3/1 Musette Amps~103, +3~235, +6~209

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
Oh what a beautiful morning!!! I don't know if you ladies have any idea how happy seeing a blue number first thing in the morning makes me. flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat Up until today this has been such a struggle to get to this point with Musette, I'm just about dancing on air right now. It was so nice to roll over in bed and see her looking at me all bright eyed and wanting snuggles. Then to grab the meter and get that beautiful blue preshot number I just feel like dancing_cat

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 3/1 Musette Amps~103

Is today when you're taking her in to vet? I don't see how they can refuse to prescribe Lev after this!!

I am so happy that it's working so well for her. :RAHCAT
 
Re: 3/1 Musette Amps~103

Yep today is the day for her and Maxwell to go see the vetty bean and I'm with you I don't see how they can argue with success. :thumbup I honestly don't think Dr Rick or Dr Adrian will give me a hard time about it and I'm going to request that I see one of them when we go. The only one that I might have a hard time with is Dr. Tammy she is still pretty old school and her and I have butted heads alot in the past over both her bedside manner and acting like I have no clue what is going on with my animals. Both the other vets know me well enough to know that I do my research and both have commented that they wished every client was as informed about their animals in general as I am. To the point where Dr. Rick once commented that if he died he wanted to come back as a stray cat and show up on my doorstep because he knew he would be set for life. :lol:

I just love seeing Musette so happy and relaxed of course that will probably be over here in about an hour when I pack her and Maxwell up and take them to the vet's...lol but I'm sure they both will forgive me once we get back home again and they realize that mom isn't going to just dump them at the vet's and never see them again.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 3/1 Musette Amps~103

Wow. I wonder where she was overnight? You might be looking at dropping the dose back a bit already, but see how she does after a few days. I'm sure the vet visit and car ride will mess up the rest of today's numbers, so you will be waiting out a "re-settleing" period.

Hope all went well at the vet.
 
Re: 3/1 Musette Amps~103

Vet visit went awesome!!! Have script for Levemir flexpens sitting in my purse right now, in fact when I asked about it Dr Adrian, went "Oh thats a GREAT insulin for cats!" of course we already knew that ...lol.

Yeah she is not a happy girl right now, not only did they mess with her mouth to look at her teeth they also found ear mites and a massive yeast infection in her ears so she got drops in them for the mites and additional drops to start on Saturday for the infection. Tested her when we got home and we are up to 235 oh well expected her to shoot through the roof on the trip there. However, they both lucked out today because my vet is one of the best in town but only has 3 vets the soonest they can get them in for the dentals is JUNE 11th!!! So nobody had to have blood drawn today, that will happen when they go in for the dentals themselves since they have an in-house lab. And right now it looks like no-body is going to loose any teeth, both just need a real good cleaning.

Weight for Musette was 8lbs 6oz which is up from the mere 6lbs she was when I adopted her, which is just perfect for her.
Weight for Maxwell was 16 lbs 8 oz although the vet said he could probably stand to gain another 2 lbs without being overweight which isn't too shabby since he was only 10.5 when he got here a year ago.

But the best part in the world was what the dentals are going to cost....hope you all are sitting down.....$120 per cat that includes all blood work, pain meds, antibiotics, and extractions if any. And because they are both diabetics not only will one vet be doing the procedures, one of the other vets will be monitoring their vitals while they are under. Which is why it is going to take them so long to get them in. They also told me that I can stay with them until they go under and if I want I can watch while they work on them since they have a glass observation room because they are also a teaching clinic so I can be with them through everything. :-D Since they know me so well there they will even let me go sit with them while they are in recovery. So I will be the last person they see before they go to sleep and the first person they see when they wake up in recovery.

Hopefully that will make both of them feel better about having to go to the vet's again to have surgery I know it will me. I really hated the idea of having to drop them off, have them in cages in the back until they were ready for them and then have to wait to bring them home again. Just knowing I will be there with them until they are ready to come back home makes me feel so much better.

