3/1 FRED AM=237(1);+3=147;+5=116

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathleen and Fred

Member Since 2009
Don't know what happened to my first post - probably didn't sent properly. As you can see, I shot 1u at AMPS since I'll be around to monitor more today. Hope it pays off. Trying to stay in that "pancreas healing" spot for a while.

I'm working on his numbers for February - trying to get an idea of his averages and cycles. Since I switched to good low-carb wet food late in the month, it may be hard to predict where he will go in March, but now I have more numbers to play with. He stays pretty much between 250-200 for most of the day. It's the AM +2 to +4 where his numbers shoot up for the most part. That's strange to me, since he just got his shot. The AMPS is closer to the other numbers.

Would this indicate that I need to shoot more in PM and less in AM to balance things? Can you do that?

Looking for a good feeding machine today -- guess I'll have to wait on that new garden bench!! :YMSIGH:
 
That dose seems to be working great for Fred! The numbers above are lovely and most definitely in the pancreas healing range. The more data you get, the more you will know what dose works best with what numbers. Keep up the great work!
 
Looks like the 1u is shaping up to give Fred a GREAT cycle this AM!

Kathleen and Fred said:
He stays pretty much between 250-200 for most of the day. It's the AM +2 to +4 where his numbers shoot up for the most part. That's strange to me, since he just got his shot. The AMPS is closer to the other numbers.

I don't see too many cycles where he's stuck in the 200-250's for the whole day. He does usually have lower nadir into the 100's. Fred does often rise after AMPS or PMPS and this is likely due to a combination of things...food increasing his BG, the last shot is wearing off, and the next shot hasn't kicked in yet. The more important thing is what his numbers are doing mid-cycle...around +5 - +7. My Eddie's numbers almost always rise through +2 and sometimes through +3. This is especially true if I have a lower pre-shot number. That just means that the last injection is still going when I shot, but it's worn off by the time the next one kicks in about 2-3 hours after the injection. ProZinc doesn't onset or kick in until 2-3 hours after the shot.

Kathleen and Fred said:
Would this indicate that I need to shoot more in PM and less in AM to balance things? Can you do that?

You can shoot more in one cycle versus the other if your data suggests that your kitty has higher numbers in one cycle. Most kitties have lower cycles in the PM. I don't really see anything to suggest that Fred is having higher PM cycles, so I guess I wouldn't necessarily shoot higher in the PM.
 
Wasn't able to be home as planned. But the +9 looks good. However, that worries be about PMPS. If it's under 200 what should I do?
 
I would be upset about this PMPS # if I hadn't seen him chasing a couple of doves just before testing. I'm sure that got him going. Nevertheless, I'm going to shoot a 1.0 and test again in two hours....unless someone tells me that's seriously wrong. Will probably shoot in 5 minutes. Thanks,
 
Numbers look great for today!

You have to remember, insulin takes time to kick in, so they will continue to rise until it does, for 2-3 hrs. It'a not like a shot of Demerol at the ER, that takes effect in seconds, it takes quite a while, hours to start working. For a cat to be lower at +2 is pretty rare, just about all of them are higher at +2 than preshot. It's normal, 1 less thing to worry about. :-D
 
So the reading at +4 (actually 4.5) is showing that the insulin took that long to start working? In that case, would it be best to just wait for the 4-7 point to start testing, if you want to see how the amount of insulin is working? I know there's something called a curve, where testing is done every 2 hours, but, in general, what are the best intervals to test?
 
ProZinc usually starts working around +2 to +3. Sometimes it kicks in a little earlier, sometimes a bit later. I usually like to get a +3 or +4 to see when the dose is starting to kick in. For me personally, I will often get a +1 or +2 if I shot on a low pre-shot just to ensure that Eddie's continuing to rise.

A "curve" is usually tests every 2-3 hours over a cycle or two. If you're testing pretty frequently, including a few mid-cycle tests, it isn't really all that necessary to do a "curve" since you have lots of data regarding how low Fred goes during the cycle. I personally find it more helpful to have hourly tests around nadir (which is usually between +5 to +7). Nadir can vary, though. Eddie, for example, can have his nadir anywhere between +5 up to +9 or later, so it does help to occasionally get a test earlier in the cycle or later in the cycle.
 
You are very welcome! There's a LOT of information to absorb. :smile: Looks like Fred's shaping up to have a very good cycle!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top