26/02 Angie AMPS=162 +3=65 +5=76 +9=115 PMPS=160 +2=5.3

Status
Not open for further replies.

GraceAndAngie

Member Since 2013
Good morning everyone,

I feel so much better today for some sleep and a cup of yummy American style coffee (which I think is appropriate while posting here)! My sleep deprived condo from yesterday is here. With discussions on ketones and spacing feeding.

Could you look over the following plan to feed Angie in little bits morning and night? I will need to transition to it by moving her insulin times 15 mins earlier each day so it will take 8 days to get to the aim.

Food am and pm at
6.45, 8.30 and 9.30.

I really need to get a long sleep as I haven't been well and it's been critical to my recovery. So, I would like to sleep from 9.30 to 6.30 am, without having to take readings every night. Also, as we get better at testing we'll get quicker and her first food will get closer to 6.30 am. As I need less sleep, I'll get up earlier.

Is it more important to space out feeding or keep the insulin 12 hours apart? I could space them out further if her pm insulin came forward but I don't know what would be worse. A timed feeder wouldn't work because I have another, more agile, more speedy and more hungry cat. Angie can't get to his food because she can't jump but he can get to hers where ever I put it.

Yesterday's recap
AMBG - not able to get
+2 ----- 155
+6 ----- Angie under neighbour's house (she clearly needed a break from my inexperience with the lancet)
+9 ----- 160
Ketone- 0.1 mmol/L
PMPS -- 144
Insulin- 0.75 IU
+2 ----- 122
+5 ----- 65
+6 ----- 86

Todays
AMPS -- 162

Thanks for all your incredible help!
 
Re: 26/02 Angie AMPS=162 - feeding plan?

I don't really think you NEED to space the food out, but it won't hurt anything. I think what Sienne was talking about was when the cat is not on insulin, then if the pancreas is working you can use food to stimulate the pancreas to produce its own insulin. If she is receiving insulin shots, then that may not be necessary. One thing we do try to avoid is feeding after nadir. If the insulin's action is waning, then the insulin might have a hard time overcoming food that is fed late in the cycle.

Some cats do better with their food moved around in the cycle somewhat, and it's another tool to keep in the toolbox if needed. If Angie continues to drop as quickly at +2 as she did on 2/24, then it might be worthwhile to consider giving a partial meal at PS time and another partial meal at +1 and maybe +2. But if she continues to surf along nicely like she did last night, it might not be needed. I always like to do things the easy way first, and if that doesn't work then try to manipulate.

If you do want to space out the food, then the schedule you suggested should work. I always like to leave out some food when I go to bed so they can feed themselves if they start to drop.

I would rather see you keep the insulin shots 12 hours apart, then if we find out that food manipulation is needed, we can look at her Lantus curve and figure out when the best times to feed would be.
 
Re: 26/02 Angie AMPS=162 - feeding plan?

Hi Lucy,

Not spacing out the food would be much easier. I can't leave food out because they both eat everything in one go (unless it's dry - because they don't like it very much - but neither do we so that doesn't count). They were angry about their small meals this morning! Jetzin (civie) wouldn't start eating because I hadn't put enough in his bowl until he had sat down and yowled about it for a while!

At the end of yesterdays thread Sienne and Gabby gave said that she would have spaced out feeding before putting her back on insulin. It's too late for that though (as she is back on) so I was trying to work out what would be best to do now.

We will need to do it though, won't we, if Ang goes OTJ? I'm thinking positive and she's gone into remission before while eating dry food so it seems quite possible she could do it again now that we've improved her diet.

Hmmm. What to do?

Grace
 
Re: 26/02 Angie AMPS=162 - feeding plan?

Sorry if I was unclear. Libby is correct -- I was referring to if you weren't shooting. Try what's easiest first. Getting tests is important so you can determine if your strategy is working for your cat.

Just a side note -- it may be easier to get blood if you use the 28 gauge lancets. The 31 gauge is much thinner than the 28. Once Angie's ear bleeds easily, you can switch to the thinner (higher number) lancet. FWIW, I use a 30 gauge.
 
Re: 26/02 Angie AMPS=162, +3=65

Hi Libby and Sienne,

Thanks for your help. I'll go back to feeding in two lots. It's much simpler. And I'll get some thicker lancets that fit my pen.

Grace
 
Re: 26/02 Angie AMPS=162 +3=65 +5=76 +9=115 PMPS=160

Good Morning Grace (beautiful name, btw) ~O) Welcome to our family :YMHUG: I'm so glad you're here! My name is Kat and Gobbles is my super-sweet sugar boy. He was diagnosed 11/17/12 and is a Lantus user. He's a sprite 10 years young; 37 years my junior.