Poor little Musette she clung to me like white on rice today and kept burying her head in my chest I think she was really scared she was just going to be dumped off again. Maxwell of course he was walking around the exam room doing his best to charm everyone, but he has been there before and knows momma will always take him home again. But he seemed really worried about his buddy Musette he would jump up on the table and give her kisses. And she cried out once when they put the drops in her ears and he came flying across the room and growled at the tech that was putting in the drops, he didn't try to swat or bite but he let it be known that they weren't going to hurt his buddy while he was there. He is such a good big brother to her.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang.
 
You know for as shook up as she was at the vet's today those numbers are pretty darn good. If this would have been two weeks ago I would have gotten her home at +3 after that vet visit and I would have been looking at the very least High Yellows if not pinks/reds...at least she is staying below 250 under high stress...not too shabby. :-D

The other thing I learned about her today, is she travels really well...she was up in her carrier checking out the scenery on the trip to the clinic, she was happy and purring, until we got into the waiting room, then she started to get wide eyed and once we were in the exam room she was gonna hang on to mom for dear life...poor baby.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Aw, boy girl. She may never really get over being left, but you are doing all you can for her. I always hate having to leave them for any procedure. It's good your vets will let you stay with them.

Did she stick her head under your arm? When I caught Beau, he would not come out of the carrier - vet had to upend it and shake it to get him out, but once out, he wanted to hide his head under my arm. Then of course after I got him home, and for six months afterwards, he hid under my dining room table and would only come out when I put food down or was asleep. But at that vets office, I guess I was the only "safe" place he could find.
 
Yeah I had to unclip her carrier to get her out and then she got a death grip on my arm with front paws and buried her face in the crook of my arm at first and then shifted to burying it in my chest. she broke my heart, but Jon got to come home a day early so he got home tonight and it didn't take her long ans she was purring for him....she is barely speaking to me tonight however... :lol: "Daddy...Mommy took me to the BAD place today!"

And oh did her pmps show how stressed out she was today, she tested at 475 but was back down to 388 by +3 so hopefully by tomorrow she will beging to settle back down again. I went ahead and held the .75u for tonight.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette, & The Fur Gang
 
Oh she came down overnight alright....woke up to a 46!!! this morning Needless to say she isn't getting a shot this morning. And we will be reducing her dose tonight or later today if she gets high enough to dose.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Shot a .5u today at +2 since she was up to 128, hopefully that will keep her from taking off today, now if she was still on Lantus I would expect her to bounce skyhigh off that 46, now that she is on Lev I'm going to just have to watch and see what she does, since she doesn't seem to bounce as much off lower than normal for her numbers and she doesn't seem to food spike either, both really good things for her.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
I wonder about lev being gentler on the low numbers. We certainly see bounces on it from lows, but maybe not as high as on lantus? Or it could be a ECID thing too.

I was wondering when you increased to .75u if that was too soon - so keep that in mind. You might not have given the fat .5u enough settle time. A lot of lev ktties need long settle time - 5 to 7 days - on a dose.

But overall, it is so nice that she is feeling better, happier, and not spiking and bouncing all over.
 
So glad to hear Musette's visit went well. Gee, "great insulin for cats." Maybe the word's getting around.

Musette's experience will be one I will quote from in the future when people ask about Levemir. If that's OK with you? :-D I'm sure you'll be doing the same.
 
Vicky,

You are allowed to quote Musette's experience all you want, I know I will be. :-D There is just such a difference in her now that we have made the switch that she is like a completely different cat.

And it will make you all happy to hear that my vets have gone from prescribing NPH to Lantus and in the case of Dr Adrian there Levemir, he was telling that day that he actually perfers Lev over Lantus because it is so gentle and has a long duration normally than Lantus. The only thing he wasn't aware of until I was in there with Musette is that we use the pens for our sugarcats. He didn't realize that we could use syringes to draw the insulin out of the pens just like we would the vial, so he made notes to start writing the scripts for the pens. :-D

I guess when I took all the info into them on both Lantus and Levemir back when I first adopted Maxwell made an impression and they actually did read it.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Mel, excellent news about your vets "listening" to you after you provided info on the Ls. And I have to chuckle over you telling them you can use a syringe with the pen. Necessity is the mother of invention - and if the mother of a cat needs something, watch out!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top