3/10 Bagheera's Readings

Status
Not open for further replies.

bagheerathediabeticcat

Member Since 2013
So, I just endured my last stick of the day. I am not happy with my human, but if it makes me better, I will forgive him.

Over the past few days, we've had the pre-dosing readings, and readings at the 3, 4, 5, 6, 8 and 11 hour mark. Many of you were worried that my blood sugar was dropping dangerously low with the 5.5 unit dosing. Is that still a concern given with these new data points?

What is also fascinating to my human is that my blood sugar actually went UP after the last dosing at the three hour mark, and that's after several days of me consistently receiving 5.5 units. Is this normal for cats like me, or is this something that is different?

Activity wise, I've been the same happy, healthy cat that I normally am. Jacey and I chased each other around this afternoon, and now I'm just chilling while my human types this. I am keeping an eye on him to make sure he doesn't do anything wrong. I will bite him and draw blood if he does, because he's done that to me too many times today!
 
Good job on the testing and the spreadsheet. :thumbup

We are starting to piece it all together.

bagheerathediabeticcat said:
...Many of you were worried that my blood sugar was dropping dangerously low with the 5.5 unit dosing. Is that still a concern given with these new data points?
Yes it may be. We have no way of knowing yet since it appears (just as Gayle predicted) he may be going below 100 and then bouncing.That is actually good news.

Everything is looking normal so far. I agree with Jill (and everyone on this board) that you need to reduce the dose to 2.0 units in the morning, then keep shooting 2.0U for 3 days or until further notice. You will need to get a ketone test soon, but we can go over that tomorrow.

Keep up the testing until we can get more data on the spreadsheet. Come here every day to report the numbers for discussion, and we will get this figured out.

And just for tomorrow (Monday) leave out the normal amount of dry food while you are not home. We will reduce, remove the dry food at a later time.
 
bagheerathediabeticcat said:
Over the past few days, we've had the pre-dosing readings, and readings at the 3, 4, 5, 6, 8 and 11 hour mark. Many of you were worried that my blood sugar was dropping dangerously low with the 5.5 unit dosing. Is that still a concern given with these new data points?

What is also fascinating to my human is that my blood sugar actually went UP after the last dosing at the three hour mark, and that's after several days of me consistently receiving 5.5 units. Is this normal for cats like me, or is this something that is different?

I know with Lantus that it can take a few cycles for the depot to build. Since you're just at the 6th cycle and you're on a fairly high dose, I would personally wait a little longer, but someone else who knows Levemir and dosing better than I should come along soon to confirm or advise otherwise. I do know it had been suggested for you to start over at 2u, though. <-ETA: Dale 'n' Chip still agree that the dose should be lowered to 2u. :thumbup

From the depot page:
How long does it take to fill or empty the depot?

Again, from Boulder Medical Center:

Size of subcutaneous depot: The variability in absorption is increased and net absorption is decreased with increasing size (number of units) injected.


Practical experience on FDMB shows that as a generalization, the depot can affect up to 6 cycles. The time tends to be less when a cat is on a smaller dose, and more when a cat is on a larger dose. Other factors can apply as well, but using the generalization of 6 cycles is a good starting point until you have learned your particular cat's patterns.

You might also be seeing the numbers go up because the depot is still filling up. I found it easiest for me to think of the depot in terms of money. Say your bank makes some weird rules and only allows you to pull out $20 a day as long as you have $50 in the bank. If you have less than $50, you can only pull out $10. So, you start depositing $20 a day into your account and withdrawing $10 a day. After 5 days, you've accumulated $50 and can pull out $20 a day now, the amount you really need. But for every $20 you pull out, you have to put $20 back in, otherwise you'll be under $50 and back to only a $10 withdrawal limit a day again. Hopefully that didn't confuse you more. @-) :?

It could also be from the Levemir curve (he could have still dropped lower after his +6) and you're seeing him rising (or bouncing :? ) from his AMS nadir and he just hasn't gotten to his PMS onset yet. :?:
 
KPassa said:
It could also be from the Levemir curve (he could have still dropped lower after his +6) and you're seeing him rising (or bouncing :? ) from his AMS nadir and he just hasn't gotten to his PMS onset yet. :?:
This dose is leftover from a sliding scale which you can read about in the long thread in heath and/or Bagheera's into condo

To get on protocol he is going need to do a reboot to 2.0U.
 
kay: to bring you up to speed...
the 3/10 PM cycle is the 10th consecutive cycle on 5.5 units.

