3/10 Baby G AMPS 180 +1 239 +5 210 PMPS 314 +3 255 +6 168 +7 148 +8 137 +9 113 +10 114

Stay with 3U. She is still comfortably over the normal levels. I presume you can come back and get a test at lunch?
How soon after the shot do you have to leave?
 
Yes, I can check at lunch, and can get a +1 before I leave. I don't think I've ever shot a full dose on an AMPS lower than 200, but you guys clearly know a lot more than I do based on how she's been on the 3 when I didn't think the 3 would do anything, so I will try it.
 
Uh oh shes just thrown up 3 super tiny piles of liquid. Still go ahead? I'm slow drawing the dose so I'll see if she eats before I inject.
 
Uh oh shes just thrown up 3 super tiny piles of liquid. Still go ahead? I'm slow drawing the dose so I'll see if she eats before I inject.
Long gaps between meals can cause stomach acid which leads to foamy vomit. Does she have food available after you go to bed?
 
She just ate. :) yep, food always out, but since on this new food I haven't seen her pigging out like before. Maybe because it's higher protein or she's not feeling her best. But she does like it though.
 
Previous

Good morning!

Last night surprised me, and all on the 3 units. Now we've got a blue AMPS. What do you all think I should give?

Nice numbers last night!!

She's on her way!

Alot of cats do the early morning empty stomach puke, Sly included. Now I get up and give him a teaspoon of kibbles at around +6 ish just to make sure he has a little in his belly, and it seems to work, no pukies.
 
She didn't eat any of the dry while I was gone, and at lunch time it wasn't until I put down a different flavor of wet food that she even ate that. Still hiding too. Hope she gets out of this funk.
 
I just checked a +3 and she's already looking better. :)

My part time gig is one day every other weekend. I'm off tomorrow but go in Sunday. I plan to be home all day tomorrow with her, save a quick grocery run in the morning.
 
The one thing though about the part time job is it's definitely too far to make a run home for lunch. They don't give us enough time. Even my primary job doesn't give a long enough lunch either, but thankfully they allow me to combine my breaks and lunch together so I can do it, if need be, though I don't want to push it too much with them either. Just something to keep in mind with any potential dose changes so I can monitor appropriately.
 
No high carb. After +8 I got her to eat Dr. Elseys out of my hand because not having the best initiative to eat on her own. Looking to get a test now to see how that helped.
 
Still going down. A few hours ago tonight I heard her stomach making noises but she hasn't eaten her wet food and doesn't have the best appetite in general. Going to offer her some dry now to see if she'll eat from my hand again.
 
She won't eat even the fish pate she likes?
Funny you said that because after opening various other flavors to no avail, I just resorted to the salmon again and she's chowing down now. Out of curiosity, I offered (but wasn't going to let her actually take it) her DM to see if she just didn't want the Elseys but would take dry otherwise, but she wouldn't eat that either. Her appetite is usually really good. Seems like since trying to get her numbers better and change her diet, that she doesn't eat, drink, or go potty as much as before. I dont know how much of this is good or bad. She still hides too.
 
Thinking about it, when I did see her eating dry food on her own, that's when her numbers were higher this cycle. Maybe she feels better higher. Hoping no pancreatitis going on.
 
If her AMPS is a low blue like that day I skipped, I won't skip because I saw how that worked out, but I'm not going to feel comfortable giving 3. Thinking half. Just trying to prepare and have a game plan for what I may be seeing soon.
 
She might not be as ravenously hungry as she was in higher numbers. It will also take her a little time to get used to lower numbers.

Since you are home tomorrow and can monitor her, I think you can give her the full dose. She has not earned a reduction. It will be a good opportunity to see how she responds when you shoot a lower preshot and whether she needs more insulin or less. Since you are home, you want to make the most of it.
 
I kind of feel like it's getting to a breaking or tipping point for me personally. Don't get me wrong; I love my cat like crazy and she's my everything. And that's why I can't keep going like this, worrying and testing and upping and dropping. She doesn't seem happy by it either. It's affecting work and sleep. I've had barely any sleep tonight. No quality of life obsessing with these numbers. I don't know and never did know how anyone does it. I personally don't want to get to a reduction number; thats too scary; my nerves can't do it; and I'm at least an hour away from any emergency vet. I'm happy with a blue nadir here and there but no greens ever. I need a dose I can give to keep her content and doing good and where I can comfortably sleep at night and leave her when I go to work. Do a preshot test and a random mid cycle test here and there to ensure all's still going well and fine tune the dose a smidge here or there as needed. I feel like we're just going to have to accept a little "highness" and that I'm not going to get her perfect. I was pretty content with how she was in January until I overslept and messed up by over compensating with a low dose for too long. She had blue nadirs and yellow preshots, was eating great and acting normal. The main thing I look at is her weight... if she's gaining or/and maintaining. Just weighed her now because I'm concerned with her lack of appetite. She's 17.9 vs 18.1 on March 1. Not a big drop by any means, but I'm definitely watching that, and sure she's overweight and could probably afford a little healthy weight loss anyway. These are just my thoughts on things thus far. This was why when I used to be on the board last year, I was off for a while because I just can't keep up. It's terribly unhealthy for me and I'm not a selfish person by any means. This is extremely exhausting. :(
 
I understand. It might be a little crazy till we get to a good dose after the food change and that is only a matter of a few days. Once she is at a good dose you can go back to doing what you were doing all these years which is preshot tests and the occasional spot check/curve. If you can just hang on for a few days, you will see the results of the food change and better numbers overall. Her numbers in the last 3-4 days have been better than they have been in years. Do you remember how stressed you were just a month back about how high her numbers are?
 
Back
Top