23 Jul 2022 - Whiskey AMPS=175 +3=68 +5=61 +6=68 PMPS=158 +2=173 +4=103

She got a snack at +1 and +2 as well? Wondering if there is some way to reduce the diving.

I was trying that this morning. She had a snack at +2 and +3, sorry forgot to mark the +2 snack on the spreadsheet, it is updated now.

The diving scares me because she will go under 50 if it isn't controlled, and if I have to be somewhere in the morning or evening I can't guarantee that she will go to her bowl to eat the snacks or meals in the auto feeder.

Assuming she keeps up the good numbers, and unless she goes under 50 I have a possibility of a 0.25 reduction marked on my spreadsheet on 26 Jul 2022. Would that be correct.
 
QUESTION:

In light of how fast Whiskey dives between her pre shot number and +3-4; if I am not able to be around to make sure she eats her in between snacks to slow her dive, is it OK if I were to give her a reduced dose to prevent a possible hypo?

She is on 1 unit currently, and in terms of dose reduction for that cycle, I'm thinking of 0.75 or 0.5?
 
She is looking good on this dose in terms of her overall numbers (blues and greens). Maybe you could look at feeding slightly higher carbs at +1 or +2 - a mix of LC and MC to give you say 8% carbs - that would still be LC - to reduce the diving - especially in cycles where she starts higher. The diving in turn is leading to bouncing.

Not sure why you think she would earn a reduction on July 26th? She would earn a reduction by dropping below 50 (on a human meter).

If you have to leave her, you can feed a little MC to prevent her from dropping too low. The Lantus depot continues to affect the first part of the cycle even after a token shot.
 
She is looking good on this dose in terms of her overall numbers (blues and greens). Maybe you could look at feeding slightly higher carbs at +1 or +2 - a mix of LC and MC to give you say 8% carbs - that would still be LC - to reduce the diving - especially in cycles where she starts higher. The diving in turn is leading to bouncing.

Not sure why you think she would earn a reduction on July 26th? She would earn a reduction by dropping below 50 (on a human meter).

If you have to leave her, you can feed a little MC to prevent her from dropping too low. The Lantus depot continues to affect the first part of the cycle even after a token shot.

She's a fussy eater, when she doesn't want to eat something she absolutely won't, which is the case for all the MC food I can give her.

Right now she's getting 100% raw, as that has been keeping her BG higher, and she loves it so it makes it easier to keep her eating. That said, I'm wondering if her system may have started to figure out how to process the raw food as well, and it is not pushing the BG as high as previously.

Because she's so stubborn about what she eats, I could possibly add a few pieces if kibble to her raw (no more than 6), which may push it up to being MC?

My idea of a reduced dose for the cycle if I'm not here to make sure she eats snacks is based on her response to the partial fur shot yesterday, and although I know that consistency is key to managing diabetes I was wondering if this would be an option.

"Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week."

Was basing the dose reduction possibility on this from the TR /SLGS sticky, but 26 Jul 2022 will probably be a day or two early.

I'd like to keep her on the 1 unit for the recommended length of time before attempting a reduction, which is why I'm trying to keep her numbers even in the post shot time up to +6.
 
Because she's so stubborn about what she eats, I could possibly add a few pieces if kibble to her raw (no more than 6), which may push it up to being MC?
Will she eat the raw if you were to add a drop of honey to increase the carb%? You want to avoid kibble. It stays in the system and affects BG for much longer that higher carb cannd food or honey/karo/syrup.

My idea of a reduced dose for the cycle if I'm not here to make sure she eats snacks is based on her response to the partial fur shot yesterday, and although I know that consistency is key to managing diabetes I was wondering if this would be an option.
If you cannot monitor at all and if she won't eat, then a token shot or a skip if she starts low is always an option. The other option is to feed her higher carbs with the shot/before you have to leave to keep her safe. Is there an MC/HC food she absolutely loves?

"Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week."

Was basing the dose reduction possibility on this from the TR /SLGS sticky, but 26 Jul 2022 will probably be a day or two early.
To qualify for a reduction based on this rule, most of her numbers needs to under 100-120 mg/dl for a week. it's not enough if her nadirs are in the 50-80 mg/dl range.
 
Will she eat the raw if you were to add a drop of honey to increase the carb%? You want to avoid kibble. It stays in the system and affects BG for much longer that higher carb cannd food or honey/karo/syrup.

I can add a drop or two of honey. Thanks for the clarification.
If you cannot monitor at all and if she won't eat, then a token shot or a skip if she starts low is always an option. The other option is to feed her higher carbs with the shot/before you have to leave to keep her safe. Is there an MC/HC food she absolutely loves?

There is, but unfortunately it makes her vomit, so I'm not keen to give it to her. But I'll do a bit of experimenting. Would a bit of gravy from gravy food have the same effect as the honey/syrup?
To qualify for a reduction based on this rule, most of her numbers needs to under 100-120 mg/dl for a week. it's not enough if her nadirs are in the 50-80 mg/dl range.

OK, thanks, so it needs to basically average under 100/120 for a week?
 
I can add a drop or
You'd have to experiment with the amount of honey to see how it affects her numbers.

. Would a bit of gravy from gravy food have the same effect as the honey/syrup?
Yes. Is it the protein in the food that doesn't agree with her? Usually cats that are allergic, have a problem with the wheat in the gravy.

OK, thanks, so it needs to basically average under 100/120 for a week?
Not just average. Her numbers overall need to be below 100-120. Look at the spreadsheets of Cecile & Bella and Holly & Sunny Bear who have recently earned reductions based on this rule.
 
You'd have to experiment with the amount of honey to see how it affects her numbers.
OK thanks, I'll see how we go.

Yes. Is it the protein in the food that doesn't agree with her? Usually cats that are allergic, have a problem with the wheat in the gravy.

With this I'm not sure. She seems to vomit every time she eats any Pamper / Friskies product, regardless of whether they are gravy, jelly or anything else.

But that said, raw beef also causes a vomit.

Not just average. Her numbers overall need to be below 100-120. Look at the spreadsheets of Cecile & Bella and Holly & Sunny Bear who have recently earned reductions based on this rule.

Thanks, will do.

Am I right in thinking that a reduction over time is preferable to an 'earned' one? Right now I'm doing my utmost to make sure that in addition to trying to slow down her dives, and she stays over 50, with the theory being that the longer she can stay on this dose and get a timed improvement reduction the better the chance of her pancreas healing itself is?
 
Right now I'm doing my utmost to make sure that in addition to trying to slow down her dives, and she stays over 50, with the theory being that the longer she can stay on this dose and get a timed improvement reduction the better the chance of her pancreas healing itself is?
Yes, you are right in trying to keep her at a good dose by intervening with food or carbs. The longer she spends in green, the more her pancreas get a chance to heal.
 
Back
Top