24 SEPT: Teasel on Lev Day 2: AM 202 | +3 241 | +6 139 | +9 151 | PM 173

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi! How come you switched???
Hi Cherish,
I want to see if he'll do less diving on Lev. He still had fairly large swings in BG on Lantus and I was making dose changes almost a drop at a time. I want to see if that too improves on Lev. I can get Lev and Lantus without a prescription at a human pharmacy where I live in Canada so it was an easy switch to do.
 
I hope the switch works well for you! I have considered the same switch, but am so afraid to mess with the status quo, so to speak. Squallie has some really big dives, though, at the beginnings of cycles, and I'd love for that to stop!
 
I hope the switch works well for you! I have considered the same switch, but am so afraid to mess with the status quo, so to speak. Squallie has some really big dives, though, at the beginnings of cycles, and I'd love for that to stop!
Well, if Lev can calm down Mr. Bouncy who lives with me, there's hope for other rubber kitties! ;)

ETA: Squallie's SS looks awfully good to me though. Don't mess with perfection!
 
I increased his dose to a fat 1.5 u because he needs a bit more insulin and I don't see why I should wait.
You wait the 6 cycles to let the lantus depot drain and the levemir depot stabilize. It may take a bit to see what Teasel's new pattern is...onset, nadir, duration. Not every cat has a big marked response the first few cycles when switching insulins.

Also going to pick on you about making sure there is at least 1 test every PM cycle as TR protocol calls for. Good to see there were a couple last night!
 
You wait the 6 cycles to let the lantus depot drain and the levemir depot stabilize. It may take a bit to see what Teasel's new pattern is...onset, nadir, duration. Not every cat has a big marked response the first few cycles when switching insulins.

Also going to pick on you about making sure there is at least 1 test every PM cycle as TR protocol calls for. Good to see there were a couple last night!
Thanks, Karen. Feel free to pick on me - an old dog can always learn new tricks! ;) I'm not really doing TR though.
 
Work it Teasel. Hope he levels out on Lev.
paws crossed.png
 
Thanks, Karen. Feel free to pick on me - an old dog can always learn new tricks! ;) I'm not really doing TR though.
TR is a more aggressive method but it requires more testing. But it's that extra testing that allows you to be more aggressive and do increases sooner. I would have held at least 4 cycles on the initial Lev dose to see what it's capable of. Since you have increased earlier and are not following TR, I would keep this dose at least 6 cycles.
 
Be careful what you wish for. I find that when Menace dives she stays in a surf needing monitoring for ages. Caught a 34 (39 on 2nd meter) this morning at +10 of last night's cycle. She is now at 82 eight hours later. I had to chase numbers in the high 40's to high 50's for almost five hours today. I love those lower numbers but I know this means higher ones are on the horizon!
 
Be careful what you wish for. I find that when Menace dives she stays in a surf needing monitoring for ages. Caught a 34 (39 on 2nd meter) this morning at +10 of last night's cycle. She is now at 82 eight hours later. I had to chase numbers in the high 40's to high 50's for almost five hours today. I love those lower numbers but I know this means higher ones are on the horizon!
Thanks, Linda! I know that these prolonged lows can be a downside of Lev. My goal - and I might not be successful - is to find a dose that keeps Teasel just a little bit on the high side of ideal. He's very good at tripping along in blues with some yellow and then dropping to lime green without warning even 4 or 5 days + into a dose. That's why I've adapted my dosing approach to suit him specifically. :)
 
Menace seems to have one of her precipitous drop every 3 weeks or so with an occasional surprise at a 10 day interval. Just last night I was musing to myself that we must be due for some dramatics as I contemplated raising her dose. Decided to wait till morning to do the increase and lo and behold she delivered and earned a decrease instead! :rolleyes:
pullinghair.gif
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top