Missy & Jazz
Member Since 2013
Hi everyone,
Sorry if this is a little long! I joined the board a while ago and have been posting in the main forum, but this is my first post in this group as I've only just transferred all my figures/info over to a Google docs spreadsheet (link in signature - hope it works!).
I think most of the relevant info for Jazz is also in the signature, but if there's something I've missed, please let me know!
I do home-test - before every shot and at about +6 (sometimes more often, and have been doing curves occasionally).
As you can see from the SS, her numbers have been kind of all over the place - that is mostly my fault I think (not getting all the insulin in every time) - I know from about the 14th-17th May, I missed a few shots consecutively unfortunately, which I feel really awful about :sad: Hoping we are getting back on track now! (I have been trying every different injecting method I can think of!)
I hope this is the right group to post in (relaxed vs. tight) - I would like to do the tight protocol, but cannot get syringes with 1/2 unit markings on here in Australia, and I'm pretty sure our dosage logic to date doesn't match up with the tight protocol instructions... :lol:
Jazz started on 1 IU BID, and has mainly stayed on that dosage, as you can see. There was a short period of trying a 1.5 IU dosage, but that resulted in a too low number. When her BGs dropped very low, I have generally been skipping the next insulin dose to be safe, but after discussing this with the vet, we have recently been going with the following (vet recommended) dosage:
If pre-shot BG is 10 or over (180 or over), dose = 1 IU
If pre-shot BG is 7.5 - 10 (135 - 180), dose = 0.5 IU
If pre-shot BG is under 7.5 (under 135), skip dose.
I feel confident enough measuring out the 0.5 IU dose with the syringes I have, but trying for a 0.25 dose is not something I feel confident about doing accurately and consistently!
If anyone would be kind enough, I would love to hear your thoughts and opinions on Jazz's BGs and our current dosage method. My main aim so far has been to try and get her numbers down to reasonable levels more consistently (she tested over 31 [558] at the vet when she was initially diagnosed! :? ), but I am happy to consider changing the dosage method/amount... whatever is best for her. I would like to fine-tune it so I can try and make sure she's sitting in a safer, more normal range throughout the day. I think I'm rambling now, so will leave it at that, but thank you very much for reading!
Sorry if this is a little long! I joined the board a while ago and have been posting in the main forum, but this is my first post in this group as I've only just transferred all my figures/info over to a Google docs spreadsheet (link in signature - hope it works!).
I think most of the relevant info for Jazz is also in the signature, but if there's something I've missed, please let me know!
I do home-test - before every shot and at about +6 (sometimes more often, and have been doing curves occasionally).
As you can see from the SS, her numbers have been kind of all over the place - that is mostly my fault I think (not getting all the insulin in every time) - I know from about the 14th-17th May, I missed a few shots consecutively unfortunately, which I feel really awful about :sad: Hoping we are getting back on track now! (I have been trying every different injecting method I can think of!)
I hope this is the right group to post in (relaxed vs. tight) - I would like to do the tight protocol, but cannot get syringes with 1/2 unit markings on here in Australia, and I'm pretty sure our dosage logic to date doesn't match up with the tight protocol instructions... :lol:
Jazz started on 1 IU BID, and has mainly stayed on that dosage, as you can see. There was a short period of trying a 1.5 IU dosage, but that resulted in a too low number. When her BGs dropped very low, I have generally been skipping the next insulin dose to be safe, but after discussing this with the vet, we have recently been going with the following (vet recommended) dosage:
If pre-shot BG is 10 or over (180 or over), dose = 1 IU
If pre-shot BG is 7.5 - 10 (135 - 180), dose = 0.5 IU
If pre-shot BG is under 7.5 (under 135), skip dose.
I feel confident enough measuring out the 0.5 IU dose with the syringes I have, but trying for a 0.25 dose is not something I feel confident about doing accurately and consistently!
If anyone would be kind enough, I would love to hear your thoughts and opinions on Jazz's BGs and our current dosage method. My main aim so far has been to try and get her numbers down to reasonable levels more consistently (she tested over 31 [558] at the vet when she was initially diagnosed! :? ), but I am happy to consider changing the dosage method/amount... whatever is best for her. I would like to fine-tune it so I can try and make sure she's sitting in a safer, more normal range throughout the day. I think I'm rambling now, so will leave it at that, but thank you very much for reading!