24March2020/Maxi/AMPS417/ NEED HELP with Lantus Increase + R

bambinaki

Member Since 2010
Last thread: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...cing-humulin-r-questions.227464/#post-2547857

Hello-

I have introduced R into Maxi's treatment. It doesn't seem to be doing the trick and I guess the dose should be increased.

With the introduction of R, I didn't increase his Lantus after 6 cycles, even though I should have this AM per the TR protocol.
He's in his 7th cycle of the 5 unit dose right now.

I should increase his Lantus dose this PM.

I need help, please.

Thank you

@Wendy&Neko @Sandy and Black Kitty
 
Go ahead and increase the Lantus to 5.5 units tonight. That will mean no R tonight. We try to avoid giving R on the same cycle as the L increase, in case there is a strong reaction to the increase.

Let me chat with Sandy and see what she thinks about the R dose for tomorrow, based on what you've seen to date. Since this is the first 0.5 R cycle during the day, get a test in the +6 to +8 range, so we can see if there is any impact on the Lantus cycle later on.
 
Go ahead and increase the Lantus to 5.5 units tonight. That will mean no R tonight. We try to avoid giving R on the same cycle as the L increase, in case there is a strong reaction to the increase.

Let me chat with Sandy and see what she thinks about the R dose for tomorrow, based on what you've seen to date. Since this is the first 0.5 R cycle during the day, get a test in the +6 to +8 range, so we can see if there is any impact on the Lantus cycle later on.


Understood.
Will do.
Maxi is on test overload. Please let me know the minimum test schedule that must be done this PM with the Lantus increase.
Thank you!
 
Last edited:
Ugh, sorry about the bucketload of pink. :( Good luck with the L increase tonight. Since you aren't doing R tonight, you could probably get a +3 or +4 and decide from there if you need more tests.

Sandy and I were thinking trying 0.75 units R tomorrow morning, if over 300. And you can probably stop the +1 R tests, as he doesn't seem to be doing anything until +2.
 
Good luck with R Karen. It was the catalyst that got Bronx out of the reds & pinks and a great addition to your toolbox. You can see on Bronx's 2017 spreadsheet how R helped so much.
 
Ugh, sorry about the bucketload of pink. :( Good luck with the L increase tonight. Since you aren't doing R tonight, you could probably get a +3 or +4 and decide from there if you need more tests.

Sandy and I were thinking trying 0.75 units R tomorrow morning, if over 300. And you can probably stop the +1 R tests, as he doesn't seem to be doing anything until +2.

OK.

Thanks a lot!
 
Good luck with R Karen. It was the catalyst that got Bronx out of the reds & pinks and a great addition to your toolbox. You can see on Bronx's 2017 spreadsheet how R helped so much.

Thank you, Bronx's dad.

I previously looked through some of your posts having seen Bronx had acromegaly. He was a very beautiful boy. I like his name. (My dad grew up in the Bronx.) I hope you're ok up there in NJ.
 
Thank you, Bronx's dad.

I previously looked through some of your posts having seen Bronx had acromegaly. He was a very beautiful boy. I like his name. (My dad grew up in the Bronx.) I hope you're ok up there in NJ.
Thanks Karen. He got his name because that's where I found him as a kitten. He hitched a ride up on top of the spare tire underneath my work van. He was my bud :)
 
OK, when I *really* didn't need something else to worry about (or something more to bother you with), I have given my first (and hopefully last) flippin' fur shot. I can't say how much I got in him but I know quite a bit did not get in. I'll look around for what to do. I think I remember reading to do nothing but wait until the next dose time. But since I now have R, I was thinking maybe I should use that. @Wendy&Neko @Sandy and Black Kitty ?
 
Last edited:
OK, when I *really* didn't need something else to worry about (or something more to bother you with), I have given my first (and hopefully last) flippin' fur shot. I can't say how much I got in him but I know quite a bit did not get in. I'll look around for what to do. I think I remember reading to do nothing but wait until the next dose time. But since I now have to R, I was thinking maybe I should use that. @Wendy&Neko @Sandy and Black Kitty ?

EDIT: I have found that I should not re-shoot, so I won't, FYI. However I would like guidance on giving R now. Where are my gurus @Wendy&Neko and @Sandy and Black Kitty ?
 
Grab a +5 or +6 to see where he goes from here.

If AMPS is 350 or above you can give .75u R along with 5.5u L. If between 300 and 350 you can give .5u R
In either case get a +2.
 
Back
Top