bagheerathediabeticcat said:
Over the past few days, we've had the pre-dosing readings, and readings at the 3, 4, 5, 6, 8 and 11 hour mark. Many of you were worried that my blood sugar was dropping dangerously low with the 5.5 unit dosing. Is that still a concern given with these new data points?
yes, the concern is very much there because we still don't know how low the current dose is taking him.

given lev nadirs are generally/often seen later in the cycle (between +8 and +10) how low did bagheera actually drop today before numbers began to rise again? unfortunately, you missed a golden opportunity to find out just how low 5.5 units is taking bagheera by not getting spot checks at +8 and +10 as suggested in your last thread. otoh, "if" 121(AT) was the extent of the drop... it's possible bagheera is a kitty who requires higher doses of insulin than most other kitties. spot checks taken after AM+6 and before PMPS would have supplied more pieces to the puzzle.

fyi: a kitty does not have to exhibit hypo systems to have dropped into dangerously low bg numbers.

bagheerathediabeticcat said:
What is also fascinating to my human is that my blood sugar actually went UP after the last dosing at the three hour mark, and that's after several days of me consistently receiving 5.5 units. Is this normal for cats like me, or is this something that is different?
numbers rising after a drop to numbers lower than kitty's body is accustomed is normal and to be expected at this stage of bagheera's sugar dance. we call it a bounce.
edited to add: generally it can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear.

bagheerathediabeticcat said:
Activity wise, I've been the same happy, healthy cat that I normally am. Jacey and I chased each other around this afternoon, and now I'm just chilling while my human types this. I am keeping an eye on him to make sure he doesn't do anything wrong. I will bite him and draw blood if he does, because he's done that to me too many times today!
it's always good to read about our kitties acting happy and healthy! :mrgreen:
 
Let me reword that I believe that is what *should* be done.

I don't believe he has seen those posts since he was instructed to start a new thread.
 
My human is leery about dropping down to such a low dose. That dose correlates with blood sugar levels that are normal according to the dosing chart he has received from the vet.

I appreciate the concern you guys have for me crashing and getting dangerously low, but this dosing regimen has been used since August. Even now we've only seen one normal blood sugar reading, and that was close to where my nadir would be. I have been getting 5.5 units for about a week now so there is some consistency established. Since consistency of dosing is critical, shouldn't we keep this?

Can you make this work with the higher dosing that I'm currently on? If so, then we should move forward. If not, then I will walk away and go play with my human and stop bothering you nice humans.
 
bagheerathediabeticcat said:
Even now we've only seen one normal blood sugar reading, and that was close to where my nadir would be. I have been getting 5.5 units for about a week now so there is some consistency established. Since consistency of dosing is critical, shouldn't we keep this?

I think the issue is that without more tests, we don't truly know yet where Bagheera's nadir is. Lantus generally has a nadir around +6, however Levemir's nadir is much later (I believe around +8 to +10). Even then, our cats like to keep us on our toes and they don't exactly follow the rules. ECID and some nadirs might fall earlier or later in a cycle, or even move from time to time. A perfect example would be Michelangelo's nadir from last night that happened at his +2! So, until we can find Bagheera's nadir over a few cycles, we don't really know how this dose is affecting him.

At the very least, we can suspect that if he hit 121 at his +6, he still had at least 2 more hours till nadir with the Levemir and so was probably even lower. Here's some more math to help explain this: he dropped from his AMS to his +6 yesterday by 175 points, or approximately 29 points an hour. So, if he was at 121 at his +6 and hypothetically he had a regular Levemir nadir at +8, that means he could have potentially been at 63 on an AlphaTrak, which is BELOW 70, the number you should start worrying about a hypo occurring at. If his nadir was even later, he could have dropped even further. Let's say he didn't drop any further; instead his liver panicked and released glucagon to counteract all that extra insulin and saving Bagheera from a hypo. What happens next is a bounce, so you see high numbers and fluctuations, like you've already been seeing.

The safest option is to potentially allow for slightly higher numbers at first as you slowly increase the dose over time to make sure you don't skip over a good dose and to make sure the kitty is able to handle each increase without dropping too low and bouncing back way too high. Eventually, you end up at the right dose and it doesn't matter how long it took you to get there because once he's there, he's healthy and happy and alive.

Choosing to start high, on the other hand, means that you're risking an immediate hypo event at any time. You've been lucky so far that Bagheera has had no known problems on this dose since August, but the bottom line is that it only takes ONE TIME for a cat to crash. There is is a saying around here that goes: "better high for a day than low for a minute." Basically, hypos kill immediately. No takebacks. Hyperglycemia/diabetes, on the other hand, can be left completely untreated for months and months and the cat can not only recover, but go into remission. It's always easier to put more insulin in (i.e. increase the dose) than it is to take it back out (i.e. try reversing a 36-hour hypo event or even death).

