3/10 AMPS Pedro 109

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy and Pedro

Active Member
yesterday viewtopic.php?f=9&t=8622

Pedro is fine. i unexpectedly have to go away today and leave him at W/ cat boarder. she is very good but will probably not be able to do checks other than PS. And i will have to figure out the time chnage too -forgot abt it

He has been pretty steady although last night he did hit 58 @ +3.5. I have been doing a fat .75 and wonder if i should reduce him for the few days he is at the boarders. A fat .5?
I leave in a couple of hours so will check back- appreciate any suggestions
 
Re: 3/10 AMPS Pedro 109 have question need answer ASAP

I think, if it was me, I'd do the f5, just to be on the safe side, especially if no spot checks will be able to be done. I know you hate to do that, especially since Pedro is doing so well.
However, if Pedro can have foods to eat between ps in case he went low, you may not have to reduce....I think this may be one of those whatever makes you feel better type of thing.
 
Re: 3/10 AMPS Pedro 109 have question need answer ASAP

Amy, how long will you be gone?
I think I would reduce the dose especially without spot checks.
Leave a syringe with colored water or mark tape around the syringe to show the exact dose you want them to shoot.
 
Re: 3/10 AMPS Pedro 109 have question need answer ASAP

As long as your petsitter can shoot a fat dose, a fat .50 sounds good. I'd also leave a "no shot" number.
 
Re: 3/10 AMPS Pedro 109 have question need answer ASAP

Thanks for replying
i will probably be away thru Sat afternoon so I will just do the time change staring Sat. night

i was going to pre-fill syringes. that Okay? Whatt would you suggest for a no shot number? I have shot a 71 but different to ask this of the boarding place. They will have my phone number
 
Re: 3/10 AMPS Pedro 109 have question need answer ASAP

I would not prefill syringes unless you have absolutely no other choice. Lev may be better able to handle prefilling than Lantus, I don't know, but most likely the insulin will be completely toasted by the time he gets it. Better to pick an easy-to-measure dose and give them a sample syringe, or mark the syringes (teach them how to draw the insulin out of the cartridge correctly). I would go with 0.5 units since there is a line to measure to.

A no shot number is probably a good idea, maybe around 120? What do you think?
 
Re: 3/10 AMPS Pedro 109 have question need answer ASAP

Pedro will get his good numbers back once you get back so don't worry about that part, right? I agree with Libby about the no shot number....around 120. He will be fine....do what makes you feel comfortable cause all that you said will be good as far as he is concerned, ya know? Conservative stuff while you are gone. Hope your trip goes ok...will miss you around here...but Pedro will be ok with a lessened dose. (and we all know he loves the sound of that "no testing except for PS...' :lol: )
(I kinda agree that pre-filling is not a good idea though...) Hurry back Amy!!
 
Re: 3/10 AMPS Pedro 109 have question need answer ASAP

Safer to lower dose, as you suggested, particularly if he decides he's not hungry while boarding. I like the idea of a no-shot number, too, just in case.

For the time change - whatever works for you. The goal is to still keep your dosing fairly close to 12 hours apart. If it helps, you can continue an adjustment after the clocks have changed, it doesn't have to all happen before. That will give you a bit of a buffer.

I hope your trip goes well.
 
Re: 3/10 AMPS Pedro 109 have question need answer ASAP

I vote for lower dose--Better to be safe!--
I use this with my DPS--Take duct tape,cut it to a small strip & tape it around the syringe at the mark where you want them to draw the insulin to--This has worked, and my DPS is a vet tech, so she's pretty good--Also you could take a dark liquid in syringe & draw to the mark--The tape however, is not bad alternative--Just make sure it is drawn where the lines are & check when you wrap it around ,that tape is absolutely where you want the insulin drawn to..Safe trip for you & Pedro!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top