3/1 Eeyores pmps yesterday 543!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melanie and Eeyore

Member Since 2014
Eeyore's previous post http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=114489

This has been quite the week with me in Colorado caring for my mom in the hospital and my husband back in Florida trying to care for Eeyore. I will be getting home tomorrow morning. Eeyore's PMPS last night was very concerning to me. It was 543. My husband tested again to make sure and it said 540. He has since had 2 number lower but still in the 300's. I just feel like something isnt working. He started out so great and has just been terrible ever since. Maybe part of it is that I'm gone and he misses me. At least it is now the weekend and my husband will be able to get good nadir numbers for today and I'll be there tomorrow in time for them. He is eating well and acting fine according to my husband. I did talk with him about the 22 from 2/26 and he agrees it was probably a bad test. He said Eeyore was sleeping at the time on his window seat but he got him up and took him to his food and he ate a fair amount and then went to stare at lizards by the window sill. Thank you again for all your help, I am sorry if our data isnt the best to go off but there was only so much my husband could do with having to work all day.
 
actually your husband has done a pretty good job of getting tests in. we need to see at least one mid-cycle in both the am and pm cycles, and he's done it. so woot for DH!

from the Tight Regulation Protocol sticky above:

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.

when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

I'd suggest your DH increase by 0.25u to a new dose of 0.75u and continue with his testing. let's see if we can get Eeyore into some better numbers! If possible, would you ask him to get a +2 on one of the cycles? I'm wondering if Eeyore has an early nadir, ie, hits his low point of the cycle early in the cycle.
 
I have to agree with Julie, I think it's awesome that you have a DH that is engaging with helping Eeyore. Kudos to him. I'm sure your furbaby is missing you and you are doing a terrific job and are in the best hands possible with Julie and others ;-)
 
Melanie:

What I suspect you're seeing, providing that 22 at +9 on 2/26 was an accurate test is Eeyore bouncing. When numbers drop fast or low, the liver and pancreas react and dump a stored form of glucose and counterregulatory hormones into your kitty's bloodstream. This causes numbers to rise. It can also take roughly 72 hours for a bounce to clear. If Eeyore's numbers are still high at PMPS tonight, I agree with what's been suggested -- as your DH to raise Eeyore's dose to 0.75u.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top