28/2/15 Lucy PMPS 155 +2 70 +2 47 +3 59 +3 101 +4 88 +4 50 +4 45 +5 77 +5 58 +6 50 + 6 61 +7 77

Status
Not open for further replies.
i think her responses have been pretty normal. it's typical for the blood sugar to wobble around a bit, dropping once the carbs wear off. that's why we say 2 rising/flat tests for at least an hour after all food has been stopped.

the important thing is that you have been able to increase her blood sugar easily with some honey/gravy.
 
+8 3.6/65. I gave Lucy some higher carb food and a few drops of honey though I know it isn't needed as I am feeling very tired and need to at least have a nap. When shall I test again?
 
I understand about wanting to see the rise in glucose without food but I am feeling tired and Lucy was hungry so I gave her a tablespoon of food.
 
if you need to sleep - that's totally understandable. i would leave out a lot of regular low carb food - more than you think she might need - and go snooze. she's pretty well surfing, although needing a little bit of carbs. i think she'd be ok if you leave LC out.
 
I have set the alarm to test again in 45 minutes for peace of mind and then if there is no drop in glucose I will leave out plenty of food and sleep for a few hours. Bless you and thank you Julie.
 
sure! i'll look for you again then - so if you get alarmed, just post.

You might need to be prepared to shoot low in the morning - this might be your first green preshot opportunity . . . . :D
 
5.2/94 at +9. Now that made me smile the possibility of me giving Lucy insulin at green numbers at AMPS. I am sleep deprived but I can laugh at that right now. :D:cool:
 
:D

She'll probably bounce - she hasn't spent that much time in green before and isn't used to it yet. but WAHOO! She had some 7 hours or more in green today! That's fantastic!
 
9.7/175 at +10. Yes I am expecting a bounce. Though lately the bounces have been lower and shorter which is good.
 
Congrats on the reduction. Max hit 32 and 38 in the past but didn't act any differently. Marje's Gracie was in the 20's recently and the same, no reaction. I know because I asked her. I still get nervous under 40 and that will never change. Probably a good thing.

I hope all is well with you.
 
Voula!!! What a night you had! Congratulations on the great job you did handling Lucy's numbers! I'm so glad you had Serryn and Julie here watching over you. It gets much less scary after you've done it a couple times. You'll be a pro at it in no time. Believe it or not, but eventually, you'll see a number in the 40's on your meter, and you'll not even bat an eye, because you will know that you're in control. When Eddie was on ProZinc, the ISG was usually pretty quiet at nighttime, so during those early days when Eddie first started having runs of low numbers, I'd often be up all night by myself testing every 20 minutes, carbing, etc. The first time Eddie hit the 30's, I caught him at 32 when I stopped home from work to check him at lunch time. In those days, I didn't understand the patterns I was seeing, and it seemed like the low numbers would come out of nowhere. After switching to Lantus, it was much easier for me to spot patterns, so I could start to predict when Eddie might have low numbers, so I could prepare ahead of time. You're already starting to spot when you might have a busy cycle with Lucy, and that knowledge is a really powerful tool, and allows you to have control over the situation, even if you have to leave Lucy.

I know you've mentioned that Lucy isn't real responsive to high carbs, and I can tell you that when Eddie was really a bouncing-maniac, I had the same experience. His sensitivity to carb levels has changed over time, just like his patterns changed over time. There have been times when I'd really have to use high carb or karo to keep him up, but these days, as he's much more regulated, his body does a better job at regulating itself, so a tiny bit of regular food for Eddie is plenty to bring him up. It seems like that's fairly normal from what I've seen when kitties are on the trampoline a lot is it does seem to take more carbs to get them to slow down when they're dropping.

Great job! Fingers crossed that Lucy loves her new dose!
 
Congrats on the reduction. Max hit 32 and 38 in the past but didn't act any differently. Marje's Gracie was in the 20's recently and the same, no reaction. I know because I asked her. I still get nervous under 40 and that will never change. Probably a good thing.

I hope all is well with you.
Thank you. I know now not to panic too much if the numbers are between 40 and 50. :) It is really good to know about cats who have low readings but no symptoms and that you also get nervous with low numbers too. As you said it is probably a good thing in one way as it means we are motivated to be alert and to act too.
 
Voula!!! What a night you had! Congratulations on the great job you did handling Lucy's numbers! I'm so glad you had Serryn and Julie here watching over you. It gets much less scary after you've done it a couple times. You'll be a pro at it in no time. Believe it or not, but eventually, you'll see a number in the 40's on your meter, and you'll not even bat an eye, because you will know that you're in control. When Eddie was on ProZinc, the ISG was usually pretty quiet at nighttime, so during those early days when Eddie first started having runs of low numbers, I'd often be up all night by myself testing every 20 minutes, carbing, etc. The first time Eddie hit the 30's, I caught him at 32 when I stopped home from work to check him at lunch time. In those days, I didn't understand the patterns I was seeing, and it seemed like the low numbers would come out of nowhere. After switching to Lantus, it was much easier for me to spot patterns, so I could start to predict when Eddie might have low numbers, so I could prepare ahead of time. You're already starting to spot when you might have a busy cycle with Lucy, and that knowledge is a really powerful tool, and allows you to have control over the situation, even if you have to leave Lucy.

I know you've mentioned that Lucy isn't real responsive to high carbs, and I can tell you that when Eddie was really a bouncing-maniac, I had the same experience. His sensitivity to carb levels has changed over time, just like his patterns changed over time. There have been times when I'd really have to use high carb or karo to keep him up, but these days, as he's much more regulated, his body does a better job at regulating itself, so a tiny bit of regular food for Eddie is plenty to bring him up. It seems like that's fairly normal from what I've seen when kitties are on the trampoline a lot is it does seem to take more carbs to get them to slow down when they're dropping.

Great job! Fingers crossed that Lucy loves her new dose!
It was quite a night yes. It really helped having the support on the board from Julie and Serryn. It is clear that others have felt the same and had the same experiences and that really is reassuring to know that especially what you said about seeing a number in the 40's on the meter and not panicking like I did last night. Yes I am starting to notice patterns and starting to guess correctly when Lucy will have lower numbers. It is really interesting what you said about your Eddie and the carb sensitivity and the changes you have observed with that too. Also it is good to know that you have observed when kitties are bouncing in their numbers that it takes more carbs to slow down the dropping numbers as that is what I find too. Thank you so much for writing as I really appreciate all the support and understanding too.
 
It seems as you said Julie that we had some bouncing yesterday which I expected too. I reduced the dose to 2.75 units yesterday morning. Last night I was exhausted after no sleep and I also had to leave the house early this morning before the end of the cycle so my ability to monitor Lucy was limited and so I took the vet's advice and gave a half dose late last night. We have a lovely vet who we can email any time. I was very surprised early this morning to see that after one dose of 2.75 units and the half dose last night that Lucy had a glucose level of 6.1/110. :cat::) It is possible we had green numbers through the night. :D :cool: Tonight's dose will unavoidably be late so the depot will be emptying I know but I think this is excellent progress. I really didn't want to give a half dose last night but I have been seeing that bounces now don't take long so the chances were we might see lower numbers today and that in combination with inability to monitor through the cycle after the lower numbers the other night made me decide to follow the vet's advice. I am confident we will be back on track very soon after resuming the full dose and schedule tonight. :cat::)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top