hellen_maggie
Member Since 2025
? - Maggie vomited several times after +6. Should I give the injection?
Hello everyone,
Thankfully, Maggie is doing much better after the difficult episode we went through. On 20/02 she started having repeated vomiting episodes, and we had to visit the vet twice for IV fluids and an anti-nausea injection. No insulin for 2 days. Thankfully, after the second visit to the vet the vomiting stopped, and since yesterday morning we have been back on schedule and resumed her insulin from where we left off.
Today her numbers look quite good for our standards, and we are slowly approaching PMPS. I suspect that tonight’s PMPS may be significantly lower than what we are used to seeing.
I’ve been re-reading the protocol, which says:
Because I don’t have much time to react between testing and giving the shot, and I still feel quite anxious since all this is still new to me, I would really appreciate some guidance.
If PMPS is between 150–200, which of the three options would you suggest in Maggie’s case? And if it is between 200–250, should I go with a reduced dose according to the protocol, given that her usual preshot numbers are 300+?
I would like to have a clear plan in mind beforehand, so I can feel more confident and prepared at shot time.
Thank you so much for your support.
Hello everyone,
Thankfully, Maggie is doing much better after the difficult episode we went through. On 20/02 she started having repeated vomiting episodes, and we had to visit the vet twice for IV fluids and an anti-nausea injection. No insulin for 2 days. Thankfully, after the second visit to the vet the vomiting stopped, and since yesterday morning we have been back on schedule and resumed her insulin from where we left off.
Today her numbers look quite good for our standards, and we are slowly approaching PMPS. I suspect that tonight’s PMPS may be significantly lower than what we are used to seeing.
I’ve been re-reading the protocol, which says:
- Below 150 mg/dL (8.3 mmol/L), don’t give insulin.
- Between 150–200 mg/dL (8.3–11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
a) give nothing
b) give a token dose (10–25% of the usual dose)
c) feed as usual, test again in a couple of hours, and decide based on that value - Above 200 mg/dL but below the cat’s usual pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
Because I don’t have much time to react between testing and giving the shot, and I still feel quite anxious since all this is still new to me, I would really appreciate some guidance.
If PMPS is between 150–200, which of the three options would you suggest in Maggie’s case? And if it is between 200–250, should I go with a reduced dose according to the protocol, given that her usual preshot numbers are 300+?
I would like to have a clear plan in mind beforehand, so I can feel more confident and prepared at shot time.
Thank you so much for your support.