3/1 larry AMPS 338 +2 1/2 271 + 5 1/2 404 +8 421 PMPS 312

Status
Not open for further replies.

IloveLarry

Member Since 2014
we hate the 300s! lantus get us out of here! huge air bubble today. tired of wasting insulin. idk whats up. there is not a drop of air in the vial that is visible and i am following all instructions verbatim. pulled up to 3U by accident instead of 2.5. bubble takes up almost half the area, so hoping that left the 1.5 we need. at 1.5 there was still a bubble so not sure if it was a full dose. so little control. cant reinject insulin, cant resinsert needle after expelling bubble. left with w/e we end up with or hae to throw away whole syringe and start over. curious if this is what most ppl do? maybe i shd ask in lantus land? but afraid they wd ovrwhelm with the how tos and questions as how i am doing it. i am doing exactly as the lady shows in video. i want his dose right and not to waste so much. how?
he freaked out abt the shot again. doesnt want food if it means a shot. tried clothespin trick.
need help abt bubble/getting enuf insulin, and not wasting so much.
happy saturday all. :)
 
Re: 3/1 larry AMPS 345

Good morning Pam and extra sweet Larry!

Oh those bubbles...ended up just throwing away a syringe with about a unit in it this morning because it completely REFUSED to expel that last big bubble. There's always a little bubble in it but that's from the air in the needle part that you can't get rid of by pushing the plunger hard. If I have a larger bubble, I hold syringe straight up and thump it good until the bubble leaves the bottom and moves to the top. I can usually then screw the syringe end and expel that one altho' a bit of insulin that's in the needle does come out...can't be helped. If it refuses to come out, I pull more AIR in to make bigger bubble, flick it all together at the top THEN expel until the bubble is gone. It just takes practice practice practice...I've given KT close to 2000 shots by now.

BIG HUGS!
 
Re: 3/1 larry AMPS 345

thx kt. yes i can get the bubble out, whats sad is the dose i may end up with.
thats what i was going to tell the person b4 u ....forgot her name......i thot i put it on the ss but maybe not.... i did a s, and an f, bc thats what was left after my bubble was gone, not intentionally. almost impossible to get dosage correct bc u cant seesaw, cant reinsert syringe, have to expell air. after all that, its just a miracle if u have what u set out for...1.5 for me. i have had to throw the whole thng away and start over when left with only 1U of course, but theres a lot of waste. dosing is vry difficult, u have no leeway.
 
Re: 3/1 larry AMPS 345 +2 1/2 277

yellow! but larry seems puny...idk. hes not playful and silly like he used to be back on N. he seems really hungry too. not sure whats happening.
lyresa! darnit, i answered the other person on that post to u and shes on another post. grrr so tired i thot u were responding to my other post. no energy to fix it. maybe she will see this :)
 
Re: 3/1 larry AMPS 338 +2 1/2 271 + 5 1/2 404

Don't forget that Mel said yesterday that you might want to increase the dose to 2u.
 
Re: 3/1 larry AMPS 338 +2 1/2 271 + 5 1/2 404

thats right, yes! i hope to tomorrow am, if every1 thinks its ok, still?
 
Re: 3/1 larry AMPS 338 +2 1/2 271 + 5 1/2 404

Yep, you're still having high, almost flat numbers. You'll want to monitor closely because it's a bigger jump than the .25u increase we normally recommend, but I think it should help fast-tack you to some better numbers more quickly. Plus, it'll be easier for you to dose more accurately than 1.75u. ;-)
 
Re: 3/1 larry AMPS 338 +2 1/2 271 + 5 1/2 404

YES dosing 1.75 as hard as lantus is makes me want to cry thinking abt it. nailbite_smile :sad: :roll:
oh my! not that i wdnt, but sheesh, i really wd need to take up drinking.

hey every1 chk out the old pic of young larry i put in community! thats my baby <3
 
Re: 3/1 larry AMPS 338 +2 1/2 271 + 5 1/2 404

Take him up to 2u tonight if you want he's not gonna go to low on you over night.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 3/1 larry AMPS 338 +2 1/2 271 + 5 1/2 404 +8 421

ok, thanks! :-D
yellow, and i hope blue....here we come.
 
Re: 3/1 larry AMPS 338 +2 1/2 271 + 5 1/2 404 +8 421

He's getting insulin, which is most important. It might not be enough just yet till we find the right dose, but even though his numbers don't seem really too much better, it is helping! Remember, he might have been diabetic for a long time before diagnosis. Treating it won't happen overnight. It takes time for his body to start healing. You're doing fine. Just keep working on it. Rome wasn't built in a day, but each step you're taking brings you closer to the ultimate goal: regulation and eventual remission (if possible).
 
Re: 3/1 larry AMPS 338 +2 1/2 271 + 5 1/2 404 +8 421 PMPS 31

gave what i think was a skinny 2u. after withdrawing abt 3.5u, abt half of it was a bubble. did the repressurizing earlier.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top