I think a lot of people's concern is that they're not willing to take that hypo gamble with Bagheera's life without the data to back it up. And even though he's been seemingly fine so far on such a high dose, if you're transitioning him entirely off dry food, this can cause BG to drop by 100 points or more, which is another reason why it's been so strongly suggested for you to reboot and reduce to 2u.

bagheerathediabeticcat said:
Can you make this work with the higher dosing that I'm currently on?

To revisit your earlier post, you had a decision to make: either maintain the 5.5 dose with more frequent testing (to find the nadir) or start at a lower dose (2u is what was suggested) that would allow you to continue with minimal testing three to four times a day and work your way up as needed to the appropriate dose. I'm going to re-paste Libby and Lucy's quote here because they summed it up nicely:

Libby and Lucy said:
Bagheera is your cat. You hold the syringe and you are the only one who can decide what dose to give.

So..... You need to make a decision. Do you want to maintain the high dose of 5.5 units, or do you want to hold the amount of testing down to just a few tests each day?

You can start over at a lower dose, test 3-4 times a day, and adjust the dose depending on what those numbers show. Or you can keep the high dose and test a LOT more. If you choose#2, then you need to be committed to doing whatever it takes to keep Bagheera safe.

We have had people who choose this route, but I will tell you that it is quite a bit more stressful to start at a high dose and work down than it is to start at a low dose and work up. It is stressful because you don't know for sure that your cat is safe from hypo, so if he is running low then you will have to stay up all night or call in sick to work or whatever until he is safe. I don't mean this might happen, I mean it will happen.

If you start low and work up to a good dose methodically, you know your cat is not over dose and you don't have to worry so much about leaving the house or falling asleep. As I said, though, it is your choice.

Edited to add: I want to add that generally the people who would choose the more aggressive "start high" approach are people who have enough experience to fully understand risks, as well as knowing what they will have to do when they see low numbers that they can't control. It's not something we recommend to people who post for advice.

So, as long as you're willing to do the work, there are plenty of people willing to help you out. Everyone here only wishes to help Bagheera not only get regulated but also hopefully into remission. With all the accumulated knowledge from people living and breathing feline diabetes 24x7x365, I TRUST THEM WITH MY CAT'S LIFE! :YMHUG: I have seen the evidence day in and day out on here. They know what doesn't work and they know what works best in the safest way. :thumbup

In the end, it is up to you since you are the one giving the shot.
 
So my human thinks we should get more data points. He won't mess with my food. It didn't work anyway, because I left the wet food alone and wet right to the dry this morning. So we'll continue to do the dosing prescribed by the vet for a few more days until we get a lot of data points and we can figure out what is going on better.

Once we get more data points, will you feel better about the dosing levels?

We have come a long way from where I was. If you look at this PDF, you can see that I used to have blood sugar readings in the 600s or 700s. So we have made a lot of progress and my human does not want to give that up. What I need is help getting over the plateau I have hit.

If not, he has learned something anyway. Getting multiple data points every day so he can see what my blood sugar is doing is useful, regardless of whether we go any further.
 
Again, several points for your consideration:

  • There is no "normal" insulin dose. The best dose is what works for your cat and every cat is different. If you think about the statement,
    your vet said:
    That dose correlates with blood sugar levels that are normal according to the dosing chart he has received from the vet.
    it doesn't make sense. If your cat was in normal BG levels, your cat wouldn't need insulin. There are cats here who are on 0.1u dose that keeps them in a below 100 range and cats that are on 5u that keeps them in the same range. It just depends on what your cat needs and working up to a dose in a systematic way is crucial.
  • You vet is telling you to use Lev in the same manner as you dose Prozinc. This is not how Lev is dosed. You do not adjust the dose based on the pre-shot numbers. Dose increases and decreases are predicated on the lowest point in the cycle. If your vet is instructing you to dose based on the pre-shot numbers, your vet is not familiar with how a depot-type insulin is best employed.
  • If you do not work to transition your cat to a species appropriate, low carb, canned food diet, your food and insulin are working at cross purposes.The dry food will only act to drive BG numbers up.

You've been provided with a number of resources (e.g., the sticky notes above, the journal article that describes the Tight Regulation Protocol and the research behind it, links to a respected vet's site on feline nutrition) that go into great deal of detail and that are crucial to feline diabetes management in general and the use of Lev in particular. I don't think the question is whether we're willing to help you. I think the question is whether you are willing to listen and accept our help.
 
My human is not willing to drop the dose, because he doesn't want to see those 600/700 numbers again. He is worried that if he does that, that is what he will see.

