? 25/9 amps 270 #not falling

Colleen & Pantera

Member Since 2020
Hello, I am wanting to ask if I should take Ruddy back to 2u lantus, his levels are not dropping and he is acting starving prior meal times. I am fairly positive the ladt hypo was s false read as I am getting low measurements on rhe glucose metre then 1 min later it's high. Ruddy seemed to drop into the greens on 2u thoughts please? I am stressing that I had him lower now he is all over the place. What is the hard difference between TR and SLGS I have read sticky notes but is it just holding dose for less days unless a drop in BG. I really am lost here.
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...IdjyEhpz_E6Prtz6SbWufje931s/edit?usp=drivesdk
 
This may sound ridiculous but I think I have been doing both. Cause I am not sure of the distinct difference sorry. I have been dropping his dose when he goes hypo or numbers don't change much throughout the cycle. I also noticed his last hypo was probably just a false reading. Is the difference in methods the amount of time holding and changing the dose?
 
The difference basically is when to reduce and raise the dose. TR requires more testing as it’s more aggressive but has a better remission chance. Still cats go into remission on SLGS too. We have one on an OTJ trial now who followed SLGS.
 
Ok do I have enough data for TR? I have his brother in remission since June 2020. I will settle for regulated. He seems worse right now. So I should raise the dose to 2u. I don't have .25 measurement syringes in Australia and his dose is a bit over 1.5 currently. I don't think he had a hypo last week my metre is playing games. If I raise it tonight as I still can't tell where his nadir is as it seems to differ from +5 to pmps. Do I keep raising it every 3-5 days unless a low then I reduce by .25?
Thank you
 
Ok do I have enough data for TR? I have his brother in remission since June 2020. I will settle for regulated. He seems worse right now. So I should raise the dose to 2u. I don't have .25 measurement syringes in Australia and his dose is a bit over 1.5 currently. I don't think he had a hypo last week my metre is playing games. If I raise it tonight as I still can't tell where his nadir is as it seems to differ from +5 to pmps. Do I keep raising it every 3-5 days unless a low then I reduce by .25?
Thank you
I wonder if you have a rollercoaster kitty like my Chloe. My vet told me that there are some cats who will never get regulated and she told me to dose according to the glucose reading. For example: under 100=no dose; 101-200=0.5u; 201-300=1u, etc.
 
I wonder if you have a rollercoaster kitty like my Chloe. My vet told me that there are some cats who will never get regulated and she told me to dose according to the glucose reading. For example: under 100=no dose; 101-200=0.5u; 201-300=1u, etc.
That’s not how we do it here. Lantus should be based upon the nadir and not the preshot.
 
Hello, I am wanting to ask if I should take Ruddy back to 2u lantus, his levels are not dropping and he is acting starving prior meal times. I am fairly positive the ladt hypo was s false read as I am getting low measurements on rhe glucose metre then 1 min later it's high. Ruddy seemed to drop into the greens on 2u thoughts please? I am stressing that I had him lower now he is all over the place. What is the hard difference between TR and SLGS I have read sticky notes but is it just holding dose for less days unless a drop in BG. I really am lost here.
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...IdjyEhpz_E6Prtz6SbWufje931s/edit?usp=drivesdk

if you increase eyeball it. I would not increase by .50. You can also use digital calipers.

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dosing-with-calipers-updated-w-videos.79851/#post-862835
 
Nadir is how low a dose takes your cat. Lantus likes consistency which is why the kind of dosing suggested above doesn’t make sense.
 
I hope not. He seemed to do better on 2u then the low reading stuffed everything up:(. I think I will try 2u again fingers crossed I haven't gone past the perfect dose. (bid is twice day may be bd also) nadir is the lowest point in the 12hr cycle I’m not sure about TA.
Thank you I may increase .25 tonight and hold for 3-5 days then do a curve. I am off next week so can go aggressive try get him a bit lower.
 
Back
Top