29/06 Max AMPS 203 +4.5 122 PMPS 155

Status
Not open for further replies.

hollymayb

Member Since 2010
Hey Everybody,

Max seems to be doing great! Sorry no post yesterday, I was out, but DH got some good tests in! I think I'd like to give it another few days on this dose, as Max's numbers are coming down everyday since his switch to wet food (look at his charts!). Does anyone agree? Disagree?

Thanks for being so awesome, and have a great day!

AMPS 203
+4.5 ~122
PMPS 155
 
Re: 29/06 Max AMPS 203

Hi just dropped in to say Hi I am new here but after 1 month on the juice I thing Max is doing ok but no advice cause I don`t know enough...But just wanted to offer my support Have a great day and Jake keep up the good work I know that yellow is better then pink LOL :mrgreen: ;-)
 
Re: 29/06 Max AMPS 203

I'd give it until tomorrow. I think if you can get a test or two in tonight, it will let us know what Max is up to. I'm guessing he's going to need an increase unless he has a surprise up his paw today. (These kitties do read their condos and seem to take offense if a dose increase is suggested.)
 
Re: 29/06 Max AMPS 203

Hee hee... thanks Sienne, yes I have heard they read their condos, & that would explain why my monitor is so dirty!

If we do increase tomorrow, would I be increasing from 1.5 to 2.0?

Thanks!
Holly
 
Re: 29/06 Max AMPS 203

Nope! You would increase by 0.25u. This is why having syringes that are in half units are so helpful.

From the modified protocol sticky:
increasing the dose...
--- Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.

--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

If you want more detail on the protocol, use the modified protocol link and take a look at either of the two links to the formal versions of the dosing protocol we use.
 
Re: 29/06 Max AMPS 203

Yay for wet food! :mrgreen: Looks like it is agreeing with Max! If it were me, I would wait another day or two before increasing. He may not need it at all. Take a look at my Max's SS--you can see he was on the same dose for 2 weeks and then the numbers were suddenly coming down on their own. I tried an increase according to the tight regulation protocol (my tired eyes missed the difference btwn the modified protocol used here and the tight protocol), and it was an epic fail. Shortly after that his numbers really started to drop on their own.

Since your Max seems to be a little lower overall each day, I'd almost be tempted to wait until the weekend to try in increase, if one is still needed. With him dipping to the low 100's during the day, I'd want to be home to watch his numbers with the increase. At this point, it looks like his numbers overall are low enough to not be worried about ketones, and he should be okay to stay an extra day or two with his current dose. Granted, I haven't been at this long, and every cat is different, but I'd probably want to take the wait and see approach.
 
Re: 29/06 Max AMPS 203 Dose ??

I'm also inclined to wait, as Max's numbers have been getting lower each day, even though we've been steadily feeding him more food. We're still trying to get feeding amounts/times right. Today I gave 3.25 oz @ 8am, and another 1.5 oz @ 12:30. He'll get 3.25 oz @ 8pm & 1.5 oz before bed (around 11:30pm).

Does anyone else want to weigh in? Canada day is Thursday, and I'm be off from then until Sunday, so I'll be able to keep a close eye on things.

Thanks so much to everyone (and to those special people keeping an eye on Max & me- you know who you are!),

Holly
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top