He will get more data points. If he comes back in a week or so and shows you a whole bunch of data points where there is no risk of me crashing, hopefully you will help him.

In the meantime, head bonks and purrs for your willingness to help. You are just asking him to do something he's not willing to do. He loves me too much to see my blood sugar skyrocket like he is sure it will if he cuts back to two units per injection.
 
bagheerathediabeticcat said:
So my human thinks we should get more data points. He won't mess with my food. It didn't work anyway, because I left the wet food alone and wet right to the dry this morning. So we'll continue to do the dosing prescribed by the vet for a few more days until we get a lot of data points and we can figure out what is going on better.

Don't worry; Bagheera (and Jacey) will eventually come around to wet food. If someone hasn't already shared it with you, here's a link for help transitioning finicky cats from dry to wet. Another saying around here is that it's "more of a marathon than a sprint." ECID and changes don't happen overnight, or even over a couple of weeks. This is when I introduce you to patience pants. :-D

patience%2Bpants%2Bsm.jpg

bagheerathediabeticcat said:
Once we get more data points, will you feel better about the dosing levels?

We have come a long way from where I was. If you look at this PDF, you can see that I used to have blood sugar readings in the 600s or 700s. So we have made a lot of progress and my human does not want to give that up. What I need is help getting over the plateau I have hit.

You have come a long way from where you started. :thumbup Now, it's just a matter of making your way past the Plateau of Oscillating Numbers and into more stable BGs. And that's what this board is for, so you're already halfway there. Getting more data points will make everyone feel better about the dosing levels. Bagheera might show that the fluctuating numbers that caused you to seek help in the first place are because 5.5u is too low and he needs more or he may end up showing that these fluctuations are occurring because the dose is too high. I tend to think it's most likely the latter because most cats (once they're completely off dry food) don't usually require more than a unit or two, unless they have an underlying condition (like IAA or Acro). ECID, of course, but there's no way of knowing what dose Bagheera might really need without that data. ;-)
 
bagheerathediabeticcat said:
My human is not willing to drop the dose, because he doesn't want to see those 600/700 numbers again. He is worried that if he does that, that is what he will see.

He will get more data points. If he comes back in a week or so and shows you a whole bunch of data points where there is no risk of me crashing, hopefully you will help him.

In the meantime, head bonks and purrs for your willingness to help. You are just asking him to do something he's not willing to do. He loves me too much to see my blood sugar skyrocket like he is sure it will if he cuts back to two units per injection.

Fear of seeing high numbers again is understandable, however, Bagheera is already seeing high numbers. Anything over 240 on a human meter (260 on an AlphaTrak?) is above the renal threshold for cats, so whether it's 297 or 597, it's still too high. Here is where I ask if you're testing for ketones yet.

I wish I could find it now, but at one point, someone told me: "Sometimes you have to lower the dose to lower the numbers." What this means is that at too high a dose, all you'll ever see is the occasional good number book-ended by highs.

  • So, to help you get you over your calculiaphobia, here's what you might see if you lower the dose:
  • If the new dose just happens to be perfect (I doubt it), after a few days, you'll see consistent greens and blues and eventually, you'll work your way up into seeing mostly greens.
  • If the new dose is still too high, you'll see a similar pattern to what you're seeing now: lots of high numbers with intermittent low numbers followed by lots more high numbers. Most importantly, you'll see numbers under 70 on an AlphaTrak, which requires an immediate dose reduction at the next shot.
  • If the new dose is too low, you'll see either a similar pattern to what you're seeing now or you might see some highs with minimal to no sharp drops into blues or greens or sharp rises. After a few days of this, you simply increase to the next dosage and see if that fits. Rinse and repeat. Eventually, you'll hit the right dose, at which time, refer back to the first point.
Again, the ECID disclaimer is necessary because what would this world be if we weren't all so unique? :lol:

As you can see, both too high and too low of a dose cause the same symptoms. It's easier and safer to start at 0 (or 2) and count up than it is to start at 5.5 and guess whether you need to count up or count down from there. If you still feel the need to keep him at 5.5u, at the very least, for Bagheera's safety, please make sure to lower his dose the first time you get a number under 70!
 
Under 70 might well be do not shoot. ;-)

KPassa said:
Another saying around here is that it's "more of a marathon than a sprint." ECID and changes don't happen overnight, or even over a couple of weeks. This is when I introduce you to patience pants. :-D
I can just see it now (maybe you will too)

Jacey, Bagheera, and their human clad in matching blue patience pants (via nanny cam) doing yoga streaming live on facebook . \M/
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top