25-Aug Maverick AMPS 446|+5.45 110| +6.2 151|PMPS 396|+2 358

Status
Not open for further replies.
Congrats on the lower numbers. This is a good thing! I would feed LC and monitor, but if you have to be away it might be good to leave out some MC for peace of mind. I don't see a risk of hypo at 115, but understand you worried. The key data you need to have now is exactly when his nadir usually is. It would be good to know what direction he is headed in now (without food influence which can be short lived).

If Mav has a good appetite and will munch while you are away don't worry food will help him surf in these lower numbers.
 
I don't know what to tell you. I've never had to leave Gizmo when he was low. It does look like he is close to his nadir. Hopefully someone more experience will help soon.
 
Thank you both! he's in a good blue zone, but we've never reached these lows before, I guess he's working the juice lol. Fed another tbsp of regular FF after the +5.45 of 110. The small drop eases my mind a bit. I'm going to linger a bit longer to get a +6 but I think he's flattened out in a good way :cool: Even a dip into green wouldn't be bad, but the margins are s small at these lower BG levels.
 
I get very nervous when in lower blues also because with the alphatrack the cut off number is slightly higher. I feel like that makes the greens even more nerve wrecking. But I have found that Gizmo does slow down the drops as he gets closer and into greens and seems to stay more steady. But still scary. :bighug:
 
Glad you can stay longer. These numbers are food influenced, so you are right to still be cautious. While it is scary - it is also good in that lower and flatter is exactly what you want to see. Great job getting mid cycle data. You will need more without food influence to really know what Mav is up to (or down to) :D
 
Big breath. Carbs take from 20-30 minutes from the plate to the blood stream so testing any sooner than that won't help. How long til you have to leave again?
 
I'm staying for another 20 mins, his +6 is due around now, but I can hold off to see if food is influencing the last reading of 110. Depending on the reading, I'll stay longer if need be. I can't leave him without feeling comfortable he'll be ok.
 
+6.2 is now 151, It appears I don't need any additional food left out? Even if this has a bit of food influence, he's in a good place I think?
 
As long as it's just been low carb you've given him, you are good to go. Leave a little more low carb if you are worried.
 
As long as it's just been low carb you've given him, you are good to go. Leave a little more low carb if you are worried.

Perfect, yes it has been all low carb, and I felt a lot better after the +6 reading. We've never had blues before in the a.m. cycle, or such low blues at all, and he started at 446 AMPS! I would have been able to take a moment to relish Maverick's lovely surfing technique, but knowing I had to leave him at some point kinda rained on my parade a bit lol. I really need to get the autofeeder, Maverick likes his food, so anything I would have left out would have been eaten promptly in one sitting!
 
Here is something to remember so the next time you get 115 you won't be as worried this late in the cycle: 90 is the reduction number for you following SLGS but is not a dangerous number. The take action number for a hypo event is 50, so keeping that in mind and where the 115 is in the cycle should give you some comfort.
 
Here is something to remember so the next time you get 115 you won't be as worried this late in the cycle: 90 is the reduction number for you following SLGS but is not a dangerous number. The take action number for a hypo event is 50, so keeping that in mind and where the 115 is in the cycle should give you some comfort.

Still, lots of room to go to get to 68.

Yes indeed, I think my original panic was in not being sure what would happen after I left, and not being able to continue to monitor him! 115 is a great number of us, but also very new, never before in the am cycle where I wasn't able to check from AMPS until that reading. Having a +2 and +4 at least would have given me a sense of direction in his cycle :)
 
Thanks Wendy, I thought she was using a human meter, my bad. But, yes still lots of room to 68.
That may be my fault, I have posted before about using Freesyle lite strips in my AT2 for day to day readings. I do have the Freestyle machine, not currently using it for readings As a side note, these numbers actually were off AT strips in my AT machine, sorry for the confusion!

PMPS is 396, please don't bounce too much Maverick :rolleyes:
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top