hellen_maggie
Member Since 2025
26/04 Maggie _ AMPS 342 / +3 236 / +5 145 / +7 156
Hi everyone,
We had quite a long night yesterday. Maggie dropped close to the 50s
, and I ended up going to work with no sleep, wondering how I would get through the day.
It was the first time she went that low (and that fast), and I handled it by feeding small, frequent high-carb snacks (kibble). Testing, feeding, testing, feeding....throughout the first half of the cycle. Thankfully everything turned out fine, and of course, as expected, she’s bouncing today. I’m really happy to see that she surfed in such nice, healthy, healing numbers yesterday but I can’t say I’m equally happy about the reduction we earned. This morning I reduced her dose from 0.50U to 0.30U. However, my gut feeling (and the data I have from the last time she was on 0.30U) tells me this dose might be too low for her
. In hindsight, maybe I should have gone with a smaller reduction (perhaps 0.40U) but since I went by the book, all I can do now is put on my patience pants...
I’ll see how she does over the next 3–4 days, and if needed, I may consider increasing again before completing a full week on this dose.
Also, I have what might be a silly question. Last night, right after I gave the shot, I noticed a tiny drop of blood on the needle when I pulled it out. I’m wondering if I may have hit a small blood vessel under the skin. I did a quick search and came across the idea that, in that case, the insulin could potentially enter the bloodstream more directly and act faster or more strongly. Does that actually make sense, or am I overthinking it?
I hope all the kitties are surfing safely today and happy Tuesday to all
Hi everyone,
We had quite a long night yesterday. Maggie dropped close to the 50s
, and I ended up going to work with no sleep, wondering how I would get through the day.It was the first time she went that low (and that fast), and I handled it by feeding small, frequent high-carb snacks (kibble). Testing, feeding, testing, feeding....throughout the first half of the cycle. Thankfully everything turned out fine, and of course, as expected, she’s bouncing today. I’m really happy to see that she surfed in such nice, healthy, healing numbers yesterday but I can’t say I’m equally happy about the reduction we earned. This morning I reduced her dose from 0.50U to 0.30U. However, my gut feeling (and the data I have from the last time she was on 0.30U) tells me this dose might be too low for her
I’ll see how she does over the next 3–4 days, and if needed, I may consider increasing again before completing a full week on this dose.Also, I have what might be a silly question. Last night, right after I gave the shot, I noticed a tiny drop of blood on the needle when I pulled it out. I’m wondering if I may have hit a small blood vessel under the skin. I did a quick search and came across the idea that, in that case, the insulin could potentially enter the bloodstream more directly and act faster or more strongly. Does that actually make sense, or am I overthinking it?
I hope all the kitties are surfing safely today and happy Tuesday to all
