? 24/01/2022-Whiskey AMPS=221 +2=140 +5=49 +6=97 +7=97 +8=92 +11=94 PMPS=85 +2=67 +3=83 +4=109 +11=227

stannarp

Member Since 2021
Previous thread:

22 Jan 2022

Sorry, didn't get to post or test much yesterday, it was a crazy day.

Her morning readings are high, her ears are bothering her again, but there doesn't seem to be an infection.

History, we are battling an ear mite infection but cannot use Rev1olution as it makes her ill (off food and drink) for days; she had the same response to a Seresto collar. As a result, I am hesitant to try any of the long acting interventions that are proven to work in other cases.

I am trying to resolve the issue with regular cleaning with a buchu based cleaner and diatomaceous earth applications as I have very few other options for her.

Any other recommendations that people can give would be great - the ears are about 50% better than they were, but I am getting desperate now.

Have seen boric acid recommended (not as terrifying as it sounds, I would use it on myself), also a mild borax solution, but we all know how much cats love their ears getting wet ... not!
 
Her +5 dipped to 49, she hadn't yet eaten her usual +4 meal, which she has now eaten, should I be worried?

Two things to note, initial test at +5 was 37, restested after 5 mins on same ear and came up at 49.

Other thing worth mentioning is that I gave her an allergy med recommended by my vet to try to help with the ear scratching today (they think she also has allergies which are making her scratch her ears to bits) - 1/4 allercet tab to try help with the ear scratching.

Wondering if it may have alleviated some stress by reducing itching???

It is this one, contains Cetirizine Hcl 10mg:

https://www.dischem.co.za/allecet-tablets-30-s-543
 
Last edited:
@Bandit's Mom

Your spreadsheet keeps crashing on me, can’t seem to get in.

What did you feed at +5 test? HC?

I’d grab another test and see if she’s keeping steady or going up, you don’t want her to go lower from here.
 
@Bandit's Mom

Your spreadsheet keeps crashing on me, can’t seem to get in.

What did you feed at +5 test? HC?

I’d grab another test and see if she’s keeping steady or going up, you don’t want her to go lower from here.
sorry, check now - I had it open on my PC and was updating my pivot and graphs (sorry, I am a data freak), might be why it was crashing.

I fed her LC, but about 40g as she asked for more after her standard amount; and just tested her now, she has come up to 97.
 
sorry, check now - I had it open on my PC and was updating my pivot and graphs (sorry, I am a data freak), might be why it was crashing.

I fed her LC, but about 40g as she asked for more after her standard amount; and just tested her now, she has come up to 97.

It might be my phone… still crashing

Oh great! That’s not an under 50 number anymore.That’s quite the jump for LC in 30 mins.

I was a little worried about that 37, good thing you retested, 49 is much better :)

I think you’ve earned a .25u reduction, but let’s wait for a mod/expert to pop in!!
 
It might be my phone… still crashing

Oh great! That’s not an under 50 number anymore.That’s quite the jump for LC in 30 mins.

I was a little worried about that 37, good thing you retested, 49 is much better :)

I think you’ve earned a .25u reduction, but let’s wait for a mod/expert to pop in!!
Thanks, yes, I am going to check her again in 20mins for a +7.

Will wait for a mod to pop in, but I really think the antihistamine may be helping her, she seems a lot less stressed so perhaps uncle Vet is right and she has allergies that are triggering the itching...and raising stress levels
 
poor whiskey baby :( you could also try olive oil in those ears to discourage the mites. it is a much gentler option. the DE itself is very very itchy even to human hands! so imagine how itchy inside their poor ears. of course the olive oil will take longer to work its magic.
 
poor whiskey baby :( you could also try olive oil in those ears to discourage the mites. it is a much gentler option. the DE itself is very very itchy even to human hands! so imagine how itchy inside their poor ears. of course the olive oil will take longer to work its magic.
Yes, I feel for her, my poor girl...I also suffer from itchy ears (too many years on canoeing on rivers and as a swimmer) have left me with a fungal thing in one ear, so I really know how it feels to want to scratch an ear until it is bloody.

I've read pro's and cons about the olive oil solution, but that is something I can also try - gong to do some more reading about boric acid, and I read that the herb used in the ear cleaner I am using now (bucchu) has strong insecticide properties, and the ears are definitely less itchy since I've started using it!
 
Ares neck gets raw with revolution and seresto. so i found cheritsten works for him. but not for mites. ares did have body mites about 4 yrs ago, nothing helped until i just went ahead and made a mix of coconut oil and colloidal silver (30ppm) rubbed it all over his fur, let sit for cupl hours, then washed him...it was almost immediate relief for both him and us, cuz we felt them too! i did that one more time 2 days later and they were GONE! after trying so many things and going half crazy, that is what worked
 
I hope so. Just wish I had options like Revolution, etc I could try. But after the way she has previously responded to it, that is a no go!
Tiger had a bad reaction to Revolution Plus but is tolerating regular Revolution and it is working. My vet recommended drops of saline (for contact lens cleaning) and that helps a bunch. I use a 1ml syringe(no needle) and drizzle .5-.75ml into each ear and work it around. Then let him shake his head. Then she also recommended cleaning the top portion with a dry Qtip which also works well. Usually I do that the next day. So we alternate...one day saline, next day Qtip, repeat...

