27/02 Angie PMPS=142 +1=148 +2=113 +3=68 +4=76 +5=77

Status
Not open for further replies.

GraceAndAngie

Member Since 2013
Good morning everyone!

It seems that I'm the first one on LL to see a new day so your weather report from the future: cloudy, nice and warm, but looks like it could clear up to be hot!

Yesterday's condo is here.

Last night I asked about whether or not I was getting enough tests in and if they were at the right times. Thanks Sienne and Kat for your responses. I had the feeling that I should be getting up again to do another. I just couldn't do it (was way too tired and losing capacity for anything) and slept through to breakfast/AMPS. Today I'll do a proper curve every two hours, and in future I'll know to get more tests in after a drop like last night.

Sienne and Gabby said:
Looking at your PM +2, I'd suggest that you plan on a +3 (or thereabout) test. You're seeing a +2 that's considerably lower than your pre-shot test. It may mean that numbers are going to continue to drop.


Today
AMPS -- 151
Insulin- 0.75 IU


Yesterday
AMPS -- 162
Insulin- 0.75 UI
+3 ----- 65
+4 ----- 76
+5 ----- 76
+9 ----- 115
PMPS -- 160
+2.25 - 95
 
Re: 27/02 Angie AMPS=151 +2=103 +4=58 +5=40

Angie had a steep drop today and is now 40. I've given her two teaspoons of some carb rich tinned food, she was quite hungry but no other symptoms. I will test again in 15 mins.

Am I doing the right thing?
 
Re: 27/02 Angie AMPS=151 +2=103 +4=58 +5=40

Her blood sugar has come up to 70. I will test again shortly - 15 mins or half an hour? Will she get another low after eating carbs?
 
Re: 27/02 Angie AMPS=151 +5=40 +5.25=70 - help with low?

You want to keep testing and feeding. With the 70, I might try some low carb. The problem is that as the high carb wears off, numbers may drop again. Testing every 30 min. is fine.
 
Re: 27/02 Angie AMPS=151 +5=40 +5.25=70

Grace

You will also need to reduce her dose by .25u (from .75u to .5u) since she dropped below 50.

You're doing great. Good luck with the reduction!
 
Re: 27/02 Angie AMPS=151 +5=40 +5.25=70 +6=95 +7=83

Hi everyone,

My cousins arrived to stay this morning and I sent them out sight seeing on their own as Angie had a low and I didn't want to leave her. After her 40 I'll give her 0.5 IU of insulin tonight. I can keep testing her hourly until we go to bed (PMPS+2). How frequently should I get up to test her after her new reduced dose of insulin?

Thanks! Grace

Today so far
AMPS -- 151, insulin- 0.75
+2 ----- 103
+4 ----- 58
+5 ----- 40 (two teaspoons of high carb tinned food)
+5.25 - 70
+6 ----- 95
+7 ----- 83
+8 ----- 92
 
Re: 27/02 Angie +5=40 +6=95 +9=92 - testing frequency overni

Hi Grace, congrats on the reduction today. I'm glad you were around to catch that.

There is a chance that Angie could bounce tonight and have higher numbers. If her +2 is higher than her PS, then not to worry. I don't know if someone has described a bounce to you. Here is a quote from Carl:
The "bounce" is due to the numbers going lower than the cat's body is used to. (These numbers do NOT have to be in any way dangerously low. A cat who is used to being in the 300s all the time is most likely going to see a 150 as "low".) It causes the pancreas and liver to react like "whoa, this is low BG, lets dump some sugar into the bloodstream to stop the drop". The liver ends up dumping glycogen converted into glucose into the bloodstream, along with counter-regulatory hormones. End result, BG shoots higher. That's a "bounce". It's instinctive, and about the only way to avoid it is for the cat's BG to never drop down to the point where the liver "panics". Of course, we don't really want to do that, because it's the low numbers, the ones in the normal BG range, that allow the kitty to heal.
The bounce can take up to 6 cycles to go away, so you just have to wait it out if it happens. If Grace doesn't bounce, I'd at least get a +4 tonight and see where she is going from there. She still has a depot (also called shed) from her .75 dose that can influence the next few cycles, even if you are shooting the lower amount. If she is lower at +4, I suspect some of the east coast US people will be up and on the board by then.
 
Re: 27/02 Angie +5=40 +6=95 +9=92 - testing frequency overni

Hi Grace, first of all, many congrats on the reduction!

I can't give advice, but I can tell you what I know about lantus and my own experiences with reductions. In most cats, insulin doesn't onset until 2 hours after the shot, but it can onset anywhere between +1 and +3. So that's why we say it is important to get a +1 or +2. I usually try to get a test every 2 hours when possible.

For the PMPS shot, I try to get +2 or +3 (Kismet usually onsets a bit later than most) and then get +5 and +6 (when he hits his nadir.) Since Angie dropped so low today, I would be as diligent as possible if she were mine. Again, I am nowhere near as experienced as the advice givers.
 
Re: 27/02 Angie +5=40 +6=95 +9=92 - testing frequency overni

Thanks Wendy and Courtney

Tonight I'm going to start to transition her insulin doses forward by 15 minutes each time (1/2 hour per day). I want to be able to monitor after her pm shots easier. I tend to be up earlier and could easily shoot earlier in the morning.

I'll test at +2 and +4 and then decide at +4 what to do.

Wendy - that bounce info was great: very informative and also explains all the bouncing and trampoline references on this site! I figured it was something to do with an unusually high number. It's good to hear about why something can happen.
 
Re: 27/02 Angie AMPS=151 +5=40 +6=95 +9=121

Congratulations on the dose reduction.

I hope you have a nice visit with your cousins.
 
Re: 27/02 Angie PMPS=142 +1=148 +2=113 +3=68

Good night everyone (for a little bit at least!).

Today so far
AMPS -- 151, insulin - 0.75 IU, breakfast
+2 ---- 103
+4 ---- 58
+5 ---- 40 (two teaspoons of high carb tinned food)
+5.25 - 70
+6 ---- 95
+7 ---- 83
+8 ---- 92
+9 ---- 121
+11 --- 146
PMPS -- 142, insulin - 0.5 IU, dinner
+1 ---- 148
+2 ---- 113
+3 ---- 68

I'll be getting up for +4 and deciding what to do from there. I'm hoping that by +4 she's going to be climbing back up again because then I'll be able to sleep.

Grace
 
Re: 27/02 Angie PMPS=142 +1=148 +2=113 +3=68 +4=76

Hi everyone,

Can I go to bed and sleep through with these numbers? I'm so sleepy, it hurts but I'm scared to do wrong and am starting to see by her am numbers that I might have missed something bad in her pm numbers on previous nights.

At least she's not doing the rapid drop of this morning or yesterday morning. The last two hours have been stable.

Today so far
AMPS -- 151, insulin - 0.75 IU, breakfast
+2 ---- 103
+4 ---- 58
+5 ---- 40 (two teaspoons of high carb tinned food)
+5.25 - 70
+6 ---- 95
+7 ---- 83
+8 ---- 92
+9 ---- 121
+11 --- 146
PMPS -- 142, insulin - 0.5 IU, dinner
+1 ---- 148
+2 ---- 113
+3 ---- 68
+4 ---- 76

Thanks again! Grace
 
Re: 27/02 Angie PMPS=142 +1=148 +2=113 +3=68 +4=76 - sleep n

+4.75 was 77. That's three stable. I'm going to sleep.

Good night all!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top