Thanks for visiting Mariko, Deborah and Wendy!

Unfortunately there is no rescue remedy to be found in my city, that I know of. SO thundershirt and carry along nanner it is? I did find feliway spray but the shirt and that is expensive and I am broke...she didn't like the shirt though. Meowed and stood very stiff. It made me laugh even though that is mean :shock: :lol: . She's never liked being squished so I don't know if this will work, I'll try it on again tomorrow. Otherwise it may be me running out to buy Feliway! Wendy, good idea on the dropper!
 
Re: 3/10 Chyna PMPS 87 +2 64 +3 97 +4.5 121

Really? No RR? Not even the regular one?
Do you have Whole Foods in your area?
Or any health store?
 
Re: 3/10 Chyna PMPS 87 +2 64 +3 97 +4.5 121

Hi Mariko:) I live in a small town, No whole foods, and we only have two health food/vitamins stores...neither of which have heard of it :sad: . I haven't had time to shop around town at normal stores...I did find it online but it won't make it here by tomorrow, lol. But as soon as I have a credit card to use when I've made a payment on one, I will order it...
 
Re: 3/10 Chyna PMPS 87 +2 64 +3 97 +4.5 121

I just googled "rescue remedy <name of your town>" and got a hit at the Health Hut at Prairie Mall. Worth giving them a call. ;-) Sometimes called Bach Flower Remedies. For future reference, also available at Amazon.ca for the pet version.
 
Re: 3/10 Chyna PMPS 87 +2 64 +3 97 +4.5 121

OK in that case, maybe you can go to the appointment a little early, and while waiting, give some good slow rubbing on her forehead with your finger, little above between her eyes.
There's a calming acu-point there!!!
 
Re: 3/10 Chyna PMPS 87 +2 64 +3 97 +4.5 121

Thanks Wendy...That's one of the ones I called and the girl said she'd never heard of it :evil: . Maybe she knows it as the flower name. They don't open till 9 and close at 6 though...I'd have to hustle to get there and home after work by shot time if I go to double check, I wish it was the one near my work instead of the mall. Darn job! Can you use the one with alcohol in diabetic/kidney cats? I found it on amazon.ca and on iherb.ca but neither take paypal, just credit cards and mine are maxed :o

Thanks Mariko, I do some nice ear and face rubs...but the minute the vet or tech walks in she starts growling :? . I can try the forehead...and the nanner :lol:
 
Re: 3/10 Chyna PMPS 87 +2 64 +3 97 +4.5 121

If you take Mariko's suggestion and put the drops in the ear and do the misting, you won't have to worry about the alcohol. I have the pet friendly one and just put a couple drops on food. The Bach Flower Remedy/aka Rescue Remedy is all over one of the recent newsletters from the Health Hut. Maybe the person you talked to is related to the staff at Petsmart. :roll:
 
Re: 3/10 Chyna PMPS 87 +2 64 +3 97 +4.5 121

I use the alcohol one for Lucy (also FD and CKD), and it's okay because I rub in inside her ear, then she can't lick it.

She gets a needle on her forehead first when she's not relaxed for an acupuncture session.
It's about where the unicorn horn grows.
Acupuressure should have the same/similar effect as acupuncture, so I think some pressure on the forehead might be good.....
Just a thought.... and it's free!
 
Re: 3/10 Chyna PMPS 87 +2 64 +3 97 +4.5 121

Seriously? I don't know why I bother phoning. Same with drive throughs, they always screw my order up and I know I should go in to get it in person!...I'll just go there. I can't believe I didn't google my own town for it ohmygod_smile. Stupid thing is, I went in person to the other health store and they had no clue (then called their "sister" one downtown and they didn't know either). So I phoned the different company one in the mall...
 
Re: 3/10 Chyna PMPS 87 +2 64 +3 97 +4.5 121

Yes, I think right before the vet visit is good.
I usually rub it right before I leave home or right after I arrive at the vet.
Something like 20 - 30 minutes before the actual appointment time.
 
So is it ok if a south of your border friend peeks in here? :lol: :lol: :lol:

What a day for Chyna!! I hope she will let you get some sleep tonight, Rachel. She has really taken off once you found that fitting dose. Woo hoooo!!!

Glad you found the thunderbird. I was going to suggest a harness :roll: Good luck with the pending vet visit.
 
How nice of Chyna to come up for you so you can go to bed. :-D I-)

She's going to be really confused by all the rubbing and spraying and the shirt, and dazed from the nip in the nanner, so maybe she'll forget to growl? :lol:

I'm looking forward to seeing your after-visit report, as much for what the vet says as for how Chyna does and if the shirt works!

Sending good vetty and calming vines.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top