22/09 Fergus AMPS 358 +6 331 +8 352

Dawnthebikegirl

Member Since 2021
Fergs numbers seem to have flattened out, but maybe it was where i dosed him?

I normally do it on the scruff or left chest, yesterday i dosed him on the right chest so maybe he peaked quickly so i missed where his low number was? Ugh. this is all so confusing sometimes.

Either way, he's been sitting at these high numbers for some time, I'm wondering when i can increase the dose. My vet looked at the numbers and thinks he should go up to 4 units.

I've also noticed a couple of what seem to be seizures.. his back leg spasming. He's still walking fine, on his feet. Eating and drinking normally too.

Thanks in advance for your help.
 
Fergs seems to be hanging out in the pinks with my kitty. Maybe you just need a little more time for the depot to fill. You may want to change the prefix to a ? So more experienced members will notice and take a look.
 
Well, 2 days ago when I first upped the dose I got a nadir of 13.7. Now, 2 days later the nadir is much higher. Is this normal for them to just adjust to the dose and then flatten out so quickly?

Would you suggest I go up .25 or up .5 ?

And I guess I have to wait for 2 more cycles? It's been 4 cycles since I've increased the dose.
 
Well, 2 days ago when I first upped the dose I got a nadir of 13.7. Now, 2 days later the nadir is much higher.
There is a meter variance of 15-20% (15% in Canada), so 13.7 and 15.3 is the same number. When you increase the dose, you sometimes see an increase in the numbers in cycle 2 and/or 3 of the increase. We call this "new dose wonkiness".


Would you suggest I go up .25 or up .5 ?

And I guess I have to wait for 2 more cycles? It's been 4 cycles since I've increased the dose.
It's possible that you will ultimately get to 4U and maybe even higher...but we increase in multiples of 0.25U (or 0.5U when are over nadirs 300) so as to not miss a good dose.

Unless you see a blue nadir before then, you are good for an increase to 3.75U tomorrow night.
 
Ok, great. I will do that.

And how much should I worry about the leg spasms? I feel like I read that that is common with diabetic cats.

Anyway, thank you again for your help. Much appreciated.
 
They were definitely spasms.
He is still walking fine, he can jump up on the couch and the bed.

He's sixteen so he's not as spry as he once was, but he does ok.
I have been giving him the occasional b12 (cyanocobalamin) shot as well. I've read that Zobaline is better, but I've also read it's the same thing.
 
They were definitely spasms.
He is still walking fine, he can jump up on the couch and the bed.

He's sixteen so he's not as spry as he once was, but he does ok.
I have been giving him the occasional b12 (cyanocobalamin) shot as well. I've read that Zobaline is better, but I've also read it's the same thing.

They are not the same zobaline is methocobalamin. You can get other brands of meth.
 
Awesome. Thanks so much! You're the best.

Currently giving him the b12 as an injection. Poor kitty is getting poked all the time.
It will be better if i can sprinkle in his food. Less poking.
 
Oh wow. This is great info.
I have always had a problem with Fergs GI health. He's always constipated. I try probiotics, lactulose, cisipride, subq.

I gave him a shot of the b-12 the other day and he pooped a few hours later. Maybe it's a coincidence... but maybe not?

So I guess he should be getting both of these. I've been feeling worried about his nutrition since he became diabetic and will only eat Fancy Feast Pate (and some raw - but he doesn't really love it). Not sure he's getting all the vitamins he needs.
 
Back
Top