She got a snack at +1 and +2 as well? Wondering if there is some way to reduce the diving.
She is looking good on this dose in terms of her overall numbers (blues and greens). Maybe you could look at feeding slightly higher carbs at +1 or +2 - a mix of LC and MC to give you say 8% carbs - that would still be LC - to reduce the diving - especially in cycles where she starts higher. The diving in turn is leading to bouncing.
Not sure why you think she would earn a reduction on July 26th? She would earn a reduction by dropping below 50 (on a human meter).
If you have to leave her, you can feed a little MC to prevent her from dropping too low. The Lantus depot continues to affect the first part of the cycle even after a token shot.
Will she eat the raw if you were to add a drop of honey to increase the carb%? You want to avoid kibble. It stays in the system and affects BG for much longer that higher carb cannd food or honey/karo/syrup.Because she's so stubborn about what she eats, I could possibly add a few pieces if kibble to her raw (no more than 6), which may push it up to being MC?
If you cannot monitor at all and if she won't eat, then a token shot or a skip if she starts low is always an option. The other option is to feed her higher carbs with the shot/before you have to leave to keep her safe. Is there an MC/HC food she absolutely loves?My idea of a reduced dose for the cycle if I'm not here to make sure she eats snacks is based on her response to the partial fur shot yesterday, and although I know that consistency is key to managing diabetes I was wondering if this would be an option.
To qualify for a reduction based on this rule, most of her numbers needs to under 100-120 mg/dl for a week. it's not enough if her nadirs are in the 50-80 mg/dl range."Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week."
Was basing the dose reduction possibility on this from the TR /SLGS sticky, but 26 Jul 2022 will probably be a day or two early.
Will she eat the raw if you were to add a drop of honey to increase the carb%? You want to avoid kibble. It stays in the system and affects BG for much longer that higher carb cannd food or honey/karo/syrup.
If you cannot monitor at all and if she won't eat, then a token shot or a skip if she starts low is always an option. The other option is to feed her higher carbs with the shot/before you have to leave to keep her safe. Is there an MC/HC food she absolutely loves?
To qualify for a reduction based on this rule, most of her numbers needs to under 100-120 mg/dl for a week. it's not enough if her nadirs are in the 50-80 mg/dl range.
You'd have to experiment with the amount of honey to see how it affects her numbers.I can add a drop or
Yes. Is it the protein in the food that doesn't agree with her? Usually cats that are allergic, have a problem with the wheat in the gravy.. Would a bit of gravy from gravy food have the same effect as the honey/syrup?
Not just average. Her numbers overall need to be below 100-120. Look at the spreadsheets of Cecile & Bella and Holly & Sunny Bear who have recently earned reductions based on this rule.OK, thanks, so it needs to basically average under 100/120 for a week?
OK thanks, I'll see how we go.You'd have to experiment with the amount of honey to see how it affects her numbers.
Yes. Is it the protein in the food that doesn't agree with her? Usually cats that are allergic, have a problem with the wheat in the gravy.
Not just average. Her numbers overall need to be below 100-120. Look at the spreadsheets of Cecile & Bella and Holly & Sunny Bear who have recently earned reductions based on this rule.
Yes, you are right in trying to keep her at a good dose by intervening with food or carbs. The longer she spends in green, the more her pancreas get a chance to heal.Right now I'm doing my utmost to make sure that in addition to trying to slow down her dives, and she stays over 50, with the theory being that the longer she can stay on this dose and get a timed improvement reduction the better the chance of her pancreas healing itself is?
Thanks, I appreciate the time you have taken to answer my questionsYes, you are right in trying to keep her at a good dose by intervening with food or carbs. The longer she spends in green, the more her pancreas get a chance to heal.
Any timeThanks, I appreciate the time you have taken to answer my questions![]()