Best luck!:bighug:
 
Ares neck gets raw with revolution and seresto. so i found cheritsten works for him. but not for mites. ares did have body mites about 4 yrs ago, nothing helped until i just went ahead and made a mix of coconut oil and colloidal silver (30ppm) rubbed it all over his fur, let sit for cupl hours, then washed him...it was almost immediate relief for both him and us, cuz we felt them too! i did that one more time 2 days later and they were GONE! after trying so many things and going half crazy, that is what worked
I've got colloidal silver, I could try that, but wouldn't be keen on coconut oil actually into the ears. Will try the cs though! Our other cat also gets a raw neck from topical stuff!
 
Tiger had a bad reaction to Revolution Plus but is tolerating regular Revolution and it is working. My vet recommended drops of saline (for contact lens cleaning) and that helps a bunch. I use a 1ml syringe(no needle) and drizzle .5-.75ml into each ear and work it around. Then let him shake his head. Then she also recommended cleaning the top portion with a dry Qtip which also works well. Usually I do that the next day. So we alternate...one day saline, next day Qtip, repeat...

Best luck!:bighug:
Saline is also an option, thanks!
 
Reference Thread here:

24 Jan 2022 +5 was 36/49

She usually gets a small lc meal at 4 hourly intervals, but she hadn't asked for her +4 meal, and I forgot about it. At +5, I fed her the usual meal (28glc) and she asked for more, so I gave it to her, after which it she came up as below.

upload_2022-1-24_18-43-15.png


The other factor I am considering is that I gave her an oral antihistamine as recommended by my vet today, and I am wondering if that has factored in, if she has (as he suspects) allergies, then she may be less stressed due to the antihistamine, so it may impact her BG.

So, the question is - do I reduce or not, I think on TR she earns a reduction under 50, but I am not sure that it is valid due to the 221 this morning, although she's bee holding steady in the greens since after the PM +5, sometimes around mealtimes, sometimes not.

So, advice would be great - I did a +11 and it is 94, and have about 40 mins before her next shot is due - can stretch it to 90.
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-1-24_18-41-7.png
    upload_2022-1-24_18-41-7.png
    2.7 KB · Views: 115
  • upload_2022-1-24_18-43-15.png
    upload_2022-1-24_18-43-15.png
    3.1 KB · Views: 178
Yes you reduce. No matter the cause a bg under 50 calls for a reduction. The next few cycles will be influenced by the larger depot so feed to prevent another drop under 50. If it happens too soon in spite of trying to prevent it you likely won’t take a back to back reduction but list and ask us what to do.Did yiu retest to make sure it wasn’t a bad strip? Always retest if you get an odd reading.
 
Yes you reduce. No matter the cause a bg under 50 calls for a reduction. The next few cycles will be influenced by the larger depot so feed to prevent another drop under 50. If it happens too soon in spite of trying to prevent it you likely won’t take a back to back reduction but list and ask us what to do.Did yiu retest to make sure it wasn’t a bad strip? Always retest if you get an odd reading.
Hi there, yes, I did retest - only once, as I am still saving strips, it moved from 36 to 49, which is still under 50. Made a note of the first test number just in case on the SS.

Shall I reduce to 0.25?
 
Yes, please reduce. It might not be the antihistamine causing the lower bg but rather switching to TR is helping the pancreas heal. Big anti jinx.
 
Yes, please reduce. It might not be the antihistamine causing the lower bg but rather switching to TR is helping the pancreas heal. Big anti jinx.
I am so holding thumbs that her pancreas is starting to heal!

Thank you so much for the advice.
 
Yes you reduce. No matter the cause a bg under 50 calls for a reduction. The next few cycles will be influenced by the larger depot so feed to prevent another drop under 50. If it happens too soon in spite of trying to prevent it you likely won’t take a back to back reduction but list and ask us what to do.Did yiu retest to make sure it wasn’t a bad strip? Always retest if you get an odd reading.
Seeing as +2 is 67, and she's eaten. I'm going to give her a small MC meal and retest in 1 hour.
 
Could you also update your subject line with the latest numbers? Otherwise a quick scan of the forum headings it looks like Whiskey is too low now. Thank you. :)
 
Could you also update your subject line with the latest numbers? Otherwise a quick scan of the forum headings it looks like Whiskey is too low now. Thank you. :)
I will do. I'm also maintaining another thread for today, where the subject should be up to date.

I'll move the pm numbers to this one and post on this one for today.
 
Don't worry, I will combine the two posts for you. We ask that just one post per day be created, partly so people don't cross post to the older one.
 
Seeing as +2 is 67, and she's eaten. I'm going to give her a small MC meal and retest in 1 hour.
OK, medium carb seems to be doing its job. Up to 83.

I'll give her mc to free eat now again and test later. Think that is what I'll leave in the auto feeder for the first night meal too. Second one I'll make her usual lc.
 
Back
Top