3/1 Tiki - AMPS 74, +10 76, PMPS 87 Dosing Question???

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/1 Tiki - AMPS 74

that was his lowest amps in 13 days . . . we oughta be seeing some dose decreases in here before long! are you listening tiki? (just trying to get his attention!) :lol:

my understanding is the morning preshot is the last BG number to come down.

:-D
 
Re: 3/1 Tiki - AMPS 74

Tonya,

there is an option for reducing the dose without seeing numbers below 50. i wonder if it's time to see if Tiki can take another reduction and hold onto it. He's had 17 cycles on the .75 and is overall mostly green and in non-diabetic numbers (50-120). It comes from the Tilly Protocol

Phase 4: Reducing the dose

When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose. Alternatively, if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately! The reduction is done very slowly in a step-by-step manner (0.25 or 0.5 IU increments). At each newly reduced dose, try to make sure the cat is still stable in the normal range before reducing the dose further.

If the cat will not stay in the normal range after a reduction, immediately increase the dose again to the last good dose. Sometimes, a cat can even manage to keep its BGs low for a day or two, but then the BGs begin to rise again because the beta-cells haven't recovered enough yet. Try to go from 0.25 IU to a drop before stopping the insulin completely. Reducing the dose too quickly generally does not work: most cats do not go into remission with fast reductions.

What do you think about reducing him by .25u to a new dose of .5u and see if he can hold it?
 
Re: 3/1 Tiki - AMPS 74, +10 76, PMPS 87,

I've been wondering if this is "IT" for us as he hasn't moved in what seems like forever - altho we hung in there at 1.5 for a long time too.

So let's pose it out to the others.....should we reduce down to .5 or hang in there until he drops below 50.

Thoughts???
 
I would decrease per the protocol as Julie suggested. He's been at this dose long enough...I'd give him a chance to go lower and see what he can do :-D Good luck with the reduction.
 
good to hear you reduced it - part of my concern is that if you're not home to catch lots of very-mid-cycle numbers he could be below 50 and you might miss it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top