3/10/2014 Georgie AMPS 427

Status
Not open for further replies.
Really nice pmps but you're going to want to get several p.m. tests to make sure he doesn't nose dive on you again.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Just feed him up like you did the other night then I would drop him back to either .5 or 1u at max hold for a minimum of 3 days while testing like crazy.

He may have been started way too high in the beginning.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 3/10/2014 Georgie AMPS 427, PMPS 84, 2hours later 35!

Are these up and down numbers normal for cats just beginning treatment?
 
After reading a few articles on this site I'm thinking that maybe the fluctuation may have to do with switching to low carb friskies (from his purina dm food) and also his crazy adjustments in insulin this week.

Also from what I have read nadir is approximately six hours after his insulin shot? Is this correct?

To be on the safe side I will switch to 1 unit of insulin twice a day for several days if this is what you all recommend. I keep expecting to get consistent numbers and feel like I am failing. Deep breath.

Thanks for all your support.
 
Consistant is not going to happen for a while. Yes, drop to 1 unit. Test and observe lots. And strap on your patience pants, you are going to need them. Dont react to high numbers AT ALL. Pay attention to low numbers. And wait. At this point, what you are trying to do is "reboot" your cat. get him back to where he should have been before the vet suggested way too much insuilin.
 
Years ago, when my cat Max was first diagnosed and before he went into remission the first time, he was up to 4 units of PZI (different insulin than Lantus), then I read on this site about the importance of low carb wet food and switched Max. When I totally stopped the dry MD, it was almost like overnight that he went from almost 4 units to 1 unit and then to even less. Just like others have said, drop the dose and watch and test and breathe. It takes time for the cat to settle into #'s when starting insulin and it takes patience.
 
I just checked and he was at 35! What am I doing wrong?

Normally, the FDMB member advise against a person new to insulin treatment to shoot insulin at a double digit preshot. Folks usually start with a shoot/do not shoot line number of 180, and gradually move it down to 150, and maybe 130 as they gain experience and get valid historical BG numbers on how their cat is reacting to a dose at a certain preshot (being data ready).

There is a sticky at http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147 titled "Shooting and Handling Low Numbers" that you should read.

I agree with Mel's advice to drop the dose further.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top