3/1/20 Butternut AMPS=117

Dandelion

Member Since 2015
I think Butternut has found a good dose for now... finally. BG improving for both cycles and his leg strength is holding. Wish he could go outside for walks but were still buried in snow.

Nut’s PLI result 2/27/20 was 22.2 indicating pancreatitis/chronic inflammation. Not sure what to make of this or what to do. I suspect this is contributing to the bg bounces he has here and there.
He eats all his meals, does not without a reason like ingesting a heap of grass, so I guess some research is warranted to gain understanding re what raises PLI. Any input about this appreciated. :)

Going to change food today if possible... .. different protein and limited ingredients. He currently eats Dr Pierson’s raw recipe most of the time.

Safe surfing for all :cat::)
 
With TR, you can hold doses with green nadirs for 10 cycles. Looks like his dose could use a little nudge up. What are you changing the food to?
 
Food will be raw.. something other than chicken for a change. He does better eating mostly raw vs FF which before these past 7 months he’d never eaten. If he’s going low I use whatever food stabilizes him. He also didn’t do well with many small meals. We went back to his normal amounts of raw every 4 hours or so which seemed to smooth things out for him.

Why does his curve invert like 2/29 1st cycle? Lowest on the ends and high where nadir should be? Or it looks like his 2 cycles are really one big 24+ hour curve.
Using his old Relion Micro Meter the 2/29 2nd cycle green bgs would have read much lower and close to a reduction. He ate a fair amount of food- MC included - to keep from bottoming out and His 117 preshot this morning shocked me. I expected something higher. He seems more comfortable, content and active from BG high green all the way up to upper blues. Beyond that he’s sluggish and the highs take a lot out of him, and low dark green or lime induces food -seeking behavior and makes him restless.

thanks for your input. :) If I raise his dose it’ll only be up to 1.5F to see if I can push his curve down without visiting the sharks. :stop:
 
Sounds like you are just changing proteins with the food, not so much the carbs then. It's a good idea to have several different proteins in rotation.
Why does his curve invert like 2/29 1st cycle?
The AM of the 29th cycle was the sixth cycle after his last green. It looks like it might have been a bounce breaking cycle, especially with greens in the PM cycle. Some cats do a "go a little higher before dropping" just before they break the bounce. Anyway, that's one possibility. His nadir was at PMPS. Neko nadired a lot at preshot time, not unusual with Lev. That entire AM cycle doesn't look out of place to me.
 
Back
Top