I know what you are going through; been there & done that. I had an all-nighter a few days ago and I applaud you for staying up and caring for Angie. I know how hard it is, but we do what we can do, and obviously you love her so much and have done such a great job with her.

It seems she's been a diabetic a few years and you've recently joined?

Have a beautiful day. If you have any general ? I can be of help and offer you my support. I do not, however, give any type of dosing advice.
 
26/02 Angie AMPS=162 +3=65 PMPS=160 +2=5.3 testing amount ok

Good night to everyone,

Angie and I have done so well today that I'm going to give us both a break and sleep till morning now. Angie has been so sweet, co-operative, and good at bleeding that I haven't had trouble with any tests. So I am going to keep my lancets as they are. She has gotten used to the routine - cuddles, test, cuddles, run to food bowl and quietly wait for treat. Jetzin my other kitty has gotten used to the routine too: Angie get's special cuddles, then I run to the fridge, trip Grace up, loudly and excitedly demanding treats too. Why is it that Jetzin gets a treat for Angie being a good girl, I can't quite work out but there you go. I'm a sucker. Thanks everyone for talking me through to this point - it felt traumatic at first but today was fine (I've gotten used to the blood) and we're going to sleep sweetly!

I am having trouble knowing if it's safe to go to sleep or if I need to get up for more tests. Could somebody look at Angie's SS or the test list below and see if you think I'm taking enough tests? Will we be able to see enough of a pattern with this many. If I'm not, what times would I need to improve on?

Today
AMPS -- 162
Insulin- 0.75 UI
+3 ----- 65
+4 ----- 76
+5 ----- 76
+9 ----- 115
PMPS -- 160
+2.25 - 95

TheBowHuntress said:
Welcome to our family :YMHUG: I'm so glad you're here!

Hi Kat, thanks for the lovely welcome. I just spotted that I had Angie's date of diagnosis wrong in my signature - oops it was actually August 2012. She has been on lantus since then (except for a short remission of about 4 weeks).
 
Re: 26/02 Angie AMPS=162 +3=65 PMPS=160 +2=5.3 testing amoun

Hi, I am certainly no expert, but can tell you what the experts suggested to me, in the past, as taking tests (as they will be "history" on Angie and also keep track of her BG's). Here's what I would do if Angie was my cat. And I'm not saying to do this all in one day but, once again if she was my cat, I would want to "fill in the blanks"... The numbers you posted today:

"Today
AMPS -- 162
Insulin- 0.75 UI
+3 ----- 65
+4 ----- 76
+5 ----- 76
+9 ----- 115
PMPS -- 160
+2.25 - 95"

For AMPS and PMPS (since Lantus is given every twelve hours and btw, each day has 2 "cycles" as 12 hours = one cycle), a + 1 or + 2 would be a good idea (see "typical lantus curve" at the very end of this post) as it tells a story of how fast the shot is working. A + 6 would be great (it is usually most cat's nadir, but Every Cat Is Different ("ECID") as it may be close to the lowest dip in BG. +10 & +11 tests are good because they may show how fast she is "rising", though some cats sometimes will dip at that time. So....basically I am saying that every number that is missing are good tests to get...I hope I'm making sense. Have you done a standard curve yet? (Can be done AM or PM cycle--6 draws, every 2 hours)

Typical Lantus Curve (though ECID):

+0 - preshot #
+1 - usually higher than PS
+2 - often similar to PS
+3 - lower than PS; onset starts
+4 - lower
+5 - lower
+6 - nadir
+7 - surf
+8 - slight rise
+9 - slight rise
+10 -rising (though may dip)
+12 -preshot #
 
Re: 26/02 Angie AMPS=162 +3=65 PMPS=160 +2=5.3 testing amoun

Looking at your PM +2, I'd suggest that you plan on a +3 (or thereabout) test. You're seeing a +2 that's considerably lower than your pre-shot test. It may mean that numbers are going to continue to drop.
 
Re: 26/02 Angie AMPS=162 +3=65 PMPS=160 +2=5.3 testing amoun

Hey Grace,

My earlier reply re: when to test -- Just to be sure you did not misunderstand me: I do not mean to do that today, or all in one day. When you get a chance, take a peek at Gobbles SS & you'll be able to see how it took me a while to "fill in the blanks" of testing tiems. Now as you gather these numbers, it will help down the road; I cannot stress enough the importance of having "history" on your cat's BGs.

Sienne gave you a great suggestion.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top